We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A new hotel with excellent rooms. Stayed here mid September arrived very early and check in was very good and had our room ready for us.
a free breakfast very basic no fresh fruits cocktail or waffles only pancakes bananas and apples this was the let down.
A lovely restaurant at the rear of this hotel with good choices and good food not too pricey very good value.
Nice pool very sunny during the day but it goes behind the building early.

Would recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yodi_n1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
There are newer reviews for The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I were very pleasantly surprised during our first visit to Key West. We stayed in Marathon because the prices in Key West were sky high this past weekend when we went. We found out it was because they were having the Poker Run which is a charity event for bikers.

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, has free parking, free wifi and free breakfast. It was way better than any other Holiday Inn's I've ever stayed at.

The marina right behind the hotel offers snorkel tours, dive trips, kayak rentals and stand up paddleboarding. My 9 year old daughter and I took the free stand up paddle boarding lesson they have each morning at 8:30. Now we're hooked.

I'd definitely consider staying here again next time we're down in the keys. It's about an hour and fifteen minutes to get down into Key West from the hotel. About 35 minutes from Bahia Honda state park which we had a great time snorkeling at.

We didn't see any cars on blocks in the parking lot but we did hear the TV in the room next door. The breakfast was OK, when we were there they had eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausages and your typical assortment of bagels, muffins, cereal, etc. They also had yogurt, milk, a pancake machine, oatmeal and fruit. Not too bad of a spread.

We called the front desk to ask for an extra pillow and towels at about 10pm the first night we were there. They were delivered within 5 minutes.

The pool was a little smaller than it looked in the pictures but my kids still had fun playing in it. Honestly we didn't have much time to spend in the pool with all the other things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanFromNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel smells so bad!!!That was so unpleasant expiereince that we couldnt sleep feeling that bad odeur from carpet in room,in hotel hallways...Overpriced comparing to bad amenities.Front desk stuff not so friendly.Breakfast was the only good thing in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Adriana V,

Thank you for writing about your stay on trip advisor. We were disappointed to hear that it was not a good experience for you. We honestly appreciate the good with the bad when it come to reviews - The guests perspective is the most important one! I will be sure and pass your comments on to our housekeeping department, so that they can take a closer look (smell in your case) at the problem you encountered.

We do hope to have the opportunity have you back as a guest of our hotel. Please feel free to contact me so that I may assist in making your stay a better one!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The reception guy was really helpful when we checked in last minute and I think we got one of the last rooms in the place- because of this it was near the opening hall and a bit noisy.

It was very clean and a big room.

The 'breakfast' however was pretty poor as is the case for many Holiday Inns that i've visited, with really bad coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COCONNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear COCONNO,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We were happy to hear that you found our front desk to be helpful! We do apologize that you had a problem with noise during your time with us.

In the future, please feel free to let us know that you experiencing a problem, and we will see if there is anything that we can do to assist you in making your stay more relaxing.

Thank you for being a guest at our hotel!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our way to key west. The hotel is nice. The room was clean. I didn't like that we seen a car in the parking lot on blocks with the tires missing so we were worried about our car getting broken into. We could also hear the people next to us. They had the tv blasting until 5 in the Morning. The free breakfast in the morning was nothing special: I grabbed a bagel and a banana to go but didn't eat the bagel. Did not taste good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerzegurl1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Jerzegurl1023,

Thank you for your review! I have to say, I myself was very surprised as you were to see a vehicle with no tires! The rental agency did eventually send a truck to remove the vehicle!
We do apologize that you had to experience this view instead of the beautiful natural surroundings of our property!

We do hope that in the future that we have opportunity to have you as a guest once again!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay on our final leg of our vacation. The rooms were nice and clean, the pool was a nice size and the hotel is located on a canal. Great bar out back with plenty of tv's with a view of the water.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Cool, place. Keep in mind its a HIEX. Not a luxury hotel. Never the less, plenty to do around the ar...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snootycoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On the spur of the moment, we decided to not do a road trip in Southern Florida during our last week but to stay in one place and relax. We chose Marathon to be in the middle between Key West and Miami. The Holiday Inn Express seemed the best choice concerning value, location and cleanliness judging from previous comments on here.
And we were not disappointed.

Our room was on the third floor right opposite the stairs, so we only had one neighbouring room. The only noise we heared from there came from the TV on two evening out of six. But maybe we were lucky. We had a beautiful view over the pool across the channel behind it. The room was very spacious with very comfortable beds!, flatscreen TV, sitting area with chairs and table and everything else you could need (coffeemaker, iron+board, hairdryer,...) The wi-fi worked without any problems.

Breakfast offered a nice choice of all standard items (cereals, bagels, omelettes, sausages, porridge, pancakes,..and cinnamon rolls. They were really fantastic!) - the breakfast area was a bit small though. I can't imagine what they do during peak season when more rooms are booked?!

Staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful. They also hand out pool towels.
The pool was small but cleaned every day and in a very nice location with enough deckchairs. I definitely enjoyed relaxing there.

For dinner, we went to the Tarpon Creek Grill&Bar right next to the hotel twice and can only recommend it.
(Don't go to the Island Fish Co. across the road - it's awfully overpriced and the food does not compare to Tarpon Creek's!)

The hotel is about 1h drive from Key West and about 10-20min from some very nice beaches (try Sombrero beach or the Bahia Honda State Park)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dschulija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 16 in Marathon
64 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $131 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing