We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would eat here every day if I lived here!”
Review of La Nina Market

La Nina Market
Ranked #19 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I would eat here every day if I lived here!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Best cafe con Leches and best Cuban sandwiches I have ever tasted. Then there's the fall-off-the-bone chicken, the moistest roast pork, flakey empanadas, and those potatoes! Add to that the generosity and friendliness of the owner Jose . . . This place truly can't be beat.
Oh yeah and the prices are good too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWeaverNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    61
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth looking for”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped at La Nina to get some take out lunch. The owner, Jose, "hooked us up" with some of the most delicious Cuban food I have ever eaten....and I love Cuban food. The chicken fricassee was moist, flavorful, and melt-in-your-mouth. The congri was spicy, and not overcooked. And the Cuban sandwich...well...it set a new standard.
We loved it so much we went back for breakfast the next day...and holy ham croquettes!!! It was just as good, if not better. The Cafe Con Leche is to die for. Each time we visited, Jose made it his mission to make sure we left completely stuffed and completely happy. He is charming and the experience is charming. Don't miss this place if you spend any time at all in Marathon, FL.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weave1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!! Don't miss this!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We went here for lunch today based on the 4 previous reviews on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint. The owner is super nice. As soon as we walked in he told us about the lunch specials and menu. He has different lunch specials each day. Today was Cuban pork ribs, delicious rice dish, plantains and yucca. He prepared a plate for me, and my husband had the best Cuban sandwich he has ever had, and he's had a few. If you like Cuban food don't miss it. You can also take out if you prefer.

Helpful?
1 Thank trixietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Cuban Food, Conveniently Located Near 7 Mile Bridge”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were approaching Marathon from the end of the 7 Mile Bridge (mile marker 48.5) when we saw the signs for Cuban food. The friendly chef/owner welcomed us into his 14-seat restaurant, told us about the specials, and gave us menus. Everything sounded delicious - it was almost impossible to decide - and so he provided us with a sampler plate that included slow cooked chicken that was tender and delicious and falling off the bone, succulent pork ribs, Cuban sweet potatoes, garlic mojo, and yucca. Everything was seasoned and cooked to perfection. We enjoyed our giant sample plate with some refreshing Cuban pineapple soda. We ordered a Cuban sandwich, and it was one of the best ever. Everything we ate was delicious, and this is one of those places you go to eat incredible food. It is clean and well-maintained but it is small. What it might lack in atmosphere it more than makes up for with its mouthwatering Cuban dishes. If you want the experience of authentic Cuban cuisine, don't miss it. And as it is right off the highway, you can't miss it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RelaxationMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Cuban Food!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stopped by on a business trip had amazing meal! Tried their oxtail, yellow fin fish, garbanzo beans, plantains, flan, papaya dulce....everything was delicious!!! Staff was also wonderful. Recommend a stop through if you are headed down to Marathon!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nina Market also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to La Nina Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing