We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay and very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“3 night stay and very happy”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in Sep 2013. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We'd booked a king bed suite on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and were delighted with it. We didn't use the kitchen area much but for coffee. During the day we had the pool to ourselves. Breakfast was basic but OK. Tea and coffee available all day in the lobby. Tarpon bar & grill next door was good.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    600
    244
    69
    40
See reviews for
526
597
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here twice over two years. Tidy grounds, pleasant staff, quiet area just outside Key Colony Beach. While the place was overall quiet, the walls seemed inadequately sound-proofed as you could hear conversations rather easily.

The hotel, being on Marathon Key, is about half way to Key West and Key Largo, so day trips either way are comfortable. Sombrero Beach on Marathon is a very nice destination with a wide, sandy beach facing south. It's a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Breakfast is included with your stay and it typical Holiday Inn Express fare. Everything was fresh and tasty, but there are also plenty of local restaurant options for all times of day.

The pool was nice and clean with friendly iguanas peering at you from safe vantage points. Also, bike rentals in the area are reasonable and bike paths are everywhere so you can park the car and get some exercise getting around Marathon while at the hotel.

Overall, a VERY nice stay with enough to do for a low key holiday, with more lively destinations a short drive up the beautiful US 1 highway in either direction.

Room Tip: Most any room is quiet from street noise as traffic falls off later at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend. Pleasantly surprised. There were six of us so the queen suite was perfect. We were familiar with the location since we have stayed in nearby Key Colony. Good location. Close to everything. Pool was nice with a view of the water. The kids enjoyed the resident iguanas. Fitness room was small but adequate. Overall the hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The complimentary breakfast left a little to be desired but after all it was complimentary. Wished there was an on site tiki bar but we walked over to the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill for a drink. There are also watersports rentals available. If you are not looking for all of the amenities of a full service resort, which you will pay for, I definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Holiday inn express has just what you are looking for a couple of nights stay ! Nothing really fancy or over the beach kind of stuff but serves well as a comfortable stay option in the keys.The area is not too much touristy or commercial like Key West and this is what we wanted. The property is recently built and rooms are clean & spacious. The breakfast service was nice and had a good variety(like any Holiday inn). Staff is very courteous. We checked in late one night and they could only find a room next to the reception. The next day they were kind enough to move us to an upgraded room on the 3rd floor.They have a good size pool and the bar deck is very nice overlooking the water..
In all, we were happy with our stay here and would prefer to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor and towards to rear of building. Much better and you may also get some g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prateek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A new hotel with excellent rooms. Stayed here mid September arrived very early and check in was very good and had our room ready for us.
a free breakfast very basic no fresh fruits cocktail or waffles only pancakes bananas and apples this was the let down.
A lovely restaurant at the rear of this hotel with good choices and good food not too pricey very good value.
Nice pool very sunny during the day but it goes behind the building early.

Would recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yodi_n1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I were very pleasantly surprised during our first visit to Key West. We stayed in Marathon because the prices in Key West were sky high this past weekend when we went. We found out it was because they were having the Poker Run which is a charity event for bikers.

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, has free parking, free wifi and free breakfast. It was way better than any other Holiday Inn's I've ever stayed at.

The marina right behind the hotel offers snorkel tours, dive trips, kayak rentals and stand up paddleboarding. My 9 year old daughter and I took the free stand up paddle boarding lesson they have each morning at 8:30. Now we're hooked.

I'd definitely consider staying here again next time we're down in the keys. It's about an hour and fifteen minutes to get down into Key West from the hotel. About 35 minutes from Bahia Honda state park which we had a great time snorkeling at.

We didn't see any cars on blocks in the parking lot but we did hear the TV in the room next door. The breakfast was OK, when we were there they had eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausages and your typical assortment of bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. They also had yogurt, milk, a pancake machine, oatmeal and fruit. Not too bad of a spread.

We called the front desk to ask for an extra pillow and towels at about 10pm the first night we were there. They were delivered within 5 minutes.

The pool was a little smaller than it looked in the pictures but my kids still had fun playing in it. Honestly we didn't have much time to spend in the pool with all the other things to do in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFromNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel smells so bad!!!That was so unpleasant expiereince that we couldnt sleep feeling that bad odeur from carpet in room,in hotel hallways...Overpriced comparing to bad amenities.Front desk stuff not so friendly.Breakfast was the only good thing in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Adriana V,

Thank you for writing about your stay on trip advisor. We were disappointed to hear that it was not a good experience for you. We honestly appreciate the good with the bad when it come to reviews - The guests perspective is the most important one! I will be sure and pass your comments on to our housekeeping department, so that they can take a closer look (smell in your case) at the problem you encountered.

We do hope to have the opportunity have you back as a guest of our hotel. Please feel free to contact me so that I may assist in making your stay a better one!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.5 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing