We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Service and food fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Cafe

Butterfly Cafe
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Savor Florida Keys dining with award-winning tropical cuisine indoor or outdoor at Tranquility Bay Resort's own Butterfly Café. Butterfly Café captures the essence of island cuisine with an emphasis on quality, local ingredients and, of course, ocean fresh seafood in a beautiful airy Marathon restaurant setting. Open daily for dinner, the menu and wine list at Butterfly Café change seasonally. Children will delight in a special menu designed just for them. Dinner is served nightly from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at our restaurant in Marathon and reservations are encouraged. Dine outdoors on Butterfly Café's covered patio, or enjoy the impressive dining room inside with its soaring ceiling and casual yet sophisticated decor. Our dinner menu features tantalizing offerings like Florida Keys’ Shrimp Cocktail, Tropical Crab Cakes, Panko Encrusted Florida Grouper, Key Lime Pie, TDF 'To Die For' Sticky Toffee Pudding and more. Casual resort attire recommended at this Florida Keys restaurant.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Service and food fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wait staff extremely professional and friendly. Our waitress Nancy was a gem. The menu was the perfect size--not too limiting but not so big that you knew quality was sacrificed for variety.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 49ElizabethS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    955
    173
    40
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Harbour, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
2 reviews
“The best key lime pie I've ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had a fantastic dinner, especially the Key Lime Pie with the Chocolate Mousse it was divine, I want to say special thanks to Chef Mareen who made this experience the best one I've ever had.

Thank You Mareen

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

During my stay at Tranquility Bay in July I had the BEST dinner at Butterfly Cafe! The food was fantastic, service exceptional, and once again I had the pleasure of being greeted by the front desk staff and Barry, Front Office Manager. I am looking forward to my return to Tranquility Bay and the Butterfly Cafe in the near future!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tsflkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

To celebrate my husband's birthday while we were on vacation, we dined at Butterfly Cafe. The Samba salad, mozzarella and tomato salad and tuna napoleon appetizers were all fresh and delicious starters. Scallop Risotto, filet mignon and key lime pie were great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank swtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flavortown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at the Butterfly Cafe where Nancy wined and dined us. We couldn't believe that service of this caliber was present in such a casual location like the Florida Keys. This turns out that this isn't the norm for the Keys,but Nancy was an exception. The food and service were out of this world and worth every penny. You are really selling yourself short if you do not dine in this restaurant at least one night during your stay.I went with the scallop risotto dish since I overheard other guests at the resort raving about it. It was creamy and flavorful with some of the most flavor packed scallops I have ever eaten. Some restaurants seem to have a difficult time figuring out exactly how to make risotto,but the Butterfly Cafe hit the nail on the head. My wife decided to go with the yellowtail dish and she said it tasted like it was caught earlier that afternoon. Talk about fresh and local ingrediants...this place has them. we didn't save room for dessert,so we opted to take a piece of key lime pie back to our room for later. This key lime pie is truly homemade and absolutely blew our socks off. It is a frozen take on the traditional key lime pie with a chocolate mouse and chocolate cookie crust. Put this on your list to try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Butterfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing