We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Butterfly Cafe”
Review of Butterfly Cafe

Butterfly Cafe
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Savor Florida Keys dining with award-winning tropical cuisine indoor or outdoor at Tranquility Bay Resort's own Butterfly Café. Butterfly Café captures the essence of island cuisine with an emphasis on quality, local ingredients and, of course, ocean fresh seafood in a beautiful airy Marathon restaurant setting. Open daily for dinner, the menu and wine list at Butterfly Café change seasonally. Children will delight in a special menu designed just for them. Dinner is served nightly from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at our restaurant in Marathon and reservations are encouraged. Dine outdoors on Butterfly Café's covered patio, or enjoy the impressive dining room inside with its soaring ceiling and casual yet sophisticated decor. Our dinner menu features tantalizing offerings like Florida Keys’ Shrimp Cocktail, Tropical Crab Cakes, Panko Encrusted Florida Grouper, Key Lime Pie, TDF 'To Die For' Sticky Toffee Pudding and more. Casual resort attire recommended at this Florida Keys restaurant.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Butterfly Cafe”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Fantastic food, brilliant service, amazing location, wonderful wines, excellent staff and for the quality of what you are eating and drinking very good value

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    191
    52
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A great place to dine when looking for a peaceful and relaxing experience. Trip Advisor did not steer us wrong. We made reservations the day before our dining experience (they are only open for dinner 5-9 pm, so reservations are recommended - especially during busy season). Our server, Stacey, was awesome! She was patient, helpful, attentive, and very personable. She recommended both of the dishes we ordered - the Grouper and the Mahi-Mahi. Both were delicious! Stacey also helped with our wine selection. At the end of our meal, Stacey gave us some great tips about places to see and things to do in the area. The view of Tranquility Bay Resort is very nice, and the stroll down to the tiki hut was nice after dinner. The food speaks for itself - you must go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LubaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Great meal, from start to finish!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

With excellent service and recommendations from Nancy, our most gracious host (not your average wait staff here!), our family had a great meal and wonderful experience in a stunning environment. I have lived in the Keys for over 40 years.....Tranquility Bay is a gem!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A must do, come prepared to be relaxed & to leave with a smile on your face.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We came to Marathon aboard our boat, met up with friends who were on their's. Trip Advisor had great reviews for the Butterfly so we had to try. WHAT A WOW! Not expected... especially when you are in a very casual place like Marathon. The food was beautifully presented and the flavor combinations were just right. The atmosphere is perfect, dining on an open air "back porch" with fans and a soft breeze. There is limited inside dining when it rains or is unbearably hot, as the Keys can be but outside is where the magic is. Be sure to make RESERVATIONS. Taxi to the Butterfly from our marina was $5.00 for the cab ride, which included 4 people. Turns out that anywhere in Marathon is $5.00 for a cab ride... doesn't matter how many people. Now that's user friendly for all us boaters who arrive without land transportation! Tranquility Bay, which is the resort that houses Butterfly Cafe, allows the dining public to tour their grounds after dinner. This is a must, as the property is appropriately named. Romantic, tranquil, and very private.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way. Don't miss”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. Everything was way above and beyond what we expected. Our waitress Stacey was fantastic. She made the experience special. It may seem a bit pricey, but the quality and quantity of food was spectacular. Everything we ate was Five Star, Food Network Iron Chef Quality. Don't miss this place as there aren't many like it around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbum66226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Butterfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing