We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice in Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Marathon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We were thrilled to have found availbility at the brand new Holiday Inn Express, after having left our original hotel disappointed. The staff was very professional and friendly. The bed was top-notch and the hotel provided us with a dependable, refreshing "home" while we explored the Keys. Nice pool with pretty view of the water. Only disappointment was that the wi-fi did not work in our room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    591
    242
    68
    40
See reviews for
518
592
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

After a very disappointing stay at "top notch" Hilton property, much better experience at this new hotel. Clean, quiet, large comfortable rooms with firm or softer pillow choices. Typical continental breakfast included, water fill up, fitness center. Walk across the street for good dinner. Nice! Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amummert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Who builds a brand new hotel and doesn't install wireless internet?? The noise coming from everywhere was very loud. The walls are not soundproofed or the ceilings or walls. As others have stated, nice look, but terrible experience as we did not get any sleep. Staff was unwilling to even care about the problem. You could hear the peope above us walking every step and the people below us kept slamming the door to their room. Staf didn't care much about telling them to be quieter and respectful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

First the bad, I agree with many of the fellow travelers, the walls in this Holiday inn are paper thin. I was here for two nights and I could hear everything that went on the rooms on either side of us. The room on the right had their TV on until late at night, which kept us up as well. second, the hotel does not have wifi in the rooms, or as the desk attendant explained to me, not in all rooms, all rooms however are equipped wit high speed internet, I had to run to kmart to grab a 25' cat5 cable so I could use my laptop freely. Lobby also has wifi there as well.

Now the good, the Hotel is new, excellent pool and fitness room, good location in Marathon, The breakfast was good, The place was very clean, I mean awesome clean.

All in all Its a okay place, but if you are a light sleeper, this is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This really is a very lovely Holiday Inn Express but completely spoiled by the lack of soundproofing. You can hear everything your neighbours do... everything... Someone cut the wrong corner here when they cut out soundproofing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy4Paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands (Europe)
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel has almost everything going for it, it's new and it's looking good from the outside and from the inside. Nice room (we had the suite), good beds, very nice pool, convenient location on Marathon (which is a nice play to stay on the Florida Keys) and so on. But as was already stated, there's so much noise coming from other rooms. Off course it starts with people not willing to think about others, but if you can hear your neighbours talking and laughing a good part of the night there'something wrong with the build quality of the hotel. It's a shame, because everything else is so nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife, two children and I spent two nights at the Marathon Holiday Inn while visiting our son in Key West. The entire experience was excellent. From the convenience of the location of the hotel to the out-of-the-way efforts of the staff to welcome and accommodate us, we really enjoyed our experience! The beds were so very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. I strongly recommend this hotel to visitors in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.5 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing