We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic White Coch Chouder”
Review of Cracked Conch Cafe

Cracked Conch Cafe
Ranked #30 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Whether you are vacationing in Marathon or on your way to or from Key West, no trip is complete without a stop at The Cracked Conch Cafe. We use only the freshest seafood and finest ingredients. Start out your meal with our legendary Conch Chowder. Try some of our truly legendary Conch Specialties -- Conch Parmesan, Conch Joseph or our Cracked Conch Platter. For the landlubbers, we offer Choice New York Strip Steak, Filet, Ribs and Chicken. And our fresh and delicious sandwiches and salads are always available. Don't forget to finish off your meal with Key Lime Pie! Located at Mile Marker 49.5, The Cracked Conch Cafe is the perfect place to stop, rest and grab a bite to eat and a cool drink. Relax on our tropical patio and breathe in that great ocean air as you enjoy our famous conch cooking. We hope to see you soon!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic White Coch Chouder”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had the opprotunity to have a late dinner there on our way to thhe Keys.

The waitress was a gem, recommended the White Conch Chouder.

Excellent meal and service.

They Key Lime pie topped off the meal.

Great Place to eat

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    268
    138
    58
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Bit OverPriced but Worth It”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped by this local restaurant for lunch during the week. Aside from what seemed to be lunch prices that are a bit high for the area, the quality and quantity of the meals make this a worthwhile stop. For the truly famished, try one of the basket entrees that comes with french fries and cole slaw. The portions are immense for even the largest eater. For an unexpected treat try the Mahi Caesar salad. Not only is the portion quite filling but the dressing does not drown the romaine lettuce that is ripped into bite size pieces. The wait staff is quite adept at being present when needed but allowing you the opportunity to enjoy your meal and the surroundings. Finish this all off with one of their flavorful rum concoctions and you will have a refreshing lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGourmand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Used to be much better”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had gone to the Cracked Conch numerous times in the past, but it has been about 6 years. They do not have a kids menu, and for 2 adults and 2 kids for lunch, it cost $50 including tip and no drinks. The cracked conch sandwich is still the best in the Keys, but the rest of the food we had was disappointing and expensive. The conch burger was terrible, and the cheese pizza was very overpriced. The restaurant itself is more run down, and the conch shell in the front is gone. A single waitress was handling the guests, and did a good job, but seemed stressed and unhappy. We will most likely not go back - unless it is only for breaded cracked conch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Konk-a-licious”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you've never tried conch, this is a must. The conch cerviche is as fresh as if you just reached down to the ocean floor, plucked the meat from the shell, drizzled it w oil & herbs and enjoyed it. Many mant other ways of conch prep. Very convienient location on rt 1.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing place; great seafood”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We loved the open windows catching the ocean breeze. I had the broiled snapper which was excellent; and my husband enjoyed his fried shrimp. It is now a favorite where we want to come again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank peach423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracked Conch Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cracked Conch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing