We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!”

Island Fish Company
Ranked #24 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were trying to find a place for lunch and found the Island Fish Company. Service was terrific, the fresh catch and conch chowder were fabulous. Would definitely return for another meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    930
    380
    152
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
610 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped to let traffic die down. Ate the shrimp platter and sweet tea. The food was very good. Had to wait a little bit to get waited on but once the server came , it went very well. Only bad thing was the sweet tea. Must have been instant cause it tasted like sea water. Yuk !!! Other than the tea, it was a good place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Kirby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Views, Friendly Service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After a disappointing start to our dinner plans we chose Island Fish Co on a whim. We are so glad we did! The menu is HUGE with lots to choose from (even our picky eater found something they enjoyed) and the deep fried key lime pie was amazing! Our food arrived quickly and our server was very friendly as well. Overall this restaurant saved our dinner plans! The amazing view and setting made it that much better!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Ate here on Christmas. Was supposed to be a perfect romantic meal however we were completely disappointed. Our service was terrible. The waiter forgot to put in my entree order and it ended up coming 20 minutes late, so we ate our entrees separately. The place was extremely noisy even though we asked for a quiet spot. It was very windy blowing things off of our table. The staff refused to pull down the plastic screens because they said a group was eating outside and they didnt want to make them feel "separated", so the rest of us suffered. The apps we got were Tuna Tataki and Conch Ceviche which were both terrible. The lobster bisque however was truly amazing (the one saving grace). Our entrees were average at best, but again, they were served 20 minutes apart. We came away with a $140 bill and a bad taste in our mouths. I would never return here. The worst dining experience in 2 weeks in the keys for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mk7169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband, daughter and I loved this place!! We went for lunch 1 day and breakfast a day or 2 later. We enjoyed the location on the water, the tiki hut looking restaurant, the food and the service. All were exceptional!! We would definitely go back here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing