We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kidding me.”
Review of Sea Dell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Dell Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2009

The place looks like a taco, isn't by the water and the grass was high.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank reenasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosecare, Manager at Sea Dell Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

Dear Ms. Smith - although our records do not show that you stayed with us in May 2009, we are sorry if you did indeed stay at our motel and were not happy. Please know that guest comfort is our most important priority. As your complaints are not specific, we hope that you will contact us to clarify so that we can address them for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Sea Dell Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 550 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

MY wife and i made our first trip to the keys from central florida. After driving all night and up all day we were quite exhausted and checked into the sea dell for the night.. The room was very nice for the price and we negoiated a discount for a four night stay. All rooms were non smoking ( we both smoke) and they provided a chair and ash tray just outside your door. However after checking out and returning home i checked my bank account and discovered the motel had CHARGED US A 250.00 smoking fee stating we smoked in our room which we never did.. The chairs and ash trays are located about 2 feet from your door and an AC unit just above your chair anytime anyone enters or exits the door will draw a trace of smoke into the room plus the AC draws in air from outside.. Doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure that out. We contacted the motel and was given a phone number for the motel owner to dispuit the charge and he was very head strong on still charging us for smoking inside. He told us the cleaning staff found ashes in the room which was a lie ..the staff gets a bonus for turning in a smoker in a room i found out.. The only thing i did was dump the ashtray in the little waste basket just inside the door. The sad thing is they are willing to believe the cleaning staff over a customer and my wife and i were planning a trip next year and staying at the sea dell but after this nightmare i would never consider it.. SO SMOKERS BEWARE ..MY suggestion is they need a patio away from the rooms for a smoking area..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stetson_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We picked the Sea Dell because of its location, half way to the keys. However, Marathon is nothing to shout about and in hindsight we should have pressed on to Key West and stayed there. The motel was fine, friendly staff, but not as nice as it looks in the photos, pretty basic rooms, tiny shower/loo/sink and THE noisiest air conditioning units anywhere, which if your a light sleeper will probably keep you awake. The pool however was very warm and a nice size for the children to splash about in with towels provided.
Marathon is very spread out and not many good places to eat, only stay there if you can't face the next 60 mile journey to key west

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a trip to Florida. I carefully checked out websites and we love the old mom and pop motels. So we took our chances with the SEA DELL. Upon our arrival we were given a map with local restaurants and beaches listed. Being the 4th of July we were told where the fireworks were going to be that night. We instantly fell in love with the tropical colors and the flowers surrounding it. We were on a budget and felt it was more important to have comfort and convenience than to spend a fortune on somewhere to sleep. The rooms are adorable, the staff so helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotless (compared to Budget Inn we stayed at upon our arrival in Naples. Here a Budget Inn and a cockroach in the bathroom. Shame on them!!! Next time we will drive to the SEA DELL after getting off the plane. Tired or not, raining cats and dogs, we'll make a B-line directly to the SEA DELL.) The SEA DELL was just adorable. We loved the soft towels which they replaced everyday and the bed linens were divine. I have already made plans to return either this holiday season or next summer. We're bringing more budget minded friends and relatives. Thank you to the staff of the SEA DELL for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celebrating25years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Sea Dell provides a great value for the keys. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. This has been our second stay at the Sea Dell and we plan to return. The rooms are well equipped. Our room had a small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlbit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and teenaged son stayed at the Sea Dell last summer for a couple nights. Here's the good stuff....the room was nice - super clean and comfortable. No complaints about the bed or the bath. I like vintage motels, and this one was a good one! The check in and out was fine, and the price was okay. I think we paid just over $100.00. But it's just a place to put your head down. It's right on the main highway. All the rooms I saw appeared the same to me. There was no privacy for sitting outside and the view was either the parking lot and highway or the parking lot and the highway. The pool is secluded from the Highway, but then again...right on the main road. You constantly here the traffic going by. We did take a swim or two and really enjoyed the pool. Again, this area was super clean. There were some creepy people in one of the rooms near the pool. They looked to me to be constuction workers or extended stayer's. Smoking and drinking outside of the room. Seemed unusual for a place like this. Made me uncomfortable and I wouldn't let me teen roam around on his own. I didn't complain to the management - one because we were leaving the next day and two because the people we in the room just across from the office and I feel they should have been aware. To sum it up....clean and cute, but if you want to enjoy inside and out of your place....I don't think this it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carb-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I had read all the good reviews before we booked this motel. They were all correct! When we checked in, I asked if we could have a room with a view of the courtyard. She told us that the one we booked was less expensive, and it would cost more for one of those rooms. But then upgraded us at no charge! The room was great, just what you would think of in the keys! Why pay more for a big chain hotel. The room we had included a full size refrigerator microwave even a little kitchen. Couldn't ask for any better! I liked it better then the Courtyard and the Hampton Inn's we stayed at! I have some digital videos of the motel, if anyone wants to see!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casper150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
795 reviews
1.9 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
1.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dell Motel

Address: 5000 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $111 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the "Old Keys" in a lush, tropical setting in Marathon - the "Heart of the Florida Keys". Beautifully furnished rooms. Refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers in each room. Hi-speed internet. Heated pool. BBQs and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Dell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dell Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing