We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just drinks but were yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Fish Company

Island Fish Company
Ranked #18 of 89 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just drinks but were yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped by on our way to Key West just for a drink. We ordered their Key Lime Coladas. They were truly one of the best drinks we had on our entire vacation from Miami to Key West. It was sweet but not overpowering and just the right amount of Key Lime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funfamily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    948
    818
    327
    131
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

You must try the stuffed hogfish! it's incredible! The food was fresh and the portions generous! incredible sunset view!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new lower Keys favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We're in the Keys for our annual vacation, and after a grocery run to the best Publix supermarket in a 50 mile radius, with groceries in the cooler, we find ourselves hungry. Torrential downpour brings 5 foot visibility on the roads, and we start talking about waiting out the storm and grabbing a bite. Never been to Island Fish Company in Marathon, it looked always busy, and now we found out why.

Our luck, a parking spot opened just as we pulled in, and in front of the main entrance. We walk in, and after getting our bearings, we opt to sit at the bar instead of sitting waterfront and getting wet. It's a little cooler there too.

The bartender Jordan welcomes us, informs us of the specials and takes our drink order. They had something I hadn't seen or experienced in easy 25 years, since I was on the Ku'Damm in Berlin one summer. They offered a fruit juice infused beer called Steigl Radler, which was very refreshing and different. Long before "Arnold Palmers", summertime in Germany you'd find many different beer and fruit juice offerings that beat the heat and offered a light beverage to enjoy. This was an instant hit!

We started with the crab cheese dip, went on to the seafood quesadilla and fish sandwich, and had an incredibly great meal in a wonderful atmosphere, reasonable prices, great service, who could ask for more?

How about the deep fried Key Lime Pie? Curiosity got the better of me, and we tried it. Coated in a light batter, deep fried, and covered with cinnamon and sugar, it was definitely different, delicious, and eerily reminded of us of that tasty delicacy found at Mardi Gras in New Orleans, King Cake! Portion was too big for us to finish, it covered the sweet tooth need properly.

Happy hour specials, food's phenomenal, service was great, definitely a new lower keys favorite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margarita_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice views, ok food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This restaurant was right across from the holiday inn where we were staying, so we decided to try it. The food was ok, but it was very expensive for what you get. The service was so so, and our waiter seemed like he was doing us a favor by dealing with us. After we ate there was a nice area to walk around by the water and take pictures of the sunset.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OutOfOffice4Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Marathon restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Waterfront restaurant with great keys atmosphere and good food. Nice place to sit and enjoy the easy pace of the keys. We recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FortLauderdaleCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing