We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2013 Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Fish Company

Island Fish Company
Ranked #22 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“March 2013 Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although extremely busy, it turned out to be a great location for our final night in Marathon. We had a sunset view for the first time all week, and the food and service were just right. Thanks!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rabdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    903
    361
    149
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“View doesn't make up for average fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited during Spring Break week, so the crowds were large when we were there. The wait was short and we were seated by the water on a picnic bench. Not really what I expected but fitting for the area. Service was lacking, food was standard fare and we were in and out quickly. Not really a dining experience but in line for the price and location. Don't think I will be back anytime soon unless we are looking for a bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiho34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The Dollar Store"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited first visited the Island Fish Co. two years ago during Happy Hour when my husband and son-in-law nicked-named it the "Dollar Store" for their price for a draft beer!! My husband and I recently revisited Marathon and this time went there for supper. We were seated outside on a beautiful evening and enjoyed excellent service and food. We were even treated to a beautiful sunset as we finished our meal - how much better does life get?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank himone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fish was great and so was service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first but not last visit to Island Fish. It was a very busy Holiday weekend but we were seated and had service right away. This place has both indoor and outside seating. Outside fills up pretty fast as you can imagine because it faces the bay side and is right on the water. The inside is all open so you can get that fresh air feeling anyway. They have a big bar area in a separate section. The fried calamari is one of the best I have had. Love the banana peppers. The fish tacos were very good as was the seafood quesidilla. We didn't get to the outside dock but I believe you could come here in a small boat. Our waitress Erin was very good even when we had someone join us late in the meal. This is a good place to come with a crowd as well because they have picnic tables that can seat quite a few people if needed. Price's were very average with the area. If we were around I would have gone back for Dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tfssnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food and Island View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is the second time I have eaten here and have found consistently good quality in the food and you can enjoy nice keys water views while you eat. They also have a nice bar. Burgers are big and juicy and served with fries and cole slaw. My wife had a tossed green salad topped with a coconut crusted yellow tail fillet which she said was excellent. Others in our group had quesadillas and one had a grouper fillet sandwich. Everyone enjoyed their food. Service was a bit slow, but in fairness they were slammed with spring breakers. This is a great place to eat after a visit to the Dolphin Research Center which is just a few miles further north.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing