We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Butterfly Cafe

Butterfly Cafe
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Savor Florida Keys dining with award-winning tropical cuisine indoor or outdoor at Tranquility Bay Resort's own Butterfly Café. Butterfly Café captures the essence of island cuisine with an emphasis on quality, local ingredients and, of course, ocean fresh seafood in a beautiful airy Marathon restaurant setting. Open daily for dinner, the menu and wine list at Butterfly Café change seasonally. Children will delight in a special menu designed just for them. Dinner is served nightly from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at our restaurant in Marathon and reservations are encouraged. Dine outdoors on Butterfly Café's covered patio, or enjoy the impressive dining room inside with its soaring ceiling and casual yet sophisticated decor. Our dinner menu features tantalizing offerings like Florida Keys’ Shrimp Cocktail, Tropical Crab Cakes, Panko Encrusted Florida Grouper, Key Lime Pie, TDF 'To Die For' Sticky Toffee Pudding and more. Casual resort attire recommended at this Florida Keys restaurant.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived late and were able to take advantage of the fact that the people who had reservations never showed. We ate out on the terrace/porch. The service was friendly, the atmosphere was magical. It was February but warm and lovely in Marathon. I knew the Butterfly Cafe was listed as one of the best restaurants in Marathon and the rating is well-deserved. The smoked fish dip was the best and I'll now rate everyone else's against the Butterfly Cafe's. I had the special that night, which was a Panko-crusted grouper. Not sure what my husband had. I was too focused on my own plate!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tessietrueheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    191
    52
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing; one of the best meals I've had”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I went to Butterfly Cafe based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, so we went not knowing what to expect. We had called ahead of time as we were kind of doing a late dinner reservation (it was about 8:30 pm and they said the kitchen closed at 9 pm) so we rushed there - we actually didn't have to rush because they were very welcoming and weren't at all pushy in regards to the kitchen closing time.
They have a dining room, but an outdoor seating area as well, so since it was a nice warm (but not humid) evening, we decided to sit out in on their porch, like the rest of the guests there. The porch had great white wicker furniture, with lots of pillows; it was very beautiful and tranquil. It was great to have dinner in the sounds of nature. There were also 2 kittens that would come by the guests' tables; our polite hostess explained to us that they were for cutting down the number of lizards on the property and guests were encouraged not to feed the cats so they would have an appetite for lizards.
We ordered the chowder, penne, and I think a fish dish; all the food was amazing, perfectly cooked. At the end, we had a piece of their award winning version of key lime pie, which was great as well; light, not too tart, and refreshing.
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place; it has a great atmosphere, made me feel relaxed just to sit on the porch, and the service and food are excellent. A little bit on he pricey side, but was well worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Valentine Dinner”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Hubby & I celebrated Valentine's dinner here. The atmosphere is classic "Old Florida" set amongst old hardwoods and palms. The food was very good and thoughtfully prepared, just expect to pay a premium for the fine service and quality (not quantity).

Helpful?
1 Thank Conquistadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant worth going to!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Food was great, service was great - also if you're staying at Tranquility Bay they have a great "take-out" offering which is wonderful for families with kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A beautiful outdoor covered veranda makes for wonderful ambiance to match the beautiful and tasty food. 4 of us enjoyed our dinner very much. We shared 2 appetizers, the warm goat cheese and the tuna napoleon. Both excellent with exciting flavors. For dinner, the men enjoyed the panko crusted grouper with yukon gold mashed potatoes- perfectly cooked grouper. The women shared an entree- the mahi mahi with cilantro cream sauce and mashed potatoes, plenty and equally as good. The one complaint was our waitress seemed to have too many tables, and service was erratic. We had such a long wait after we finished our entrees that we decided against dessert. We also thought busboys were missing, as our dirty dishes sat for a long time until the waitress reappeared and took them away. We would definitely go back to try other wonderful sounding items on their menu. Hopefully it was just an off night regarding the service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Butterfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing