We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good overnight stop”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Marathon for an overnight before heading to Key West, since we couldn't check into our vacation home until the following day. It was a typical Holiday Inn Express experience. The rooms were tastefully furnished and very clean. We were tired of driving (Miami was a mess), so were happy to be able to walk across the highway to a restaurant (Island Fish Company) for dinner.

My room faced the highway, but it was quiet enough. I could hear other guests, though, and the plumbing from the next room was noisy. The breakfast was typical HIE. This chain offers only artificially sweetened yogurt, which I can't eat, but I certainly could find enough variety for a satisfying breakfast. It was a little pricey, but I guess that's what you find in the Keys in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    607
    249
    71
    40
See reviews for
533
607
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel was very nice, we got there early about 11:00 and our room was ready!!! Nice pool and location. They are right next to a canal, so we sat out one morning and watched the sun rise. Oh and I forgot the cinnamon rolls at breakfast are to die for. They also had a variety of other things to eat. My hubby got the egg and cheese omelet, and biscuits and gravy. Don't pass this hotel up, you'll be sorry. Lots to see and do in Marathon, my favorite was the turtle hospital :)

Room Tip: Get on with a pool view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked this hotel from Expedia thinking it was within Key West area, but it is about 1 hour drive from Key West. We stayed here two nights and were able to get a good price from Expedia. The hotel was great, the room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast buffet was great, a lot of variety. Our main attraction was Key West, the drive going into Key West was just beautiful and breathtaking. I think we lucked out with this hotel since it was at a good price and the drive into Key West was amazing each morning. If your main destination is Key West, this hotel and location is still worth it, cause the drive into Key West is just gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My 2nd stay. In Marathon for fun. I'm not a Holiday Inn fan but this one is nice. It's very new, so it's quite clean. Love the free parking and internet. Breakfast acceptable. Hotel is easily accessible. Good location. Comfortable bed. Walls are very THIN though. Could hear the couple next door.....if you know what I mean! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slouwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I actually really like this hotel. It is one of the nicest Holiday Inn Express hotels I have stayed in. The rooms facing the pool and the water have great views and the windows open for a good breeze in the room at night. It is very clean, the bed is great, there is a good free breakfast and the location is ideal. As others have mentioned though, the hotel has the thinest walls I have ever come across. I have stayed here before and have also read the reviews, but our first stay we did not have an issue. This stay was generally ok, with the exception of the one room right next to ours, we heard everything, and I mean everything, it was a bit uncomfortable, everyday like clockwork...at some point it just got really funny, but not sure a family with kids would have appreciated the daily "adult show" we had to listen to...we turned up the TV and tried to ignore, but beware and bring your ear plugs.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Parking was free. Checking in during midafternoon took no more than five minutes. For quiet and for easy access to our car and to the year- ‘round pool in the back, we took an odd-numbered “king bed leisure room”--No. 147--at the end of the first floor corridor. Everything clicked in 147. The space, the furnishings and the amenities were all just right.
Most everything worked in this quite new Holiday Inn Express, much as you might expect ot the chain, from Anchorage to Marathon, half way out on the Florida keys. The continental breakfast was fine if uninspired. The fitness center and the business center, both just off the lobby, were impeccable and well-equipped. We had them all to ourselves.
That’s the bane and the blessing of these Holiday Inns. To coin a phrase, once you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all. The chain has perfected its 21st Century model of a suitable room and replicated it nationwide so you never really leave Peoria. The rooms are sealed off tight from their communities' flavors, scents, cultural vibes and everything else indigenous. Our windows were sealed, leaving us to savor, not the gentle winter air of the Keys, but the mechanized blasts from a ventilation system.
For the one night, we paid $169.00 plus taxes of $21.13. Five stars for efficiency. Two for character.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I felt sorry for seniors who have to park in back and walk up-stairs,1 elevator in front of building only a hand full of parking spots so they have to go to back and park and either walk back to front of building for elevator or walk the stairs.Not senior favorable at all,I'm 62 and carrying my stuff to second floor was tough!!Our room was nice although the walls are paper thin and could hear everything even people in next door rooms talking.Nice breakfast with good selection and hot.I will look for something else next time but this isn't bad for the money but down the road a few yrs I will look for something easier acess to my room.

Room Tip: Seniors watch out the rooms not very accessable,1 elevator in front and very little parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herv r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear herv r,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I am delighted you were satisfied with the breakfast you had. My apologies for the inconvenience you had with the parking, elevator and your room accommodation. We appreciate the comments we receive from our valuable guest like you as this will assist us in improving the facilities and services we offer. We all hope to welcome you again soon and provide you the best hotel experience possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 17 in Marathon
40 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing