We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Nice resort, bringing your boat requires planning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Indigo Reef Marina Homes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort, bringing your boat requires planning”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a nice place to stay, but not as boat friendly as one would think for a resort that is supposed to be for boaters. There is a non trailer on site policy, which I can understand given the tight parking and no place to turn around. So you need to launch and leave your trailer at the marina across the street. No problem if you get there before the marina closes, but I got in late and left my flats skiff in the overflow parking overnight. The staff was less than sypathetic (I am not going to leave a 40k skiff in the K-Mart parking lot) and was very rude about the situation even with my early departure the next morning. Also, if you are getting guided, you will have to walk a ways to the road if your guide is trailering to get picked up. There is only one parking stall per unit, a second vehicle must be parked in the overflow parking. There were complaints about one of the guest's boats being too big, it was a 32' CC. Considering there were only a half dozen boats there, that seemed ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    24
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We come to the Keys twice a year, however, it was our first stay at Indigo Reef. This place is great! We initially were going to stay a week, but on our last day we decided to stay another four nights. Due to the fact that it was Easter break it was almost at capacity, however, Sam at Keys Caribbean was able to get us in another unit. Both units we stayed in were very clean and decorated well. The marina is well maintained with a CLEAN fish cleaning station every 3 or 4 boat slips. Sam was very helpful and did everything he could do to make our trip perfect. The location of the development is perfect for either Ocean or bay access with the Vaca.cut right next door. The only draw back that i can think of is that the Marathon airport is nearby and during the day you hear the planes. However, my kids LOVED watching the different types of planes come and go. We will be back for sure in a few months.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just returned from a week at Indigo Reef and have nothing but compliments. The unit (#22) had ample room for our family. The fully furnished kitchen and spacious living area was a nice touch. The large pool was beautiful with the lush gardens surrounding the area. The only thing which would have made Indigo perfect was bar/food service at the pool. It would have been the ideal touch! The complex is very private, clean and well maintained. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlcrzy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
210 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was our second year at Indigo Reef, the first in Unit #21, the second in Unit #56. We booked thru Sam Schorr at Keys Caribbean. Both stays were lovely, Sam was terrific, even came over personally to bring us a DVD player.

The pros - very clean, very well maintained, large public rooms and master suite, plenty of baths, everything works, bed linens are very nice, lovely views, great pool, my son said the gym was nice, clean and well equipped.

The cons? Not many. The furnishings and decor are a little sparse. There is JUST enough of everything, 6 plates, 6 bowls, 1 pot, 1 pan, two rolls of toilet paper per bath etc. The towels are cheap - think Motel 6 - not a luxury property, and there are not enough of them. While the units are very pretty and well designed, they were cheaply built. You can hear everything. If it is quiet, which it often is, it is great. If not, it can be a problem. Yapping dogs can be a problem, as well as crying babies and shouting children, and even people talking on the porch next door early in the morning or late at night.

The pool does not permit glass on deck, which makes sense, but no plastic ware is provided in the units. It seems awfully logical to me that if it plastics are required, they should be provided. How hard could it be to provide a set of nice plastic cups for every unit? Maybe Tervis tumblers with "Indigo Reef" printed on them which cost $20 if you steal them like the beach towels do?!

Room Tip: All appear good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Let me start by saying if your a fisherman and have your own boat or rent on this is the location for you! We were here Jan/Feb 2012 what a wonderful place, pool is great but I must say I would have loved to see more on site things to do...i.e. shuffle board, volleyball.... But we managed to make our own fun. The only downer was upon arrival the Villa was not cleaned as well as it should have been...I wouldn't expect it to be like my home but for the money no dust bunnies or crumbs should be found. We would like to do this again but it depends on the cost...rumor has it the economy has improved 40% in Marathon. LOL. If you can swing it go for it..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeysRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Used to attract nice families & couples who respected the rules & each other. Disrespectful smokers smoke in the pool area, on their decks and other areas knowing that their 2nd hand smoke is blowing into others villas. There is a no glass of any kind in the pool area rule but their are some that are too illiterate to be able to read the posted rules. Indigo has become a haven for dogs also. Again most owners clean up after their dogs but again there are plenty who do not. Maybe the Association needs to start enforcing the rules that helped make Indigo a great place to spend the Winter with family & friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyLouOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemming island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My family enjoyed a fantastic reunion and vacation last fall even when the Keys were experiencing lousy weather.
We stayed at the Indigo Reef Marina condo unit No.13. This beautifully appointed unit was perfectly stocked with all the necessities for a no hassles stay. It has large flat screen TVs’ in each room, the living room unit has Netflix, stocked with games and movies (a life saver with small kids if it's raining outside. Endless supply of hot water, which is great for long showers after diving for lobster each day. Comfortable beds in all rooms, especially the master bedroom which also has a great view.
The condo's location is just about as perfect as you can get, close to great restaurants, close to the airport, and close to the Vaca cut which gives access to either the bay side or Atlantic Ocean. The boat dock is excellent with hookups, water, and fish cleaning tables and offers great protection on windy days. The grounds are neatly maintained an professionally landscaped.

I highly recommend this location for a fantastic holiday away from the everyday life and to experience the “island getaway”.

Room Tip: Go to www.vrbo.com/368449 to make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
8.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Reef Marina Homes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Reef Marina Homes Resort

Property: Indigo Reef Marina Homes Resort
Address: 11600 1st Avenue Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-5001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indigo Reef Marina Homes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Indigo Reef Marina Homes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Reef Marina Homes Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing