We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I along with our 1 year old just came back from 5 wonderful days at TB.
Our 2 bedroom water view unit #55 was absolutely perfect. Bedrooms upstairs with balconies, master looking over the beautiful landscape and to the water. The fully stocked kitchen was perfect. Very clean on arrival and cleaned daily. The TB grounds were very well maintained, beautiful and very lush. The adult pool was an excellent escape for some R&R or to enjoy a book. The lagoon style pool was awesome for our daughter who does not know how to swim yet but was able to splash and run around in the zero-entry portion of the pool. The beach was wonderful as well. Plenty of chairs and palm trees for shade. Some days were better than others as far as the seaweed, but that is what you get when you go to the ocean. By no means was it ever a major issue while we were there. Water conditions are day to day, you have to blame that one on mother-nature! Oh and never once did we smell any kind of odor either. Another note I would like to mention is the fact that the Keys are not known for their beaches. Beautiful waters, diving, fishing yes... On these coral based islands its rare to find a good beach with a sandy water entrance, most are man-made. TB did a great job at their property. The tiki bar was a bit pricey but for a drink or a special lunch overlooking the water and beach made it all worth it. We did not get to try out Butterfly Café but we peeked in and would have gone if we didn’t have our one year old with us. My husband was able to go scuba diving thanks to Captain Hooks. We ate at and bought stone crabs from Key Fisheries which were out of this world! We also checked out a few comparable properties from Key Largo down to Marathon and TB was by far the best one. Hawks Cay was very nice as well but big and very overwhelming property. We have been to several Caribbean countries and this trip was just as great if not better than our past destinations. We will definitely be going back next spring to TB.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,961 - 2,967 of 3,361 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were looking for a resort type accomodation in the Keys and found there was fairly limited choices. Either it was 50 year old "effeciencies" or new expensive resorts. We opted to buck up for Tranquility Bay and were not disappointed. TB condos, grounds, and pools were beautiful. We stayed for a week and had three pool days were we lounged around soaked up some sun. Although ocean front the water was quite cool and there was lots of sea weed along the shore so it was not very inviting to jump in. We did rent seadoo's from the marina and the Tiki bar was a nice spot to have a drink. The location was great, right at the north end of 7 mile bridge and it was only a couple of miles to Public's. Overall TB was perfect for the type of vacation we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We just got back from Marathon having never gone to the keys before. I almost cancelled this hotel because of the reviews on this site in March. I can tell you this group of grandparents, parents and teens in 2 units, had a great time. The check in staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were GREAT! We had a 2 BR and a 3 BR and liked them both, very spacious, modern, well appointed and CLEAN!!! That had been on some of the reviews.

Gerson was very helpful for information about the area, restaurants, beaches etc. He is a real asset to the resort. The pools are great, clean, lots of chairs, large. The beach bar does a great job and the cleaning staff were friendly and did a great job.

The on site restaurant was excellent! We each had a tremendous meal and we were a party of 7, they did a nice job for our 11 year old's birthday as well.

The only limitation is the beach. The sand is great, the view fantastic, and there was no smell despite complaints on this site, however, it is not the Carribean. You can not wade into perfect sand, perfect temperature water, snorkle off the resort area etc. The hotels beach area is ok for smaller children, not much for adults. They do have water sports equipment available for getting out on the ocean. Better beaches are driveable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We weren't staying at the resort but, I had done some research looking for a nice place for a special dinner to celebrate an engagement, fiftieth birthday, and recovery from an illness. The staff at Tranquility Bay were fabulous. Chris helped do the advance work setting up some surprise dessert trays. The bartender at the beach bar went out of her way to get us a special champagne. Doug and Serban made our dinner spectacular with great recommendations and great stories. It will be a night we will all remember. The setting is also unbelievably beautiful. Next visit I think we will stay there. Don't miss the key lime pie. We went back two days later and bought a whole pie to take back to our place. Thank you all for making the experience so great. We may be back for the wedding.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We did not stay here, but enjoyed a nice dinner at the restaurant. Bob at the front reception was very helpful and accomodating. Doug (Mr. Nice as my daughter called him) was a wonderful host and very accomodatng to my 2 year old daughter. The view was wonderful and the service from our waitress Valeria was wonderful. If ever back in Marathon we will definitley being staying at this resort!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We have just returned from TB after having spent 5 days there.

We LOVED the resort. We have two small children - 4 and 6 -- and were hoping to find a casual resort where they could be themselves.

TB is the perfect setup for families: the townhouses allow you to cook some of the meals and provide a comfortable, spacious living environment.

There are not a lot of frills: no extra towels poolside and no bar (you have to walk to the Tiki bar, beachside - not too much of an inconvenience!). But the site is well maintained and your condo is cleaned daily.

The rooms are super clean which is really important to us; all new furnishings and high-end amenities. Budget another $50 +/- for daily resort fees & taxes.

Rates vary wildly, but if you can do this resort reasonably, it's the best in the keys for families!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandrianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Just got back from five beautiful days at Tranquility Bay. The resort is beautiful. Service was fine. The younger kids loved it . The teenage boys were a little bored at night. If there would have been girls they would have been fine. Unfortunately, there were heavy winds so boating and any good fishing was out. And that was nature against the big boys. I would highly recommend going to Rainbow Bend Hideaway Cafe for dinner, it was adult outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roccodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
19.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $245 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing