We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay but yes, the walls are very thin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay but yes, the walls are very thin”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After we booked the room we gave a second thought to the noise complaints from all the reviewers on Trip Advisor. But, it all worked out okay for us…the hotel was quiet when we needed it to be. Very clean property, and very comfortable beds as we’ve come to expect from all our Holiday Inn Express stays. The breakfast wasn’t very good though, and very crowded set-up that I didn’t care for. We could definitely hear people walking above our room and it was loud, plus the snoring man next door we could clearly hear! Also, other guests need to be more considerate while walking down the halls and talking loudly…it really echoes in the rooms. The walls are thinner than most hotels I’ve stayed in. But, those complaints aside…everything else was just fine. The pool area is very nice! In the afternoon when we arrived the pool was very busy and we opted to go in the morning instead…good decision as it was quiet and relaxing, and the water temp was perfect. Loved that the pool was right near the canal/waterway and you could walk out the gate and go for a stroll down the docks, look for fish in the water, and look at the boats. Even though it was a weekend and they were at capacity, the front desk manager allowed us to have an hour later check-out to accommodate our plans, as we didn’t have to be in Key West for our flight home until 4 p.m. Thank you for that, as it really helped us out! If you want a delicious meal, look no further than right next door at the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill…the yellowtail and chips with cracker breading is one of the best fish n chips I’ve ever tasted…not all heavy and battered like most…check it out!

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CONatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    606
    248
    71
    40
See reviews for
532
606
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is a fairly standard chain hotel, but for some reason my family and I all really liked it. It’s in a great location halfway down the Keys. We stayed for three nights, and it is a great base to explore the rest of the Keys if you have a car. The rooms were large, clean, and the rooms we had facing the back had nice views over the keys. The pool area was clean and relaxing, and there are two decent restaurants close by – one right next to the hotel, and the other across the road where you can watch the sun set. The free breakfast in the morning was pretty good. The only downside was that they used plastic and polystyrene cutlery and crockery which seemed pretty wasteful . Other than that, a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location within driving distance of most everything. Marina in back ofhotel with great food
Highly recommend this hotel. Free wifi. Free breakfast. Nothing bad to say about hotel. Activity concierge helps you find stuff to do

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on our vacation for one night. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous; the hotel looks brand new. We stayed on the third floor which gave us a great pool and water view. The parking was very easy as well as access to the main road. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We did not use the pool but they had rafts for younger children and it looked very clean. Parking was very easy as well. They had your typical HIE breakfast fare; I would’ve enjoyed a better variety of fresh fruit. Otherwise I would absolutely come back – very safe hotel and great price. I really was impressed with how clean and new this hotel was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdx26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here one nite. The Hotel was on the newere side about 3 yrs old.
It smelled clean and fresh when you walked in the front door ck in was quick and easy we even got to ck in early. The room was very clean beds very good. great bath room we had a view of the pool. We also ate at the Tiki bar behind the hotel food was great a little higher priced but worth it. We will saty here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found the place to be clean and very comfortable. There was a nice breakfast include with eggs, sausage, beard, buns, fruit juice and coffee. It was a bit noisy with a very large wedding pary having booked about 50 rooms. They also took over the hotel restaurant for a large celebration. This was arelatively new place and a good location for the local beaches and marinas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Okay I fly stand-by so I'm not sure if I am going to make all my connections so I call this hotel tell them I might not make it that night so they let me cancel reservations and let me know that if I make it they had plenty of rooms, nice job. Rooms are very clean and staff very helpful and is easy to drive to. Nice pool bar and plenty of places to eat. should have stayed here on my way back from Key West also. I had no that is nil problems and if ever I go back to the keys will stay there again

Room Tip: I stayed North side overlooking the pool so I had a view of pool and lagoon. The elevator is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melike2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
4.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing