We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot to get some sleep after lobstering....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

From our arrival , the kids were ready to unwind in the pool and we were ready to relax. The hotel was in great shape and they had a great Tiki Bar/Restaurant immediately behind pool area. Great food and really reasonable. Breakfast was included which had just about anything you could want. It made parking the boat pretty easy and secured. The property overall was maintained in and out. Our room was as it showed on line and clean and beds were real comfortable. A definite return stay next time we head down to Marathon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a newer property nicely located on an inlet just off the sea. Room was nice. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Room was clean. A/C worked great. Only negative was light over mirror in bathroom not great. Looks like perhaps the lights were installed upside down. The express breakfast was better than most. Check in and out and parking were no problem. The front lobby is inviting. Nice outdoor poll. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Jeff at the front desk who is a character.

Room Tip: Like any hotel built with wood, one may want to ask for an upper floor room to avoid any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westgateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very Clean good value for the money. But I would like to extend a special thank you to the front desk staff , Oliver and I am sorry I forget the other mans name. It was our mistake, When we booked reservation we made it for one day short of what we needed. They were very courteous and never pointed out what was obviously my fault and fixed things right up. I would recommend this hotel while in Marathon

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Good and modern HIEX standard. Got a quiet room facing the pool and were lucky to have quiet neighbours too ;-). This could be an issue as the premises are not very sound proof. Beds were very comfy, liked the soft/firm pillow choice. Pool area was nicely set up and protected from the main road. Would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Momiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Momiel,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased that we are in your 5 star category! It always a pleasure hear that a guest enjoyed their experience at our hotel.
We appreciate that you took the time to write and we look forward to your next arrival at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, The Florida Keys!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Try to check in early if you have status to get the room upgrades, as this hotel seems to fill up.
Location is great, half way through the keys.
Breakfast area gets full and jammed up very easily, there just isn't enough seating in the area.
For dinner, there is a outdoor restaurant right across the highway that was very good.
Outdoor pool was very good as well.

Room Tip: Check in early if you want a upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear V S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property!
The guests perspective is the best one and reviews like yours let us know where we can improve on our service.

We agree with you about the breakfast area, so we recently added some tables along the waterside and pool for additional seating, as the complimentary breakfast that we offer can become very busy at times. We have also extended the hours to offer a better time frame for our guests to enjoy our Full Hot Breakfast.

We are glad to hear that you were also able to enjoy dinner at some the great restaurants the we offer is close proximity to our hotel - Next time, you don't even have to venture off the property, we offer a wonderful restaurant and lounge along side the pool and water called the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill, that we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy the next time you stay with us!

Once again, thank you, and we look forward to the opportunity of having you as a guest once again!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed for 2 weeks in September. Would stay again, staff was very accommodating and friendly. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at... housekeeping takes their job very seriously! Spacious suite with a beautiful view of the pool and water. Great location with access to many excellent restaurants/bars including Tarpon Creek Bar and Grill on the property. We ate there several times, the food and staff were great. The property also has a great little gift shop and coffee bar, where you can also rent kayaks, paddle boards, jet ski, etc. and again the staff was terrific, and a lot of fun!
The down sides: There is no guest laundry, nor is there a Laundromat in town (had to go to Big Pine) so for an extended stay, that is inconvenient. The rooms do not have good sound proofing, but since we were there during the slow season, it wasn't too much of an issue for us. Breakfast isn't bad (it is free), but it would have been nice to have more variety (I've stayed at lesser hotels, that have far more choices day to day).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0meagainh0meagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear h0meagainh0meagain,

Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your likes and dislikes. Although, we do wish that it was a perfect review, we are still very happy that you really let us about the things that made you happy about your extended stay at our hotel.
I will pass your kind words on to those departments.

We look at all of the reviews that we receive as tools to learn better ways to improve on our service.

Thank you once again, and hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guest in our hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn at the end of August for 3 nights. The location is perfect to explore the middle and lower Keys with easy access to restaurants, bars and supermarkets.The hotel is clean, the room are well equipped, quiet and very clean.
Breakfast is nothing special, a bit disappointing for the food quality and choice.
Front desk could be more helpful and friendly...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giugio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear giugio13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
809 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $177 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing