We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally Wifi! Home away from home (when home is, like, meh).” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marathon Key Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marathon Key Beach Club
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Finally Wifi! Home away from home (when home is, like, meh).”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

My folks bought a bunch of weeks here way back when, so we come back every now and again. We're a 40-somethings couple with a 6 yr old.

The place is tired and dirty in corners: dusty vents, soap scum and dust in the laundry area, grout is dark in the showers and chips and scrapes everywhere, and most stuff in the kitchen doesn't match. 2-3 star kind of vibe.

That said, we'll be back. Marathon in general is very friendly and so is this place. Great staff, nice pool, everything works. Great restaurants, groceries and general amenities, beaches, seven mile bridge; the sort of stuff you're in the Keys for is all nearby.

We've done our share of five star travel but come back here the same way we go to the old family cottage.

Recent reviews noted the lack of Wifi but it's here now in the room and super fast with all three of us plugging away.

It's a fine place. Be ready for tired, dated and dusty and relax, get into the pace of things, and you'll have a fine time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DKandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at MKBC on an Interval exchange in October 2011. Luckily, we had 101A, the best room in the resort as it is closest to the water, overlooking the Banana Bay Resort marina. While not fancy, the 2b/2b condo was clean and we had everything we needed, including a washer/dryer right in the condo and reliable Internet. The grounds were well kept, but the giant yellow speed bumps are the world's largest. Go slow! The master bath is shower only (tub in 2nd bath) and very tight. Big king size bed! Best restaurants: Hurricane ($5 lunch specials until 4 p.m. and Key Fisheries (best food and atmosphere). Best dive shop: Tildens (look for the big blue fish).

Room Tip: Ask for the Angelfish building (closest to the water, farthest from Oversears Hwy)
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I am spending my last night of a week-long stay at the MKBC. This is my first visit. I am here on an RCI trade. I have to say, this is a great place. If you want a five-star facility, then I would travel somewhere other than the Keys, although there are a few here.

I arrived late on Saturday and the office was closed, but they left the keys and resort information in the mailbox for me, and I checked in on Monday (office closed on Sunday). This is a small resort (20 2 bedroom condos in 5 buildings) but has a great pool and hot tub, tiki bar, marina with boat slips and great sunset views. Easy walking distance to grocery stores and a couple of restaurants. I am moving down the street to the Reef at Marathon tommorow on another RCI trade (review to follow).

One of the best breakfast restaurants in Marathon (Stuffed Pig is a couple of blocks away. The Hurricane (decent cheap food, including 25 cent wings, and excellent musical entertainment) is next door, as is the Barricuda Grill. I ate there one night and it was very good. I had the crispy duck (half a duck cooked Peking Style). There is a bus that will take you to Key West that runs several times a day and stops just past the Stuffed Pig. It is $4 each way or $25 for a seven day pass. Takes you right down town near Duval Street. You can go anywhere on Marathon in a taxi for about 4 or 5 dollars. Last run back leaves Key West about 10 p.m.

The staff at MKBC were wonderful. Very friendly and supportive. The units are very well appointed, with a master bedroom with a king bed and full bath, and a smaller bedroom with two twin beds and a full bath. The kitchen has a small breakfast table with four chairs. The living/dining area has a full sized 6 chair dining table, sofa( queen sleeper), love seat, recliner, tables, entertainment center and flat screen TV. Full sized washer and dryer in the unit. Plenty of towels including 6 pool towels. Screened balcony with four top table and chairs, accessible from living room and master bedroom.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Everything you need for a great vacation is included. The office gave me the name of a guy who delivered bicycles for rent at $35 for the entire week. Great biking town.

I highly recommend: Turtle Hospital tour, Crane Point Hammock, Pigeon Key, Stuffed Pig for breakfast, Barracuda Grill, Hurricane and Brass Monkey for entertainment, Sunset Grill, & 7-Mile Grill, Sharky's Landing, and Marathon Community Theatre if they have a show.

Room Tip: A building is closest to the water, but they are all geat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is a timeshare resort - don't know if they rent to the public. We used a timeshare exchange in January 2011 to stay in a two-bedroom, two-bath, 2nd floor condo in the "B" Bldg. at Marathon Key Beach Club. It is located at a bay marina on the Gulf of Mexico in Marathon, Florida Keys. The condo was dated but clean and very sufficient with a full kitchen, dishwasher, washer & dryer, and plenty of parking. One covered parking space under the building; pretty much unlimited parking spaces out in the open, so you can have more than one car per condo. The screened-in balcony provides awesome views and keeps the pesky Florida bugs out - although we didn't see any in January. The grounds were beautiful and there is a very nice BBQ area with tables.The personnel were always friendly. When we called the office to let them know our blender did not work very good, it was promptly replaced with a new one.

Guests are entitled to use the pool, tiki bar and restaurant at the adjacent Banana Bay Resort, which usually included nightly entertainment. Fun place! Beyond the marina (where many people were docked in their very large yachts) is a very small sandy area with a couple of lounge chairs but not a good area for ocean swimming. There are boats, jet skis, kayaks, etc. for rent. We rented a boat for 1/2 day and now know what it is like to navigate a boat on the ocean. A lot more to it than we knew about! We went through some of the many channels to get from the gulf side to the Atlantic Ocean and back - great experience, saw many beautiful homes and yachts, but keep your eyes on that depth finder! There is a diving area near the lighthouse about 5 miles out on the Atlantic Ocean. Found it not very suitable for snorkeling. The weather was nice most of the week we were there the second week in January, although we had a very cold day in Key West when the weather changed for a day or two. Never know about winter weather in Florida, but sure beats the miserable summer months.

The location is great for grocery stores, restaurants (especially the Sunset Grille!), bars (Banana Bay Cabana Tiki Bar, Salty's Bar & Marina, Sparky's Landing at Key Colony - to name a few), beaches (be sure to stop at Veterans Memorial Park - south of Marathon), walks on the old highway bridge near the Sunset Grille, beautiful sunsets, and only about an hour to Key West. We had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to go back!

Cons: No housekeeping service provided
No elevators - several flights of stairs to climb
Not a good beach for swimming

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank retiredatlast57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

This place is great just don't understand why such a great place would have such awful beds and bedding. If they would update their beds like the hampton inn or something it would be awesome. It is spacious with a great view and terrific location. Everything is awesome except the beds.
The washer and dryer are full sized and work great - just a bit noisy.
Oh well - who knows what they'll do next year....hopeful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotel_Reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

A very enjoyable place to stay. It was very affordable and I would recommend it to travelers in need of several bedrooms or an efficiency unit. For us, it's location made it ideal as a central base for staying in the Keys.

The grounds were very tropical. My family stayed in the building closest to the water, which has a nice view of the Marina and the Gulf of Mexico. We liked the fact that there are boats, kayak's and wave runner rentals on the premises.

My family's stay was very pleasant. The unit offered a fully equipped kitchen, an a dining room. This allowed us to cook at home and save money. It was a large apartment. We looked into staying at Tranquilty Bay, which is beautiful, but they were asking for nearly double the price. For my family, MKBC offered us a very affordable place to stay. My only negative would be that the kitchen was a little dated in appearance, however, it was no big deal, the place had all the requirements we were looking for. It also has a washer and dryer. In speaking with the management during my stay, I learned that MKBC is a Timeshare development, so I was happy that they allowed visitors the opportunity to rent their units.

Regards,
Mary

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILove2teachNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were very disappointed in this resort. The mattress and pillows were in very bad shape and we had to wash the linens before we could sleep in the bed. The towels were worn and stained. The carpeting which looked like it was the original from the 80's was disgustingly dirty. The whole unit was so dirty and dated it was unlivable. The staff was friendly but that really doesn't help matters when things are so bad. The one and only tennis court was cracked and dirty. This was a Marriott exchange week through Interval International. They should both be ashamed to have this type of resort in their portfolios.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rita311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 16 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Key Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Key Beach Club

Property: Marathon Key Beach Club
Address: 4560 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marathon Key Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Marathon Key Beach Club Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing