We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful super clean hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful super clean hotel.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I loved this hotel from the moment we enter it. Super friendly staff. Our room was beautiful with a gorgeous water view. The room was the cleanest I have ever seen. The bed is super comfy. I would give it a 5 star if it wasn't for fact that the walls are paper thin and you hear the slightest of noise. But overall it is a gorgeous and super friendy and clean hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with water view on the third level. We stayed in room 349 and had a gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We could not ask for much more than being referred to as a "Beautiful super clean hotel”! We really appreciate your nice comments!
We do apologize that you experienced a problem with noise. In the future, we will do our best to place you a little further from the corridor.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    600
    244
    71
    40
See reviews for
526
599
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great for a short stay in the Keys. We stayed because it's dog friendly. I've always liked Holiday Inn Express and this one seems to be pretty new. We liked it but the only thing was we could hear every single word of our (young bickering) neighbor's conversations. I assume they could hear ours. Same goes for the TV on both neighboring rooms. Other than that, everything was great. :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Dogs really like our property too ( :

We do apologize that you experienced a problem with noise - We are looking in to a resolution for this problem.

We do look forward to seeing you and your family pet in the future!
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lau
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for three nights from Thursday through Sunday morning. The hotel is immaculate and you can even smell the new paint and carpet. The staff is extremely helpful in every way. We needed refrigerators given medical conditions and Ilene at the front desk made sure that we had them. I requested extra towels and our housekeeper, Pancy, made sure that we had them every day. We had three rooms to celebrate my wife's birthday and each one of them was spacious, had comfortable new beds, and relaxing decor. We had a poolside view which also gave us a view of the beautiful Marathon Key waters. The breakfasts gave lots of variety and there is a restaurant across the street on the bay that serves wonderful food if you want to enjoy a view too (See my review of the Island Fish Company.) There is also a Tiki hut restaurant and bar next to the hotel which also has very good food and fantastic ambience (See my review on Catch 53.) All of this excellence for a great value. We paid $116 for Thursday and $134 for each of Friday and Saturday. Those prices are not easy to find in the Keys especially for new accommodations on the water.
There is plenty to do in Key Marathon. There is an art store called Unique very close to the hotel. Several companies offer charters and there are two good snorkeling tour companies right near the hotel.
I would like to address the common complaint found in other reviews concerning the noise between rooms. The Thursday stay was serene. Friday and Saturday was party time in the Keys, so the noise level kept up poolside until about 12: 30 am - not bad at all. The hotel is aware of the noise between rooms and they are making upgrades to address the problem. We did not experience any noise problems ourselves in any of the three rooms, but we did have adjoining rooms so our experience may not apply to this noise issue.

I have stayed in the Keys many times over the years and I would definitely come back to this gem!

Room Tip: The poolside may be noisy on the weekends, but the view is really nice. The rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We really appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice review about your stay with us! Your details were wonderful, and so were your nice comments about our staff - I will be sure and to pass them on!
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venetia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a really great time at this hotel. The room was nice and big and clean. Fluffy towels. The pool was refreshing! Hotel was beautiful!! The breakfast was more than adequate. The location was good. There was a nice restaurant behind the hotel. This is the best hotel in the area!!

New property! Very clean!! A+++++++

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It is so nice that you gave us an A+++++ rating! Thank You!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, the FL Keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

At first I thought it was a complete waste of money for my wife and me to stay at this hotel since we live 20 minutes away! We recently had a family reunion here in the keys and my wife thought that it would be a good idea for us to get a room so we could be with everybody else. As much as I hate to admit it, she was right... once again. In the Lobby I met a nice lady named Nancy. She helped us more than she could ever know. It is nearly impossible to get all of my family on the same page, but she made things so simple. She got us all set up to go snorkeling on the prettiest reef I've seen in the Keys. We didn't even have to leave the hotel. The boat was right there waiting for us. The boat was clean and the crew was awesome.They made sure all of our gear fit well and comfortably. Also, the mate spent extra time with my 12 y/o niece who was quite apprehensive to jump into the ocean that was "filled with sharks" (her words) We didn't see any sharks, but we did see tons of Parrot Fish, Angel Fish, a lobster, and even a sea turtle! My niece was the last one out of the water and says it was her favorite part of the trip.
She also arranged for half of our group to go deep sea fishing on two different boats. One boat came in with a cooler full of Yellowtail Snapper (My favorite!) and the other with Mahi Mahi. It gets better! We were able to have our fish cooked for us right there at the restaurant at the hotel. The blackened dolphin was the best fish I've ever eaten anywhere ever.
I didn't want to go home. The bed was so comfortable and the room was quiet. I wish I could stay there once a week just to catch up on my sleep. Our group had six rooms and everyone was in agreement that this place is perfect. Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast, and a fabulous view!
Thank you for helping our family have the best reunion ever! see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear that you and your family members enjoyed your stay and that you able take part in some of our onsite amenities that we offer at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites.

It especially makes happy when a staff member makes an impression - we will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Please send our regards to your wife for bringing you all together for your family reunion at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was one of 6 hotels during our trip to Florida. If I'm not mistaken there was no mini fridge and no microwave. The room was clean and convenient to the snorkelling operation my family used. I was surprised there was no laundry facilities. Drove to the laundromat about 5 min away, which was expensive, but apparently, electricity & water costs more in these parts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAFanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for writing a review - We appreciate all of your comments. We do offer "upon request" microwave and refrigerator combos in the rooms that do not have stationary ones –. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and ten year old son stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is relatively new and centrally located with a free breakfast which is a huge plus for any family. The staff is very friendly and the pool area very nice with a great view of the water. There is a restaurant located right next door and a convenient store within walking distance.

Although I am big fan Holiday Inns, this is a large hotel. The pool and the breakfast areas often felt crowded. We did check in on a Friday so that may have contributed to crowded feel. I'm not sure what I expected from the Keys as this was our first trip down. This hotel (as are most others) are located on the main highway. If you are looking for that "resort" or "island" type feel you may want to look elsewhere. Our final destination was Key West and in hindsight we would have bypassed Marathon and spent more time in Key West.

With that being said there is great fishing and snorkeling in Marathon as well as a beautiful state park. The dolphin research center also tends to be big draw. Again it depends upon what you are looking for!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaco2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.5 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing