We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative to Hotels in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alternative to Hotels in Key West”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend on our way to Key West. Our room was the standard size with nothing extra. Staff at the reception was forthcoming and helpful. In the morning they serve a breakfast that I think is good, by American standard. You can choose from pancakes, bagels, cinnamon buns, milk and cereal and fruit. If you're not going to Key West for partying and you want a cheaper hotel alternative I would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mikael E,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. I am also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast choices.

I am more than happy to read that you were satisfied during your entire stay and thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    607
    249
    71
    40
See reviews for
533
607
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Junction
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We planned a trip to South Florida in February 2013 beginning with a stay in a private home in Naples then over to Miami and forward to Key West. I am a nit picker to say the least on planning each and aspect of our vacations including restaurants, attractions and of course Motels. We wanted to see Key West and spend some time there but after we check the cost of a room and what we were getting for $3 to $400 a night the search continued. The drive from Marathon to Key West was under an hour so I checked out their Motels. It did not take long to find the Holiday Inn Express and Suites priced at $200 and change per night. We saved about $400 and had a fantastic stay. The room was very clean with great beds, a outside pool and a very nice breakfast with super coffee. The drive each day was very much worth the difference in cost as well as much better accommodations. We checked out 2 Motels in Key West each at $350.00 per night. Trust me they were far less desirable. Have a thankful day. Theo

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor on the pool side. No outside parking lot traffic, the pool closed at 10: sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
716 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you have never made the drive out from Miami to Key West, well, it is something you should do. However, beautiful stretches of water views are interspersed with long stretches of boring two-lane traffic. If you are lucky, expect to average 45 mph.

That being said, here are some points about this hotel as a stopping point....

1. This hotel is very clean and fairly new. All rooms open to the inside. The staff are friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast has something for everyone. It is located directly on the route to Key West.
2. If you are interested in breaking up your drive with a stop, or if you are looking to end a long day's drive here, this is probably a very good bet. If you are looking to crash, it will be much cheaper to stay here than pushing on to Key West just to spend the night. There is not a lot to do here, unless this is a base for scuba diving or some other pre-arranged activity.
3. I would not use this as a Key West base. It is about 50 miles of slow driving on to Key West from here. (One long stretch is 35 mph due to the endangered Key Deer habitat.) The road is crawling with cops (I counted 12 in one hour on this stretch.) who would love nothing more than to write another ticket. It is also a very dark stretch of road at night.
4. If your schedule puts you arriving in Key West before 4:00 p.m. or so, I would suggest planning to spend the extra money on a Key West hotel. Otherwise, this might be a good stop for you.

Room Tip: Some rooms will be further from the main road, ask if you are concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff is super nice. The hotel is very clean. We were a little put off by the lack of a tiki bar at the pool. The walls are hollow and carry all sounds!!! The pool is nice, but too small for the hotel. The island Bar and Grill is across the street is awesome. Go there for waverunner rentals, food, and if you want the best captain to take you fishing go with Captain Nick of the Nor'Easter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddBSportAngler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear ToddBSportAngler,

Thank you so much for choosing us as your preferred accommodation and for taking the time to share your nice comments after your visit with us.

I am truly sorry if some of our amenities didn't meet your expectations, nevertheless, I am glad to read that you had a pleasant experience during your stay. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here April 9&10, 2013. We had a very enjoyable stay as we visited the various and interesting parts of the middle keys. Our room was very clean, well-lit, and roomy. The front desk staff were very helpful, the food was great, and the general property well kept. While nothing in the Keys is inexpensive I felt the price of the room was a fair value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night on a recent trip through the Keys, and since we like HIEs, we gave it a try. We found it to be typical HIE - a clean, comfortable room and a satisfying breakfast, which are basically all we need. Interesting that others commented on the sound, as we also had someone snoring through the walls. There is a nice looking restaurant right behind the hotel, but we did not try it. All in all, not a bad stay, but the price seemed a bit high for the chain, but I guess that's the Keys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Birdguy,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stopped in Marathon on our way to Key West. We were only staying for 1 night and leaving the next day so criteria for a hotel was, a comfortable nights sleep. We thought a standard hotel chain would be the best bet. This facility is very clean, the rooms are big and comfortable. The king bed was comfortable. They unfortunately did not do a good job with sound proofing. In the room, conversations in the hall can be heard clearly. Doors close hard and loud. Sounds from abutting rooms are easily heard, kids laughing, crying, coughing, snoring, talking. The pool area looks beautiful, right on the canal. Service was excellent. There is a great restaurant at the hotel, and The Island Fish Co across the street is excellent for breakfast although a little pricey, $40 for 2. The hotel is located right at the beginning of the island. If we were staying longer, I would stay here because of the sound issues and its too far away from other attractions.

Room Tip: King suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropical_Gangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Tropical_Gangster,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am pleased that you were happy with the service and have noticed the cleanliness of the hotel and found the rooms and beds comfortable. However, I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the noise that you have experienced. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 17 in Marathon
40 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing