We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed on the third floor (top). It was great. The sound was not an issue at all. The rooms have a great shower. The bed was comfortable. There is a wonderful restaurant right behind it. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the third floor if sound is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loonyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in the holiday inn express for 8 days in marathon. They served breakfast and coffee everyday. Food was okay. But very convenient. There is a Tiki bar next door. Great food and atmosphere. Prices were not outrageous. Best food we had in marathon. People were very nice and helpful. We chose to stay in marathon because it was the half point to all the keys. We had a very nice visit. The rooms were always kept very clean. Whole place was well cared for. They take pride in there service there. I would visit this hotel again. And for the price it was well worth the stay.

Room Tip: There is suites there. With a couch, table and a microwave. No microwaves in the regular rooms. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way to Key West and found our room clean with up-to-date furnishings. The front desk staff were great, friendly and courteous. Sleep quality: the king-size bed was very comfortable, but the walls are not well soundproofed as we could hear late night goings-on next door. A plus is the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill behind the hotel which is most convenient. The hotel breakfast was free, which is always good, and the make-'em-yourself pancakes, muffins and fruit very good. The cheese omelets, not so great. The place isn't cheap but still reasonable for the Keys and under the same circumstances we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHM-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just returned from 3 days in Marathon. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. My only complaint is that the walls are pretty thin surprisingly. I was kept up at night by our neighbor, who I could hear laughing and talking late at night and early in the morning. The breakfast was pretty good: pancake maker, warm cinnamon buns, precooked cheese omelets, cereals, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee etc. The pool was nice and backs right onto the small marina and the mangroves. We had dinner one night right next door at Tarpon Creek, and it was good.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, overlooking the pool. It would have been nicer to be higher to see out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPhotoggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline for my wife and I's 15th Anniversary. It's conveniently located near water, with Sombrero Beach just minutes away. Behind the hotel is a nice restaurant as well as a shop where you can rent kayaks and book water adventures. I selected this hotel because we wanted to be centrally located in the Keys, free to travel North or South to see attractions. It worked out better than we planned!

The staff is friendly. You can check out towels at the front desk for use at the pool or the beach. They'll cross your name off the list when you return them. The pool is decent, but nothing to be excited about. It's just over 4 feet deep. There is no hot tub, which isn't a show-stopper, but it would have been a great spot to relax just before bed.

Breakfast includes yogurts, milk, bagels, eggs, juice, coffee, and more. There isn't a waffle maker; instead they have a pancake machine. Works great, and they tasted good as well.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. This hotel won out over others (especially those in Key West) because there was no additional charge for parking and a breakfast was included. It just made more sense to save $800+ staying here considering the bar scene wasn't what we were looking for. We took in some of the great local attractions such as Sombrero Beach, Veterans Park, Bahia Honda State Park, etc. We saved Key West for our last day/night. Marathon is a nice place to stay conveniently located in the middle of the Florida Keys.

ADDITIONAL NOTE: I say, "Value" because the hotels in the keys are all overpriced, but compared to others, and what you get, the Holiday Inn is priced right, better than the others in my opinion. We weren't looking for private beaches, or throwing additional money at hotel fees, parking, pool-side drinks, etc, like what you would spend in Key West as say, The Reach for example. Also, we stayed in a room on the second floor facing the pool. I know some have posted complaints about noise. We didn't hear anything. The only real issue I experienced was a problem with the pool side sprinkler system, which went off at about 1400L and the sprayers were pointed towards some of the chairs, forcing some to relocate. Someone complained to the staff and they shut them off...no other issues.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or 3rd, away from the elevator. There is a back door near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel was nicely located close to Key West but without the traffic and very quiet at night.
The room was spacious and housekeeping very, very good.
Our TV remote died and the front desk had it replaced within 10 minutes.
Overall a very nice stay with a courteous and friendly front desk staff.
I would stay at this Holiday Inn property again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and channel were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tj303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel due to location and value compared to Key West. About an hour from Key West, 20 minutes from Bahia Honda State Park. The hotel was very nice. Quite crowded and breakfast was a bit of a zoo because the dining area is a little small. Breakfast selections were good though and fresh.

We had a nice room with a bit of a view. Everything was very clean. There are a couple of good casual restaurants within walking distance. One is right behind the hotel which was very nice to have.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

One downside is there is only one small elevator for a 3 floor hotel. That seemed strange and at times we had to wait a bit for it. Especially early at breakfast time since the hotel was filled. The cleaning staff also used it so it filled up fast. Stairs were okay to use but a little difficult if you are carrying much luggage.

Overall we recommend it for location, cleanliness and friendliness.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
799 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $184 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing