We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“This won't disappoint you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting Keys. Great decision. Much more reasonable than Key West . Clean ,friendly and comfortable hotel. Staff were great, typical breakfast. Only drawback was the thin walls between rooms. We could here our neighbors all night talking. Nice pool with view of estuary . Iguanas walking around was a fun experience. There were water sports available on the property with great guides at reasonable prices.
I would stay here again for the peace and quiet compared to Key West .Even a small beach nearby.

Room Tip: Keep looking on line for specials for estuary facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I would like to give a big thank you, to the crew that is never seen only their work in these rooms ..and that's the of housekeeping of these rooms every day. And that's housekeeping I wish I knew you ladies name you'll do one hell of a job cleaning these rooms day in and day out my hat is totally off to all of you... I've been coming here almost a year now if not longer and not one day have I been disappointed by a room that is not 100% clean to the T from the front door to the back wall to the excellent cleanliness of the bathrooms.. I just want to say thank you once again the crew the team players housekeeping and the maintenance crew thank you thank you thank you for a job well done.. The housekeeping and maintenance crew Holiday Inn in Marathon are second to none thank you guys and ladies...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank 81Hawkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed three nights here in mid-April. The location is on the outskirts of Marathon when driving south. Parking is free and spacious. We checked in a little early, no problems. Very friendly and efficient front desk. As usually in the US, the room was spacious, AC was turned to something like 64F it was freezing! For once the AC in the room was easy to adjust. The Bathroom was OK, The safe malfunctioned on the second day after having worked normally in the beginning. Not a big deal for us personally. The breakfast room was crowded and way too small for this hotel. Most of the breakfast buffet consisted of kiddie food. Two choices of fruits: bananas and oranges (peel yourself). But hey, the breakfast was included in the room price and probably something people want to have these days.
On the other hand, Tarpon Creek Bar and Grill at the waterfront offered tasty meals, we dined there three times. There's also a water sports center offering snorkeling, kayaking and stand up paddle among other things. Fishing charters were available. We did SUP once, due to strong winds water sports were cancelled during the rest of our stay -elsewhere in the Keys as well. We did not use the pool which seemed to be of average size.
All in all, in spite of some criticism, the hotel stay was quite agreeable. It's a good base when exploring other Keys.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for you candid review of our property! WE appreciate all of your comments and understand some of your frustration! As far as the recommendation on the breakfast, we have to follow the Holiday Inn "brand" guidelines. Hotels do have a few choices, so we always appreciate the input of the guest to let us know their likes and dislikes!

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and the other amenities that our property offers. We do hope to have you as a guest again in the future and thank you for letting us know about your stay!

Sincerely,
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I chose this hotel after reading TripAdvisor reviews. It was clean and updated enough. Robin, who worked at the desk, was very helpful and had a great sense of humor. Others had written that the walls were paper thin, and I agree with that.

The breakfast was a disappointment. There was no fresh fruit that was cut up; they did have some cups like you buy at the store. No waffles - they did have a pancake machine that was ok. When we arrived, we were told that there were 2 buses of middle schoolers staying there, so we might want to wait until after 8 AM for breakfast to give them time to clear out. That worked ok the 1st AM, but the 2nd AM, they ate later and it looked and sounded like a school cafeteria. We went back to our room and waited until they cleared out because there was nowhere to sit. The kids weren't bad, there were just a lot of them. Also, the breakfast attendants never even spoke to you like they always do at Hampton.

This was my 1st stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I usually stay at Hampton Inn and this hotel just did not measure up to them overall. Plus, they were much more expensive because hotels in the Keys are very pricey. We will probably not try another Holiday Inn.

Also, there was an envelope on the nightstand for you to leave a tip for the maid. I thought this was tacky. Yes, she cleaned the room before we arrived, but we just got fresh towels the 2nd day because we really did not want anyone in our room. Do they usually clean your room better if you tip???

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Becky B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We appreciate all reviews and use them as tools to better our customer service.

We appreciate your comments and value your opinion. We understand that the breakfast room does get a little busy. We have extended our hours to accommodate this very popular amenity! We are also in the process of trying to add additional seating - we recently added tables and chairs out by the pool. I have received some great comments that people really enjoy seeing our beautiful sunrise while they have their coffee!
As for the items we serve at breakfast, it is all a recommendation of the Holiday Inn. We do offer fresh fruit -Apples, Bananas, or Oranges. Hopefully with kids that were staying that we did not run out on you!
As for those well behaved kids - We agree that they were well behaved!

WE would really like to thank you for being a guest and we do hope to have you back again in the future!

Sincerely,
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is nice, rooms are clean. The front desk people were very helpful. Breakfast was above average. Pool was nice, clean. The hotel is great for a one night stay. The hotel website indicates 'ocean view and marina'. I would not stay at this hotel for either of those 'amenities'- the marina consists of a few boat slips, not much going on, not really a place to sit and watch boats. I could not find the 'ocean view' they must by referring to the bay. The hotel does have a dock but the water was thick and green, definitely not water you want to sit and hang your feet in, maybe it is better other times of the year. The only place we found to walk was along a busy street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on the return trip from Key West. Hotel reception was very good, nothing too much trouble. Rooms are pricey but this is The Keys so unfortunately seem all similar. Room quality was good as was cleanliness. Pool area very pleasant and as other reviewers have said it's right next to a small creek with boat jetty. We also ate at the Tarpon Restaurant which was very good and again very friendly.

Overall a good stay, helpful and friendly staff. As a stopover it's ideal.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed three nights, the overall expierence was good until the third day and heading home I realized I was covered in bed bug bites. Notified the hotel staff she apoligized and said she would take care of the problem ASAP. I have been home a week now and still suffering from the itching.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. There is nothing worse than hearing in a review that a guest has experienced anything other than a good time at our hotel!
First, we would like to apologize, that you felt that we ignored your request to respond to your complaint. This is not the way we normally do business and we are truly sorry and embarrassed.

We were also sorry to hear, that you had an experience that has left you with bites as you indicated. Living on an island, we defiantly share in the same frustration of insect bites! Also, our hotel lies alongside a beautiful mangrove canopy, that also makes being on an Island spectacular! The eco life is amazing in this very natural protected habitat - Manatees, iguanas, snook, and tarpon are spotted on our property often due to these natural surroundings.

We did have an inspection on the room and the report indicated "negative". We have any open door policy regarding any of our inspections. Without our guests we do not have a business, and we truly do value your patronage! Thank you very much for being a guest in our hotel and please feel free to contact myself or one of our other Managers, if you should need further assistance.

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 16 in Marathon
64 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $167 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing