We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and reasonable accommodation”
Review of Sea Dell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Dell Motel
Ranked #3 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable accommodation”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Marathon is a fine location to stay if you have not the budget for Key West. Sea Dell Motel is in a good location on the main highway. I thought it was expensive for the size of the bedroom, however it is very much the going rate for the Florida Keys. So it good enough my three night stay and I would use it again. Staff were good and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    228
    63
    16
    6
See reviews for
139
279
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in the duplex by the waterfront, and were pleasantly surprised. Little kitchenette, sitting area, comfy beds, huge shower, a grill and picnic table outside. There were five adults and the place was large enough so we weren't falling over each other. About an hour drive to Key West, a 5 minute trip to Sombrero Beach, and plenty of restaurants and shopping close by. Reasonably priced, very clean, accommodating staff, would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Places to stay in Marathon can easily be in the $300-$400 range. While that buys you a fancier place to stay the Sea Dell is a good, clean, convenient place to stay in Marathon. We stayed in room number two with a king bed, sofa, small dining table, sink, mini frig and microwave. Again not fancy but comfortable. Close to the pool which we used frequently. Friendly staff and the room was cleaned each day of our stay. We paid $139 a night in February but it is only $109 in January and a steal at that price. We enjoyed using the money we saved by staying at Sea Dell to do kayaking and snorkeling trips and eating at some very nice restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank columbiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Not much to add to what others had to say, but wanted to say that our room was very nice. We definitely felt it more than worth what we paid for a night there.

It does have the feel of what it must have been like before the big hotels arrived. The bed was comfortable and the shower very spacious. The entire unit was clean. The person who checked us in was very informative and took a great deal of time discussing restaurants with us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandparent51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night en route between Key Largo and Key West, and wished we'd been able to stay longer. It's exactly what you imagine an American motel would be like, with lots of 1960s character but modern conveniences, including excellent free wifi. The young man in the office was friendly and helpful, volunteering information on good restaurants and the wonderful Sombrero public beach, where we swam the following day. There was also a sign up saying which local bars had live music on that night. I liked the motel's coral walls and the matching hibiscus flowers planted by each room. We stayed in Room 3, which had an enormous bed. The room and bathroom were dated but clean and in good working order, and there was a coffee machine, which we really appreciated next morning. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Parking was easy, right opposite the room. We slept well and couldn't hear the road or any neighbours. As well as being handy for Sombrero beach the motel is close to a Wallgreen and Publix, as well as lots of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloghopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Marathon is a good compromise when deciding where to stay in the Keys. It is only an hour to Key West so you don't need to pay Key West prices. The Sea Dell is an old style motel and in need of refurbishment but fine for a couple of nights. The rooms are clean if rather small. The bed was comfortable but we didn't get much sleep one night because of noise from next door. However not really the fault of motel management.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed this old style Florida Keys Motel. Marathon's proximity to Key West and the rest of the Keys worked well for us. With just a bit of additional attention this motel could be great. In particular the bathroom was in need of some TLC. Old, dirty and moldy grouting could easily be replaced and would make the place so much more appealing. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there are lots of restaurants and stores nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.9 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dell Motel

Property: Sea Dell Motel
Address: 5000 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the "Old Keys" in a lush, tropical setting in Marathon - the "Heart of the Florida Keys". Beautifully furnished rooms. Refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers in each room. Hi-speed internet. Heated pool. BBQs and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Sea Dell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dell Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing