We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility Bay met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tranquility Bay met expectations”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were looking for a resort type accomodation in the Keys and found there was fairly limited choices. Either it was 50 year old "effeciencies" or new expensive resorts. We opted to buck up for Tranquility Bay and were not disappointed. TB condos, grounds, and pools were beautiful. We stayed for a week and had three pool days were we lounged around soaked up some sun. Although ocean front the water was quite cool and there was lots of sea weed along the shore so it was not very inviting to jump in. We did rent seadoo's from the marina and the Tiki bar was a nice spot to have a drink. The location was great, right at the north end of 7 mile bridge and it was only a couple of miles to Public's. Overall TB was perfect for the type of vacation we were looking for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    640
    245
    121
    79
See reviews for
1,711
874
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We just got back from Marathon having never gone to the keys before. I almost cancelled this hotel because of the reviews on this site in March. I can tell you this group of grandparents, parents and teens in 2 units, had a great time. The check in staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were GREAT! We had a 2 BR and a 3 BR and liked them both, very spacious, modern, well appointed and CLEAN!!! That had been on some of the reviews.

Gerson was very helpful for information about the area, restaurants, beaches etc. He is a real asset to the resort. The pools are great, clean, lots of chairs, large. The beach bar does a great job and the cleaning staff were friendly and did a great job.

The on site restaurant was excellent! We each had a tremendous meal and we were a party of 7, they did a nice job for our 11 year old's birthday as well.

The only limitation is the beach. The sand is great, the view fantastic, and there was no smell despite complaints on this site, however, it is not the Carribean. You can not wade into perfect sand, perfect temperature water, snorkle off the resort area etc. The hotels beach area is ok for smaller children, not much for adults. They do have water sports equipment available for getting out on the ocean. Better beaches are driveable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, MS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We weren't staying at the resort but, I had done some research looking for a nice place for a special dinner to celebrate an engagement, fiftieth birthday, and recovery from an illness. The staff at Tranquility Bay were fabulous. Chris helped do the advance work setting up some surprise dessert trays. The bartender at the beach bar went out of her way to get us a special champagne. Doug and Serban made our dinner spectacular with great recommendations and great stories. It will be a night we will all remember. The setting is also unbelievably beautiful. Next visit I think we will stay there. Don't miss the key lime pie. We went back two days later and bought a whole pie to take back to our place. Thank you all for making the experience so great. We may be back for the wedding.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We did not stay here, but enjoyed a nice dinner at the restaurant. Bob at the front reception was very helpful and accomodating. Doug (Mr. Nice as my daughter called him) was a wonderful host and very accomodatng to my 2 year old daughter. The view was wonderful and the service from our waitress Valeria was wonderful. If ever back in Marathon we will definitley being staying at this resort!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana8884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We have just returned from TB after having spent 5 days there.

We LOVED the resort. We have two small children - 4 and 6 -- and were hoping to find a casual resort where they could be themselves.

TB is the perfect setup for families: the townhouses allow you to cook some of the meals and provide a comfortable, spacious living environment.

There are not a lot of frills: no extra towels poolside and no bar (you have to walk to the Tiki bar, beachside - not too much of an inconvenience!). But the site is well maintained and your condo is cleaned daily.

The rooms are super clean which is really important to us; all new furnishings and high-end amenities. Budget another $50 +/- for daily resort fees & taxes.

Rates vary wildly, but if you can do this resort reasonably, it's the best in the keys for families!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandrianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Just got back from five beautiful days at Tranquility Bay. The resort is beautiful. Service was fine. The younger kids loved it . The teenage boys were a little bored at night. If there would have been girls they would have been fine. Unfortunately, there were heavy winds so boating and any good fishing was out. And that was nature against the big boys. I would highly recommend going to Rainbow Bend Hideaway Cafe for dinner, it was adult outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed here in mid March for spring break. Friendly and effortless check-in. Our 2 bed, 2 1/2 bath condo was beautifully decorated and very clean. The kitchen was well equiped including granite counter tops. Great pool areas (one adult only) and nice beach with lounges and Tiki Bar. Water sport rentals right on site. The Butterfly Cafe had wonderful food and good service. Plenty of stores and restaurants nearby. Do not miss the sea turtle hospital, right next door. This is the place to stay if you are looking for more than just a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOLTGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
19.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing