We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Nice staff, clean, pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

First thing is to say how accommodating the staff is here. My mother walks with a cane and needed a walk in shower which I asked for when I reserved a week in advance. John at the front desk made sure to shuffle the people coming in to make sure we had the handicapped room with the roll in shower. All the staff is nice- from helping at the morning breakfast to recommending places to eat (and giving directions and maps.)

The morning breakfast is standard, but filling. Make sure you get a sticky bun- they were really good. The only peeve I had with the breakfast bar is it is set in a small place which makes it really crowded even with a few people trying to get to it. You'd think people weren't on vacation with how harried and pushy they were!

The room was nice, clean, and quiet. The first night I could hear my neighbor's TV, but I think he was a bit hard of hearing as I heard him on the phone in the hallway and he was almost shouting. Once I turned my white noise machine on I couldn't hear the TV anymore.

It was nice to be halfway down the Keys so we could go either direction without having to go the full length of the Keys. It's not a cheap place to stay, but few places on the Keys are. They did give a discount for my Mom's AAA card, so that helped. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoingWherever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hotel itself is very sharp, clean, good location and comfortable. The courtyard is gorgeous with the pool overlooking the water! Unfortunately the Tiki Bar & Grill wasn't opened yet, but that will be lovely once it does open. Wish we could have enjoyed that. I found the friendliness of the Front Desk staff to be 50/50, depending on the time of day. Some not overly friendly or pleasant. I emailed and called in advance to place my requests (King, mini-fridge, pool view if possible), as suggested on Trip Advisor. Luckily, we finally got a King bed but no pool-view nor a mini-fridge. I understand requests are only requests, however since we were staying the whole week, you'd think we would atleast get the mini-fridge. That really was a huge drag, since we couldn't keep any food or drinks cold in the room. I had to keep refilling the cooler at the ice-machine, which was at the very other side of the Hotel. I think it would be a good idea to invest in having the fridge in every room, as well as a microwave. Breakfast was pretty basic. Walls really are paper-thin. The rooms are beautiful, but for what you are getting, the rates are just a tad high.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear J3034,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding room amenities and customer service. we will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to break up our trip from Miami to Key West and chose this hotel for its location to the
Dolphin Research centre and The Island Fish Co Restaurant, which is just opposite the hotel, the perfect place to watch the sun go down with a cocktail or 2!!. Hotel clean and looked recently refurbished, beds comfortable, hot breakfast include with room rate.
Only down side was the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything the neighbours are saying and doing, so tired tho we did sleep well and it didn't go on very late but could be a problem. Nice pool area but sun disappeared behind hotel after 16:00

Room Tip: Hotel excepts pets so be aware when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Accepting that we had left booking a hotel until the last minute, that it was President's Day weekend and we were in the Florida Keys ...

The hotel is well appointed, clean and attractive and right alongside Route 1. There really isn't much to dislike about the facilities although the breakfast room was a little small for the number of people using it and the guy at the front desk was a bit over-assertive. We had booked a suite at $292 per night (just about all that was available) and, although there was nothing wrong with the room, it really wasn't worth the money.

At $120 - $150 I'd have been very satisfied but left feeling a little hard done by.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Terry B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us! We appreciate all of your comments. You're right; the breakfast room can be a bit crowded at times! We recently extended the time of breakfast to 10:30am to help the flow of traffic.
Winter here in the Florida Keys does bring a very busy time of year for us, so we do apologize that you did not feel the experience upon checking in was a pleasant one.

We truly appreciate ALL of your comments! We address all reviews with our Staff, may they be good or bad, and we use these real life experiences as they are the best prospective – Our guests point of view!

We do hope to see you again in the future – Please feel free to contact nbennett@spottswood.com if you should have any further questions or concerns.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The photos listed under travellers photos are not travellers photos. There is barely a human being in those 149 photos, there is no personal belongings of a traveller. All of these photos were taken of empty rooms, poolside, breakfast room etc. This is very misleading to the person looking to this site for an honest look at the hotel. They should be removed and real travellers photos inserted. I have not travelled to this hotel as it is not properly represented here.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel where you can see actual photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archelon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Archelon99,
Thank you for letting us know about the photos on Trip Advisor. We did view them, and can see what your concerns were. While browsing, we did see quite a few "traveler photos" as well, so we will update the system to make sure that the photos are in their prospective places on the Trip Advisor site. We do appreciate your comments!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

All staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms were all immaculately maintained. Our room was enormous -- king size bed, two separate sitting areas, fridge and wet bar. The pool was a very nice place to hang out with a great view of ocean. Free HBO. The free breakfast was only mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paythepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Paythepenquin,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate all of your nice comments about a facility! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped here for a night on our way to Key West from Key Largo. This is a very good choice for travelers exploring the area. I could have stayed 2 nights instead of 1 and explored the area a bit more.

Pros:
- Only about 70 minutes to Key West.
- Great location
- Close to Honda State Park
- 2 Double beds for families with small children
- Free breakfast
- Nice pool

Cons:
- Bit pricey but YMMV

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Ucipass,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! We wish you had stayed longer as well! We are always happy to hear about the pros and cons of guests stay - as we are always looking for ways to improve, so that we can continue to be a great hotel that guests love to come back to!

Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you back on a longer stay!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $167 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing