We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Marathon Florida Keys.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great location, good services and excellent value for money, the food was basic but the restaurant next door Catch 53 is fantastic.
The room was a good size and the staff were great.
Would recommend for a family use, but not very good for couples.

Room Tip: Overall V Good, especially for the money, good but not brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice Hotel with Pool and breakfast included. We stayed here two nights, and is was very crowdy at breakfast time. The second time we actually did not manage to find a place to sit during breakfast, in spite that we waited almost half an hour. also very crowdy at the buffet. The rooms was nice and big, but lacked fridge and microwave. It was also vet badly insulated between the rooms and we could here the neigbour when they talked in their room. The Hotel did not have a laundry which was very inconvenient for us. the staff was friendly and helpful. We was a bit suprised of the lack of cleaning in the corridors. All in all a Ok Hotel for a night or two. For longer stay we would not reccomend this Hotel due to the lack of laundry and the badly insulated rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor, end of the corridor room, to avoid listen in to the neighbours conversation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viddi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We were disappointed to see some of your comments. I have sent your comments to the appropriate departments so that they may fix these issues.

We do hope that we have the opportunity to see you again in the future, so that you can see that we are listening! Our Guests prospective is very important to us. If you ever do plan another trip in the future, please reach out to myself or one of our other managers, so that we may assist in make your stay a pleasant one!

Sincerely,
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Let me say first off that the rooml, building and grounds were just fine. Having stayed at many HI express this one did not meet my expectations of what i am used to.
Here are my few (albeit minor complaints)
When I got to my room I discovered NO fridge or micro. I was told at the office that only suites have them and others are on first come basis. Since I was travelling alone I did not require a suite. Also it seem to me that a hotel located in this environment (HOT) would have a fridge in every room. I managed to one for my second night.

The telephone system created another problem. I received one phone call from Canada and then for the next day and a half I was not receiving calls. Calls were being directed to voice mail were they disappeared. I mentioned this problem and it took 12 hours to have someone come to my room and agree that there was a problem and they would have to contact their provider.


It also seems strange that for such a large hotel there is only one elevator and it is at the extreme end of the hallway.

Breakfast, pool, wifi were all good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Ursano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were sorry to hear that you had found our hotel to be not up to par. Unfortunately, the hotel was not designed to have refrigerators and microwaves in all of the rooms - Good news, we are listening, and we are adding more refrigerators little by little. Just today, I saw more refrigerators arriving!
Thank you very much for staying with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to host your stay in the future, so that you can see that All of your comments are valued!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a double queen for four people. The room was normal, nice, like you would expect at every other Holiday Inn Express.

Breakfast was good. Breakfast Lady seemed very stressed the four mornings, but that could have been from having a constant stream of people there. It was crazy busy.

The only real negative thing was how dirty the carpet was in the room. When we eat breakfast in our room like we do in most motels (and we travel A LOT...), it happens sometimes that our younger son spills some yogurt on the floor - no problem because I watch them and clean it up immediately. When I washed the floor here with the towel, hot water and soap, the towel was BLACK afterwards. That has never happened to me before and was quite disgusting.

The location of the HI is very good, right at the Overseas Hwy, and Marathon is a good spot to explore the Keys from anyway. So we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKJN-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location, value, comfort, and breakfast are all very good. However, the house keeping service is very poor. We stayed there three nights. After the first night we left our room around 10 AM and returned at 6 PM, but our room still hadn't been cleaned. We had no clean towels to take showers so we called the front desk and asked for four bath towels. After a long wait housekeeping finally showed up with two towels for our family of four. We called again for more towels, but the desk clerk seemed annoyed and never had the towels sent to our room. On the second day we left the room even earlier, at 9 AM, and returned at 4:30 PM and - same thing - our room was again not cleaned! Three night stay without a house keeping service!

In addition, it's lightly constructed. You can hear people talking and kids running around, specially in the early morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear d D,

Thank you for writing a review. We were so disappointed ourselves to read your review!
WE apologize for falling short in such a critical department in our hotel. Although, they do have a very big job, it is most important that they do it well! We appreciate that you did take the time to let us know that there was a problem, and we will do everything that we can to make certain that incidences like this are not typical. Please, in the future, ask to speak with a "manager on duty", as our job is to assist in any way that we can to make your stay a nice relaxing one as our guest.

If we ever have the opportunity to have you as a guest again, please reach out to us and let us know that you are planning a trip so that we may assist in making the experience a great one!

Sincerely,
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

On the spur of the moment, when we couldn't get a New Year's night reservation in Key West (where we had reservations for the rest of the week) we decided to see what was available a little north of there and found this Holiday Inn Express. We were delighted with what we found! Really nice hotel, friendly people, comfortable room, great beds - definitely more upscale than I remember this brand being when it started. Good "free" breakfast, reasonable rate. And they have a pool (which we didn't use). First time to stop in Marathon, and we were quite impressed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misselaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had cancelled Christmas week hotel reservation in Key West as we watched the weather reports fluctuate. When weather looked good for Marathon, made a last minute reservation for one night in advance by a week or so. The rate was over $200 when we booked, it more than doubled online a day or two later. Could have gotten the room for much less of course if booked far in advance. Stayed on the first floor around the corner from the check-in desk and could see the breakfast room down the hall. Turned out to be a really quiet and convenient room location in the building for sleeping. Hotel had a nice clientele. Room cleanliness was outstanding with Neutrogena toiletries. Very fresh and immaculate bedding and bath. Maybe the cleanest bedding we ever saw. We are "pull back and inspect the sheets and look under the mattress" travellers. The staff had a "yes we can" and "can do" customer service style with a smile. Good air freshness. Staff had inherent class and good judgement but were also well trained in customer service. Breakfast was generous with hardworking breakfast staff who hustled to keep the individual size servings of yogurt and milk and the coffee in supply. Perfect to make a day trip to Bahia Honda and Key West.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranburyneighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
818 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $172 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing