We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Very Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Dell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Dell Motel
Ranked #3 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value, Very Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Sea Dell provides a great value for the keys. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. This has been our second stay at the Sea Dell and we plan to return. The rooms are well equipped. Our room had a small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlbit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    227
    63
    16
    6
See reviews for
139
277
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carb-lover
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and teenaged son stayed at the Sea Dell last summer for a couple nights. Here's the good stuff....the room was nice - super clean and comfortable. No complaints about the bed or the bath. I like vintage motels, and this one was a good one! The check in and out was fine, and the price was okay. I think we paid just over $100.00. But it's just a place to put your head down. It's right on the main highway. All the rooms I saw appeared the same to me. There was no privacy for sitting outside and the view was either the parking lot and highway or the parking lot and the highway. The pool is secluded from the Highway, but then again...right on the main road. You constantly here the traffic going by. We did take a swim or two and really enjoyed the pool. Again, this area was super clean. There were some creepy people in one of the rooms near the pool. They looked to me to be constuction workers or extended stayer's. Smoking and drinking outside of the room. Seemed unusual for a place like this. Made me uncomfortable and I wouldn't let me teen roam around on his own. I didn't complain to the management - one because we were leaving the next day and two because the people we in the room just across from the office and I feel they should have been aware. To sum it up....clean and cute, but if you want to enjoy inside and out of your place....I don't think this it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carb-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I had read all the good reviews before we booked this motel. They were all correct! When we checked in, I asked if we could have a room with a view of the courtyard. She told us that the one we booked was less expensive, and it would cost more for one of those rooms. But then upgraded us at no charge! The room was great, just what you would think of in the keys! Why pay more for a big chain hotel. The room we had included a full size refrigerator microwave even a little kitchen. Couldn't ask for any better! I liked it better then the Courtyard and the Hampton Inn's we stayed at! I have some digital videos of the motel, if anyone wants to see!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casper150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Not sure why the Sea Dell is listed in B&B, as there was no evidence of the second "B". This is a 50's style, right off the highway little motel. Our room was clean, looked to be freshly painted, but was pretty small. We paid $110 + tax for our small room, king bed, little fridge/micro, a table and two chairs. The bathroom was pretty dinky, no tub, but again - clean. The room was quiet, the A/C worked (important). The bed left a little to be desired as it seemed to have a center "divot" (sleepers rolled to the middle).

Staff was VERY friendly, and had a good suggestion for nearby breakfast joint.

All in all, this was an adequate place to stay. I probably would not have paid $110 if I had seen the room in advance. We didn't look, but my impression was that we were not very near the water. Marathon is a loooong "town", and there are a lot of lodging options. Without being able to compare, I won't "diss" the Sea Dell, but I would probably explore other lodging in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreainpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed three nights and found it to be clean quiet and friendly.
There are plenty of restaraunts and food/booze stores within walking distance and Big Pine and Bahia Honda keys are nearby for day trips.
Loverly pool and the BBQ grills are a great feature.
If you are looking for a bit of "Old Florida" at a good price, this is it.
It's about a 40 min drive to Key West, and a whole lot cheaper than staying there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof_Chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

My family and I just returned from a trip to the Florida Keys. We chose to stay in Marathon at the Sea Dell based on reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. We loved that the Sea Dell was VERY clean and affordable. Clean is extremely important to me. The kitchenette in the duplex with microwave, toaster, refrigerator, and oven was perfect and convenient for staying with children. You can see the water from the duplex and it is very quiet and serene. The staff was very sweet and accommodating. The landscaping around the buildings was pretty. We could not have been any happier staying anywhere else. In fact, we are already planning our trip back to the Sea Dell next year. Keep in mind, this rave review is coming from a person who usually will only stay at swanky resort-type places. (My husband thinks I am the biggest snob in that respect.) However, I will be looking forward to visiting the Sea Dell anytime we are back in Marathon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wifeofadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

We chose this motel because of the reviews on trip advisor but unfortunately it didn't come out top for us. We have no complaints about the room itself. It was perfectly adequate, very clean, had all we needed, and even the small bathroom posed no problems. The young lady on reception was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and she provided us with a list of restaurants and any directions we required.

The motel is situated on the main road, and even though we had one of the rooms furthest from the road we could still hear the traffic in the early hours of the morning. Also close by was something that sounded like a large generator which constantly went on and off. It was the same on both nights we stayed there.

The public beach, a short drive away, was very nice and had ample free parking. We tried Castaways restaurant and the food was excellent. There was plenty of accomodation available throughout the Keys and had we have not pre-booked and pre-paid we would have found something more suitable for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.9 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dell Motel

Property: Sea Dell Motel
Address: 5000 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the "Old Keys" in a lush, tropical setting in Marathon - the "Heart of the Florida Keys". Beautifully furnished rooms. Refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers in each room. Hi-speed internet. Heated pool. BBQs and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Dell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dell Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing