We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$203
$189
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$179
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,573)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveler rating
568
633
256
75
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
633
256
75
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstarpon creekbreakfast roomhi expresskey westcinnamon rollsthin wallsfree breakfastbar grillthird flooryogurtnice poolclean hotelpool areahalf waybeds were comfortablebahia honda state parkwater view
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed for 2 weeks in September. Would stay again, staff was very accommodating and friendly. The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at... housekeeping takes their job very seriously! Spacious suite with a beautiful view of the pool and water. Great location with access to many excellent restaurants/bars including Tarpon Creek Bar and Grill on the property. We ate there several times, the food and staff were great. The property also has a great little gift shop and coffee bar, where you can also rent kayaks, paddle boards, jet ski, etc. and again the staff was terrific, and a lot of fun!
The down sides: There is no guest laundry, nor is there a Laundromat in town (had to go to Big Pine) so for an extended stay, that is inconvenient. The rooms do not have good sound proofing, but since we were there during the slow season, it wasn't too much of an issue for us. Breakfast isn't bad (it is free), but it would have been nice to have more variety (I've stayed at lesser hotels, that have far more choices day to day).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0meagainh0meagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear h0meagainh0meagain,

Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your likes and dislikes. Although, we do wish that it was a perfect review, we are still very happy that you really let us about the things that made you happy about your extended stay at our hotel.
I will pass your kind words on to those departments.

We look at all of the reviews that we receive as tools to learn better ways to improve on our service.

Thank you once again, and hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guest in our hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn at the end of August for 3 nights. The location is perfect to explore the middle and lower Keys with easy access to restaurants, bars and supermarkets.The hotel is clean, the room are well equipped, quiet and very clean.
Breakfast is nothing special, a bit disappointing for the food quality and choice.
Front desk could be more helpful and friendly...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giugio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear giugio13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice and functional hotel just on the way to Key West, great accommodation solution to those who don't want to pay the Key West prices. Stayed there foe 2 nights and it was fantastic experience. The employees were extremely nice and helpfull, especially the nice lady in the front desk who I can't remember her name. Breakfast was good and functional and the room was really great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in Sep 2013. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We'd booked a king bed suite on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and were delighted with it. We didn't use the kitchen area much but for coffee. During the day we had the pool to ourselves. Breakfast was basic but OK. Tea and coffee available all day in the lobby. Tarpon bar & grill next door was good.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here twice over two years. Tidy grounds, pleasant staff, quiet area just outside Key Colony Beach. While the place was overall quiet, the walls seemed inadequately sound-proofed as you could hear conversations rather easily.

The hotel, being on Marathon Key, is about half way to Key West and Key Largo, so day trips either way are comfortable. Sombrero Beach on Marathon is a very nice destination with a wide, sandy beach facing south. It's a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Breakfast is included with your stay and it typical Holiday Inn Express fare. Everything was fresh and tasty, but there are also plenty of local restaurant options for all times of day.

The pool was nice and clean with friendly iguanas peering at you from safe vantage points. Also, bike rentals in the area are reasonable and bike paths are everywhere so you can park the car and get some exercise getting around Marathon while at the hotel.

Overall, a VERY nice stay with enough to do for a low key holiday, with more lively destinations a short drive up the beautiful US 1 highway in either direction.

Room Tip: Most any room is quiet from street noise as traffic falls off later at night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews