We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$189
$149
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$192
$168
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,564)
Filter reviews
1,564 results
Traveler rating
561
631
255
75
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
631
255
75
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstarpon creekbreakfast roomhi expresskey westcinnamon rollsthin wallsfree breakfastbar grillthird flooryogurtnice poolclean hotelpool areahalf waybeds were comfortablebahia honda state parkwater view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
853 - 858 of 1,564 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

First impression of the hotel was good. Nice lobby, breakfast area was a plus. However in spite of booking a water view room I was a little annoyed to find this meant a diagonal view of the pool! We were also on the ground floor in an area reserved for people who bring their dogs, hence a strong smell in the bathroom and noticeable stains on the carpet. When we asked to be moved the first response was one of disinterest, the second time we were told as we booked through a third party we had to complain to them! It was only due to the manager coming out the third time that we were eventually moved to a room that more closely matched the booking description. This could be a very good hotel if the customer service was given a bit more attention. I read all reviews on this place prior to visit and was encouraged that the comments were being listened too it was disappointed that it was more lip service than actual customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Nicki C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time here with us! The "pet rooms" definitely require much more time and attention to detail. We are very pleased that we are able to offer a place that ALL the family members can come and enjoy! With that said, I will pass along this review to our Housekeeping department so we can have a better look at our pet rooms.

I am pleased to hear that when you did have a problem that one of our Managers was able to assist. Please feel free to reach out to any our Managers when there is an issue - Our goal everyday truly is customer satisfaction and we will always take the time to assist a guest in need.

Once again, thank you for writing a review and if you are ever in the area again, we would love the opportunity to turn this situation around!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The lady at the travel information center told us that the property was gutted and completely replaced. It was like brand new! We stayed here with our two college age daughters in a room with two queen beds. It was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts had a good variety of food. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marvee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for the first time for a quick 1 night while waiting for our Saturday home rental on Key Colony Beach. We arrived @ 2pm on a Friday and our room was ready immediately. We did reserve a suite through quickbook.com, as at the time it was only $10 more than a regular room, and having 2 kids in tow I wanted the luxury of more room so we weren't crowding each other.

The suite was spacious and spotless. Beds were surprisingly, comfy! We went to the pool right away, and it was warm and perfect for a couple of hours swimming for the kids.

Free breakfast in the am was good. All sysco pre-prepared food, but the coffee was hot, cereal and fruit good.

We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Although a 1 night quick visit was great, if someone were staying for a week or more I'd say try a real resort for the keys experience or rent a house

Room Tip: book early for the best rate - as our time got closer, the price of our room more than doubled!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckerkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this stay on line, when we arrived the hotel was very nice with a pier along the water, and a small pool out back. The Iguanas are nice to look at but beware they can be pretty aggresive. When we were there the fishing derby was going on and we watched the catches coming back in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is well located with typical amenities,it is worth upgrading to a suite for an extended stay.the staff is friendly and very helpful. This was the absolute best HIE experience I have had,I would stay there anytime.

Room Tip: This was the best HIE experience I've had,the staff could not do enough to help,it's in a great location and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews