We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat breakfast here on your way out of Key West”
Review of Wooden Spoon

Wooden Spoon
Ranked #20 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eat breakfast here on your way out of Key West”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great little place wth good food, quick service and cheap prices. Make sure you order a slice of their homemade bread grilled to perfection. My favorite is the banana. We always eat here on our way up the Keys!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRL4803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    275
    112
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were hoping to find a friendly and not too touristy place to get a real breakfast and the Wooden Spoon fit the bill perfectly. Delightful pancakes and a good breakfast special. The waitresses were friendly despite being extremely busy and the place had a great atmosphere. We tried three other breakfast places in the Keys and ended up going back to the Wooden Spoon, because it was both the nicest and the cheapest.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
220 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Why does dirty dumpy mean good breakfast??”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The difference between the Spoon and the Stuffed Pig is I found the staff much more happy at the Wooden Spoon. I also like the griddle out front, it's fun. The food is basic breakfast fare with the southern staples like grits, biscuits and country fried steak. Good value and we'll eat here again when in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Can't understand some of these reviews. The cafe was busy with locals and visitors a good sign. A charming gentleman invited us to sit with him and his friends. The owner appeared with the menu and excellent coffee and told us about the breakfast specials. We had a variety of pancakes plain blueberry and banana all delicious and freshly made. Our cups were readily replenished with fresh coffee. All in all a great experience with good company and a charming hostess.

Helpful?
Thank Crampmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wooden (Greasy) Spoon”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We attempted to eat at this dump on Sunday the 10th of March. We stepped to the counter where two rude waitresses ignored us and the couple in front of us for several minutes. Finally one of the waitresses said something to the first couple causing them to walk out. After several more minutes, this greasy behemoth of a waitress said "if you want to eat, go sit at a table, but you can't stand in the aisle".

We sat at a table-but one at "Strouts" a few doors down. Very pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaoulAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wooden Spoon also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Wooden Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing