We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon vs. Key West Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked the Holiday Inn Express through their website and for value, the rate was expensive in our minds. We chose this hotel because staying in Key West is an expensive location with limited options. What appealed to us about this hotel was that it was new!

Staff at the front desk were friendly, the breakfast room was pleasant and the breakfast simple. Marathon is an hour's drive to Key West so if Key West is your destination for your daily activities, this is something to keep in mind. With that said, the drive from Marathon to Key West is most enjoyable and we did not mind the commute even late at night after dinner.

The hotel is new and our room was very pleasing, clean and comfortable. The king size bed was extremely comfortable with pillows to match and everything smelled very nice. The only drawback is that the hotel was built with seemingly little or no sound proofing as you could hear your neighbour and fully understand their conversation at a normal tone and voice level in the room next door. While in the room, whispering became the norm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Flymeaway2,

What a terrific review! It really pleases us when guests appreciate what our hotel offers! You are so right, the drive back and forth is one of the best parts - Just think if you go all the way to Key West on your first day, you may only get to see the Keys lovely landscape once on the way in, and once on the way out!

We do apologize that you felt the need to whisper - We are working on this problem and hope to have it rectified very soon.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

First impression of the hotel was good. Nice lobby, breakfast area was a plus. However in spite of booking a water view room I was a little annoyed to find this meant a diagonal view of the pool! We were also on the ground floor in an area reserved for people who bring their dogs, hence a strong smell in the bathroom and noticeable stains on the carpet. When we asked to be moved the first response was one of disinterest, the second time we were told as we booked through a third party we had to complain to them! It was only due to the manager coming out the third time that we were eventually moved to a room that more closely matched the booking description. This could be a very good hotel if the customer service was given a bit more attention. I read all reviews on this place prior to visit and was encouraged that the comments were being listened too it was disappointed that it was more lip service than actual customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Nicki C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time here with us! The "pet rooms" definitely require much more time and attention to detail. We are very pleased that we are able to offer a place that ALL the family members can come and enjoy! With that said, I will pass along this review to our Housekeeping department so we can have a better look at our pet rooms.

I am pleased to hear that when you did have a problem that one of our Managers was able to assist. Please feel free to reach out to any our Managers when there is an issue - Our goal everyday truly is customer satisfaction and we will always take the time to assist a guest in need.

Once again, thank you for writing a review and if you are ever in the area again, we would love the opportunity to turn this situation around!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The lady at the travel information center told us that the property was gutted and completely replaced. It was like brand new! We stayed here with our two college age daughters in a room with two queen beds. It was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts had a good variety of food. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marvee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for the first time for a quick 1 night while waiting for our Saturday home rental on Key Colony Beach. We arrived @ 2pm on a Friday and our room was ready immediately. We did reserve a suite through quickbook.com, as at the time it was only $10 more than a regular room, and having 2 kids in tow I wanted the luxury of more room so we weren't crowding each other.

The suite was spacious and spotless. Beds were surprisingly, comfy! We went to the pool right away, and it was warm and perfect for a couple of hours swimming for the kids.

Free breakfast in the am was good. All sysco pre-prepared food, but the coffee was hot, cereal and fruit good.

We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Although a 1 night quick visit was great, if someone were staying for a week or more I'd say try a real resort for the keys experience or rent a house

Room Tip: book early for the best rate - as our time got closer, the price of our room more than doubled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckerkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this stay on line, when we arrived the hotel was very nice with a pier along the water, and a small pool out back. The Iguanas are nice to look at but beware they can be pretty aggresive. When we were there the fishing derby was going on and we watched the catches coming back in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is well located with typical amenities,it is worth upgrading to a suite for an extended stay.the staff is friendly and very helpful. This was the absolute best HIE experience I have had,I would stay there anytime.

Room Tip: This was the best HIE experience I've had,the staff could not do enough to help,it's in a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had friends staying in Marathon and decided to make the trip over for a weeklong visit and exploration. This is a very nice property and looks brand new. They serve the standard inclusive breakfast and the location is convenient to everything. There was a new bar/restaurant behind the hotel, but it was not yet open. They have a nice pool overlooking the Tarpon Creek inlet. It is a little pricey in the season, but a lot less than some of the resort options. we could be in Key West in about an hour. Lot's of fun and funky restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
799 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $184 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing