We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION !!!”
Review of The Hawks Nest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hawks Nest
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION !!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Great View, sitting by the pool while looking out at the ocean is just awesome. Caught some great sunsets. Very quaint, smaller but nice hotel with great people who stay there who are timeshare owners and been going there for so many years, including one lady i met who had been going there for 30 years. Im actually thinking of buying something at Hawks Nest myself, loved it that much. Alot of great eating establishments within minutes driving. Also the Turtle Hospital and Dolphin Research Centre is a must to visit. Great Fishing, and of course Great Happy Hours at local pubs and bars. Only one hours drive to Key West !! I would certainly recommend the Hawks Nest to anyone. I live in Canada, and intend to go back to Hawks Nest in October again. Oh one other thing, 90 degree temperatures in october is also awesome, our thermometer said 110 at the pool , Pity !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Ky.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife and I have stayed in some fabulous places in the Keys and in certain areas of Florida, but if you want to just kick back, enjoy fabulous sunsets, relax by the pool and have a very decent selections of places to eat, then this is the place for you and hopefully a loved one. Staying in late September when all the kids are back in school made this place extra special, it's not a place for a fun loving active group, this place is a place to read a book, enjoy a great view and not be bothered with to much going on around you. We did a time share trade for this and had our reservations due to some of the reviews, but am I sure glad we gave it a try and a try will do again even if it isn't a time share trade. We had Tropical storm "Nicole" come through and we just sat in the hot tub and let her rain. And keep your eyes out for plenty of Tarpon on incoming tide right off the sea wall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachguy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I have been going to the Hawks Nest for about 15 years. During that time it has gone through several upgrades including the most recent re-do of the DR / LR, Bedrooms, and some bathrooms. It was professionally done and the decorator returned the decor to an Island style--very beautiful and relaxing. Other upgrades in recent years have been televisions and Wi Fi, balconies, and hallways. The fishing docks and boat davits, tiki's, and pool, jacquzzi, and bar-b-que grills are some of the major things changed by plan or imposition (Hurricanes occasionally). I am also a Marriott owner and have traded into many other units in my 36 years as a time share owner. Marriott, Hilton, World Mark, Ritz Carlton all have nicer places, AND some that are used as much as the Hawks Nest--like places in Hawaii with their attendant wear and tear--but none have the natural beauty so close and accessable as Hawks Nest. If your idea of a great time share is lots of marble and 4 shower heads you won't find that here. If on the other hand your idea is to enjoy a property that has multimillion dollar views with lots of sea life, sunsets, and an occasional osprey or frigate bird nesting on the roof--this is your place. The owners never leave or sell because it is a great value and an unsurpassed home away from home. Try it and you'll understand why the Keys are America's tropical islands and why Interval International frequently gives owner's of the Hawk's Nest 2 weeks for each one traded to help satisfy the demand. Oh yeah, the local restaurants are great too--try Annies Lobster House, or Sunset Bar and Grill next door, or Key Colony, or..lots of others. You could also bring your fishing pole and catch dinner off the dock--lots of folks do. Hope you luck out and find an opening here. Sorry I won't be trading or selling anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConchBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Great location, great views (although single units face parking lot) - there are parts that need updating/maintenance - work ethic is not great in the keys - Management is rude, they should fire the current manager. Quiet time starts at 10pm which seems a bit ridiculously early. Paying for utilities is a bit ridiculous as well. Nice place for families. Don't hang your towels over the railing, you will get yelled at by the management!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Boston1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My boyfriend's family has a time share here and I have stayed with him these past 2 Spring Breaks and plan on going back for this year's Spring Break. I do kind of wish there were more closer places to eat but I think it is a great place, especially to watch the sunsets over the 7-Mile Bridge. The rental bikes are a little difficult to ride but can still be enjoyable. I'd say get some new games maybe but it's not like we were in our rooms long enough to play them because we were out in the warm pool.

The room (suite I guess?) is great too though there were a few ants the first time I stayed and boyfriend's parents has bedbugs the 2nd time I stayed. Internet was a little slow sometimes too and took a lot of walking around to find a good spot but at least it was free.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Kari86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We have stayed here five times and it has always been great. I can understand how some people get upset when the elevator is not working, but show me one tht hasn't. The view is fantastic and a little secluded, but not too much.
Staff are great, will do anything that they can to make or help your stay, but you have to ask them - nicely. We have stayed in single bedrooms and the doubles. For the age of the building, I think that they do a fantastic job keeping it up. Especially considering some of the people that come and stay there. (read that as not being very considerate or possibly thoughtful)
A lot of the people that we have seen there over the years own one of the rooms and wouldn't go anywhere else, it is about an hour to Key West and it's attractions, but without being as eccentric or novel. There are plenty of local restaurants that are the kind only found in the "keys".
There are plenty of things to do, but they aren't going to come to you, and sometimes you have to look for them, but check out "things to do" under Marathon, Florida.

Helpful?
3 Thank thrpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This will be a very abbreviated review…Location…location…location it is GREAT! Chappy’s right next door and Burdines down the road both have great food. Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda both absolutely beautiful with better facilities than “resort” Looe Key is another must see and the staff at the Dive/Snorkel Facility are the best of the best!
Management at Hawks Nest is something to be desired. No room at the Inn upon our arrival even after calling ahead to verify our stay. We made our reservations on June 2nd through our exchange company, Hawks Nest was aware of our arrival and they claim they faxed our exchange company on August 18th that the unit would be occupied by the owner for the week of our confirmed stay arriving August 22nd. Unfortunely they found a room for us. This facility is totally unsecure and open to anyone that walks in off the street and we returned to our unit one evening after extermination to find it wide open with all our stuff inside. They make a huge fuss and warnings are posted regarding the bath towels and washcloths but pay no mind to blood stained and who knows what else mattresses (fold out bed should be replaced stains so bad) and bed linens with blankets I would not even keep for rags. We had a toilet backup that overflowed and message only capability to front desk during normal working hours. We were able to clear and when they called us back we requested someone check it out to prevent further problems and disinfect floor…no one bothered until the next day. No service available on Thursdays and Sundays. Warning all one bedroom units have a view of parking lot. This is the first time we have ever had to pay a Utility Fee of $25.00 and we have been exchanging unit all over the world for over 20 years. Our recommendations…don’t stay there with so many other options that are affordable and better maintained. I laugh now but once a room was found the Emergency contact said “go make a drink, relax in the Jacuzzi, and enjoy your stay” Jacuzzi had been broke for a week before our arrival and remained so for the entire week!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank transitionus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
6.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawks Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawks Nest

Property: The Hawks Nest
Address: 1 Kyle Way S, Marathon, FL 33050-2007
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Marathon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Hawks Nest Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing