We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're on your own.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Clean property, conveniently located in the heart of Marathon. Units are spacious, clean and moderately appointed. Negatives include having to repeatedly ask for clean beach towels. Multiple visits to the front desk and requests to housekeeping did not resolve the problem. We weren't able to communicate with the housekeeper because she wouldn't get off her cellphone. Not even while she was wet mopping over our children's shoes ..... while they were still wearing them. The property seems void of supervision. The "adults only" serenity pool was frequently overrun by families with diaper clad toddlers oblivious to the "adult only" sings. At the cost of $450-500/ night, there are many other luxury options in the Keys.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opuskoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,023 - 3,029 of 3,460 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

Enjoyed our stay very much. We are a family of 5 with children ages 12, 10, and 6. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit where the living /dining/ kitchen areas were more than adequate in size. The bedrooms are small but fit our needs and were adequate. Beds were comfortable except our bed in the master bedroom was very squeaky. My husband is very tall and weighs well over 200 lbs so slight movements make the bed squeak. It didn't bother us enough to complain about it.

A few suggestions: It would be nice to have some bar/snack service by the pool. Towels by the pool would also be nice (pool towels were provided in our unit though so not a big deal). My daughter mentioned that it would be nice to have ceiling fans on the porch and balcony. One major suggestion would be to offer free use of kayaks and paddle boats (there were none there but would be nice to have). I understand paying for motorized equipment but the use of kayaks should be part of the resort fee. Rentals were offered but at ridiculous prices. We've stayed at several other waterfront resorts and these are available to hotel guests for free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyloves2travel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

fabulous location in the middle keys. the beach is private and the sand and sun are awesome. great place to rent equipment for water sports. great, friendly staff. fabulous pina coloda at the Tiki Bar
best unit is unit #1 -- tucked away and totally private

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltheglobe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Tranquility bay is a top noch resort absolutely beautiful the staff was also great!!!! The villa's are a perfect home away from home and I am very spoiled. when you walk in the down stairs is very roomy and very comfortable the kitchen very nice with granite counter-tops and all luxuary of home loved sitting on the deck very relaxing to relaxing for my kids they were bord. They do have water sports jet ski's boats but it gets a bit pricey tring to keep then intertained. But the resort is the best any where in the keys the beds sooo comforttable!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyfuninthesun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful vacation, once again, staying @ Tranquility Bay. We traveled here last year w/ a groiup of adults and decided to return w/ our teenage boys this year. They loved it!

The unit we were assigned (#10) was less than average but Bob took care of us once we brought it to his attention. He moved us to another unit that was just great. Singh Resorts should be glad to havesomeone like Bob running this resort. He always looks out for the guests best interest. He took care of us last year as well. We were thrilled to see he was still there when we arrived:)

I need to mention Otis and Gersom @ the front desk. They were so helpful w/ anything we needed and such happy people, too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

stayed in a 3 bedroom on the beach. fantastic view and location. beachfront near lagoon. safe, secure lagoon for kids to play snorkeling, finding hermit crabs. nice large pool. interesting big lizards around pool. rooms are great. nicely furnished, kid friendly, great kitchen. must try at the tiki hut: cosmopolitan. best i have ever had. well equipped fitness room. must tries: island fish co restaurant, annette's restaurant, panda chinese

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopVeroBeach_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed here for a week during spring break. The resort and grounds are absolutely breathtaking. Our stay was peaceful and very relaxing. There was a girl at the front desk that gave us great recommendations for dinner(sorry i can't remember her name), as well as Otis and Gersum at check-in and out were fabulous. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
19.6 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $240 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing