We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Very nice and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently vacationed in the Keys for a week and decided to stay in Marathon (half way). We stayed here and loved it. The hotel and its staff were both very nice. It looked like a very new building. We loved the location (close to restaurants, shops, grocery stores, cvs, etc). It also has a very nice restaurant and water sports place behind it where you can rent boats, kayaks, jet skis, snorkeling trips, etc. Check-in was at 3 but we were able to at 1. Breakfast was standard hotel breakfast (cereal, sausage, eggs, yogurt, toast, bagels, cinnamon rolls, juices, and coffee). The only 3 minor negative things with the hotel were: 1-the view. It DOES NOT sit on the water. However, some rooms have a water view which is a canal leading to the ocean. 2-the noise level. The walls could have been a little thicker. We were able to hear tvs and the elevator bell in the room we stayed in. A simple fix for this was to keep the a/c running all night, which leads to number 3-the sheets. I'm not sure what kind of material they were, but even with the a/c on all night we were still very hot. The sheets were not very breathable. Other than that, we would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clay_Vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found our one night stay to be quite comfortable with a king size bed and lots of pillows. Only complaint was the view of the parking lot didn't thrill me. The breakfast assortment was adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side. The parking lot side is boring
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean and new. As HIE's go this is nice. You won't get the old key's feeling but it's clean and the beds are comfy. Marathon is a nice town but if you are looking for a night life I suggest Key West. I would spend a few days in Marathon and a few in Key West.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryCruising0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A clean nice standard suite-type room with a couple of beds. I picked the location because it's halfway down and breaks up the 4 hour + Miami to key west ride. Also, the area is supposed to have good scenic snorkeling which we took advantage of. It is close to some nice restaurants and has one in back of the hotels parking lot. Breakfast is average. Was glad we stayed here and happy that our halfway spot panned out on all counts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stopped her for one night at the last moment. Room was large and clean staff pleasant.Reasonably priced for the Keys. Good location for restaurants and attractions. Would stay here again. We had a room overlooking the pool on the third floor it was very quiet and nice view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oudda63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend on our way to Key West. Our room was the standard size with nothing extra. Staff at the reception was forthcoming and helpful. In the morning they serve a breakfast that I think is good, by American standard. You can choose from pancakes, bagels, cinnamon buns, milk and cereal and fruit. If you're not going to Key West for partying and you want a cheaper hotel alternative I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Mikael E,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. I am also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast choices.

I am more than happy to read that you were satisfied during your entire stay and thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We planned a trip to South Florida in February 2013 beginning with a stay in a private home in Naples then over to Miami and forward to Key West. I am a nit picker to say the least on planning each and aspect of our vacations including restaurants, attractions and of course Motels. We wanted to see Key West and spend some time there but after we check the cost of a room and what we were getting for $3 to $400 a night the search continued. The drive from Marathon to Key West was under an hour so I checked out their Motels. It did not take long to find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites priced at $200 and change per night. We saved about $400 and had a fantastic stay. The room was very clean with great beds, a outside pool and a very nice breakfast with super coffee. The drive each day was very much worth the difference in cost as well as much better accommodations. We checked out 2 Motels in Key West each at $350.00 per night. Trust me they were far less desirable. Have a thankful day. Theo

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor on the pool side. No outside parking lot traffic, the pool closed at 10: sha...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 16 in Marathon
63 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $133 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing