We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No butterflies in your stomach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Cafe

Butterfly Cafe
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Savor Florida Keys dining with award-winning tropical cuisine indoor or outdoor at Tranquility Bay Resort's own Butterfly Café. Butterfly Café captures the essence of island cuisine with an emphasis on quality, local ingredients and, of course, ocean fresh seafood in a beautiful airy Marathon restaurant setting. Open daily for dinner, the menu and wine list at Butterfly Café change seasonally. Children will delight in a special menu designed just for them. Dinner is served nightly from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at our restaurant in Marathon and reservations are encouraged. Dine outdoors on Butterfly Café's covered patio, or enjoy the impressive dining room inside with its soaring ceiling and casual yet sophisticated decor. Our dinner menu features tantalizing offerings like Florida Keys’ Shrimp Cocktail, Tropical Crab Cakes, Panko Encrusted Florida Grouper, Key Lime Pie, TDF 'To Die For' Sticky Toffee Pudding and more. Casual resort attire recommended at this Florida Keys restaurant.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No butterflies in your stomach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere. Food well prepared and delicious. Great place for a wonderful meal and evening. Would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    173
    40
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"No cafe here"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food and service excellent but calling it a café is deceiving. Change the name to Butterfly Room or Butterfly Bay. The room is adorable, portion size perfect, service excellent, any kind of cocktail from the bar, and a menu with wonderful choices, can't say, enough. Grounds of Tranquility Bay are beautiful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat Brooks R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A ray of sunshine in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you've been to the Keys you know that sometimes what you see isn't always what you get! That eclectic Keys look and feeling can make you question what you are about to get. That's why it is so refreshing to find this wonderful restaurant nestled in the Tranquility Bay Resort. My family and I enjoyed a cocktail as the wonderful sunset slipped into the Florida Bay to begin the evening. We were quickly seated and greeted by Cheryl who covered our menu question and presented my wife with her favorite cocktail (the restaurant's namesake) to start a fantastic evening. Everything ordered was prepared, presented and cooked perfectly. The service was impeccable and the prices are in line for this level of culinary experience.
As I had begun this review, the eclectic Keys are why we travel to them, but why not enjoy a wonderful evening of fine dining while here. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiho34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waquoit, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gem In Marathon Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is not your ordinary restaurant in the keys. This is a place where you can enjoy a quiet meal without the noise from the bar. Where they serve great food, attentive servers, and the best key line pie in the keys. Go and enjoy!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonwhaler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food and food presentation at the Butterfly Cafe are excellent. Our waitress was new but very good. The restaurant was basically empty (2 tables filled inside), and, when we asked for a table rather than 2 chairs and booth seating, it took 3 consultations to make the change. Getting the bill was a disaster. We had a coupon for food only. It took 20 minutes consultation time, and they eventually divided the bill into 2 charges-one for food and one for alcohol. Our guest commented on the dire attire-all black.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank capitalrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Cafe also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Butterfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing