We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,in a Great Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great hotel,in a Great Location.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is well located with typical amenities,it is worth upgrading to a suite for an extended stay.the staff is friendly and very helpful. This was the absolute best HIE experience I have had,I would stay there anytime.

Room Tip: This was the best HIE experience I've had,the staff could not do enough to help,it's in a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    606
    248
    71
    40
See reviews for
532
606
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had friends staying in Marathon and decided to make the trip over for a weeklong visit and exploration. This is a very nice property and looks brand new. They serve the standard inclusive breakfast and the location is convenient to everything. There was a new bar/restaurant behind the hotel, but it was not yet open. They have a nice pool overlooking the Tarpon Creek inlet. It is a little pricey in the season, but a lot less than some of the resort options. we could be in Key West in about an hour. Lot's of fun and funky restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is our third year in a row returning to this wonderful Holiday Inn Express Marathon Island. Not only is the location perfectly centered between Key West and Islamorada, the staff and rooms are always perfect. We tried other hotels(independent), none were what they looked like online. Some of them looked perfect and yet upon arrival, disgusting. Holiday Inn Express never disappoints. They have a great restaurant on site, snorkeling, jet ski tours, sunset cruises, kayaks, paddle boarding and a beautiful location and much more. If you want the perfect place to stay in the Keys......close to everything......great staff....this is the only place these Marathon Island repeaters will ever stay.
By the way....close to the Bahia Honda State...Dolphin Center(home of Flipper)..great restaurants....grocery stores....I could go on and on, however, experience this Holiday Inn Express Marathon and you will return to this beautiful place too!!! Just a short drive to anywhere in these wonderful Keys.

Room Tip: Call ahead for reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grkgtr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Grkgtr1,

Please accept a big thank you from everyone here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, FL, for the great review! Reviews like yours make the difference in our day!

It is so nice to hear that you have returned so many times! Repeat business is the best indicator that tells us we are doing a great job - Please let us know that you are here on a return trip, so we may have the pleasure of meeting you!

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Marathon is centrally located in the Florida Keys. We were about an hour and change from Key West and and hour and change from Key Largo. Originally we wanted to stay in Key West, but the prices were too expensive. We found this hotel. The price was right, still more than we would pay elsewhere, but this is the Keys and room prices will be elevated. The rooms were clean, the staff was helpful, a free breakfast is always welcome, and in the room were a refrigerator and a microwave. They had a dive/snorkel operator on site in the morning to help assist with any diving or snorkeling adventures. The only complaint is the paper thin walls. We could hear our talking even though they were using a normal volume and were not yelling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Pat S,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay! You really covered so many bases that it shows that you did indeed enjoy your time here with us!

We do apologize that you did experience a problem with noise. The hotel is aware of the problem and is doing everything that we can to rectify the situation. When on a return trip, please feel free to let the guest services agent know that you prefer a room away from the general corridors.
Thank you once again and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided Marathon was the ideal base for our family to explore the Keys. We decided upon the Holiday Inn Express as the price and facilities looked good value for the area and we were not disappointed.

The Hotel is clean and tidy and as a large free car park. The staff are helpful and courteous. The rooms are reasonably sized, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The pool area is fairly small but clean and tidy and has enough space and loungers to go around.

The free breakfast is a nice bonus, my children loved the pancake machine. Although at peak times the breakfast room can get busy the food and drink is plentiful and constantly being restocked.

The Island Fish Company restaurant and Tiki Bar across the highway is a wonderful place, the Dolphin Rescue centre and Sombrero beach are a 10min drive away, and Key West is 50miles away over the amazing 7 mile bridge.

Other reviewers have complained about the breakfast room, yes it's small, but I only found it busy at peak times and you didn't have to wait around too long for a table, and it is all free. The walls are paper thin, and our room over the front desk meant we had to ask them to turn off their radio on the first night as we had retired relatively early with our children.

The price of the rooms is the going rate for the area, complaining that you would pay less for a HIE in a less salubrious area is stating the obvious in my opinion. As the saying goes: Location Location Location, and this has a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Try to avoid being right above reception, and pray you have quiet neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear MW,

We really appreciate all of the nice things that you wrote about our establishment! Thank you for taking the time to really let others know that you enjoyed your stay with us! We especially appreciate the comments about the breakfast room as that is a big part of our day to day operation! We really like the pancake machine too!!

We do, however, apologize for the noise that you experienced during your time with us! We are aware of the situation and are working to rectify this issue. We can also assure you that any noise that comes from anyone working in the hotel will be corrected immediately, as we would never want to be the reason that a guest was not able to have relaxing stay with us!
Thank you for your recent stay and we look forward to seeing again in the future!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is clean and new so it's a decent place to stay because there aren't many hotels in Marathon, however it's pricey and if this hotel were placed in any other location away from the Keys, the prices of the rooms would cost about 60% less. When I booked the hotel I asked for a high floor pool view or ocaenview room. What they gave me was a parking lot view ground floor room. I was there for 5 nights and they said they couldn't do anytihng for me in terms of moving to a better location. The breakfast here was meh... especially after eating here for 4 consecutive mornings.. Beds were comfortable, housekeeping cleaned the room too late in the day for my tastes.Considering the price of this hotel next time I come here for a long vacation I would rent a condo for sure as you can rent one for basically the same price and have better amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightninBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Brian L,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are pleased you were satisfied with the condition of our hotel. My apologies for the disappointment you had with the location of your room and the breakfast. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had a great stay at this location. The service staff were friendly and respectful. They were accommodating when I wanted to change rooms and were so helpful in getting the me the room I needed.

The breakfast buffet was great and was clean. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone that wants to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
4.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing