We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical "vacation" resturant”

Island Fish Company
Ranked #28 of 95 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stopped for lunch. The restaurant was not really any different than you average "resort" type of place, a little overpriced but has a nice outdoor marina view. The spinach salad was great and also the conch dinner. If you like average "resort" dining the place is great. We live on a resort island so it wasn't different than eating at home. Over the bathroom entrance was actually a sign for our town in SC!

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eugene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,288 - 2,292 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was our second visit here and it did not disappoint. The calamari is absolutely wonderful. The hog fish was also fantastic. The atmosphere was friendly and pleasant. Dining area is open and breezy. Can't wait to go back again.

Date of visit: December 2013
Thank BethP823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stopped in for a late night bite and asked for a mango frozen margarita , conch chowder and crab cakes. The conch chowder was one of the most boring conch chowders I have had in Florida.. The mango margarita was good but tasted a bit odd. The crab cakes were very good but there was a small pile of lettuce with carrots next to the crab cakes. What disappointed me was the lettuce tasted like BAGGED lettuce right out of the bag. YUCK. That is a really little thing but it really turned me off . Why can't a restaurant use fresh produce, freshly washed ?
I would try it again however. The atmophere was VERY NICE and the wait staff was very attentive and very friendly

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LucyLou128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We ate here three times on a recent vacation. This waterfront restaurant had really superb beer-steamed shrimp and fried plantains. We also had a good oyster poboy. The stone crab claws were good, but somewhat small portion for the price. My husband said the fried shrimp were just okay. Service was fast and friendly. The ambience is nice and I highly recommend those beer-steamed shrimp as among the best I've ever had. Ask for butter and lemon with them. You won't be sorry.

Date of visit: November 2013
Thank TallyWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We visited for lunch on a rainy weekday. The hostess was indifferent if not rude. The waitress had a forced smile--made me think there is poor management at this establishment. Food was average and service was average. Food was over-priced.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing