We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value. Great location. Beautiful accomodations. we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value. Great location. Beautiful accomodations. we'll be back!”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We loved the location in the Middle Keys. This was perfect as it was just over an hour out of Miami and and hour from Key West. The Condo was a great value for this area. The condo had a kitchen fully stocked with the basic pots and pans. This is a perfect setting for families. The pool is beautiful.
Be sure to visit Robbie's Tarpon feeding in Islomorada, Sombraro Beach in Marathon, Smathers Beach in Key West and Bahia Honda state park.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonaglia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,148
    628
    239
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,672
862
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

So surprised at some of the negative reviews of this great little place - we had a 2-bedroom unit, #55; at first I was sorry we weren't staying right on the beach, but we ended up preferring the location we had. Our unit was immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and comfortable. We saw not a single ant or bug of any kind and our experience with the housekeeping and check-in was excellent. We had 2 large porches, upstairs and down, with terrific views to the water across the beautifully landscaped grounds. We didn't eat at the resort - we rarely do, as a rule, because often the food at resorts is overpriced and mediocre. (Thanks to great Trip Advisor helpers, we found a lot of great, on the water places to eat.) The pool area was outstanding - lots of chaises and umbrellas and clean, warm water - we were at the "no kids/no cell phones pool", so it was peaceful and we had it to ourselves for the 2 hours we used it. (Thanks, TB - really didn't miss the rousing sounds of "MARCO!"...."POLO!") The beach area was large and nice - white sand that was extensively cleaned every morning. The complaints about the beach are kind of silly - I was told the beaches here are man-made, in that sand is brought in, but this is NOT the Bahamas - however, with minimal research, anyone coming here should already know that. We loved the location of Marathon - perfect for trips to Key West, close to kayaking, restaurants, grocery etc. We also liked the feel of Marathon itself - maybe since it originated as a fishing town, it has little of that phony overblown overdeveloped feel of so many beach towns. We would definitely go back - cannot imagine nicer, roomier, more beautiful accomodations - we feel that way even after touring Hawks Key on the way home....felt like kiddie land Disneyworld there!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauaiinmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The three bedroom villas are a parent's dream. One room for the parents, one for the kids, and another so you can bring grandma to help take care of the kids while you are there. We came with our two young children (2 year old and an infant) and the 2 year old never tired of playing at the beach and swimming in the beautiful pool.

The views from our beach villa were fabulous and the villa felt very private. The villas are laid out very well with a large open downstairs with a good size kitchen, nice dining area, and living room. The bedrooms upstairs have balconies, and the master bedroom is spacious. The other bedrooms are smaller but adequate with closets and dressers to settle in to.

There are a few things I'd recommend that management improve to make it even better:
1. Add towel service at the pool and beach. Just a place to pick up towels and drop off used ones. Depending on where your room is, it can be a bit of a walk to get to the pool and shuttling towels back and forth, along with kids and other stuff it just too much hassle.
2. Sweep the downstairs floor every day. We are fine with only having a complete cleaning every 4th day, but it is impossible to keep sand out of the main floor even if you remove your shoes at the door. This sand inside really bothered us. At least provide a broom so that we could sweep ourselves. And in between guests, a full mopping is needed, not just using a swiffer which is what I observed the cleaning staff using.
3. Change the lightbulbs. They've put 3-way bulbs in one-way lamps, such that the lamps are all burning at 150 watts which is way too bright to be pleasant. We went out and bought 60 watt bulbs to make our stay more pleasant. For the upstairs rooms, I wish I had bought 40 watt because with the white walls it is still very bright when you are trying to read in bed at night.
4. Add a few other kitchen items, particularly serving bowls and salt and pepper. It is great to cook in the kitchen, but we've had to serve meals out of the pots.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyday310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2009

My trip at Tranquility Bay was all work. Looking to have my wedding is extremely time consuming. I met summer who was amazing. Ahahaahha (number ONE) She seemed Kind of a Big Deal… But the resort it self was absolutely amazing. She was setting up for a wedding and did not have much time, but helped with what she could. She recommended the Café for dinner and mentioned the service and staff was amazing. I loved how beautiful it was and peaceful. We did notice some sea grass, which is normal for looking at a spot on the ocean. They were raking it out as we walked by. The sand was nice through our toes and the view was breath taking. I plan to head down a lot to visit as much as I can in the next year… See you all again in a bit. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armani007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We made our first visit to the Keys in November 2008 and had a great time. We stayed in unit 78 at Tranquility Bay which was awesome. It's the farthest forward of all the units so you feel like you're in your own private beach house. Looking out from the porch the Gulf is right there, as is the white sand beach. The view from the porch and the master suite looks like something from a postcard. The decor is very modern and beautiful, the living area very spacious and I loved the granite counter tops in the kitchen. The bedrooms besides the master are small but I'm glad they put the extra space in the living area instead. A much better use of prime real estate. All the comforts of home with a wide screen TV, cable etc. The grounds and pool are beautiful and very well kept. The Tiki Bar which is right on the Gulf had great food, a clear windbreaker they can lower so you can enjoy the view even if the weather is cool, and a great view. It is right by the wave runners, sailboats, runabouts and kayaks so you didn't have to drive somewhere to be able to get water toys. We ate at the Butterfly Cafe one of the nights. Pricey, but you get what you pay for. The food was awesome. A real elegant feel and menu. I really felt pampered. Strange name for a restaurant as it is not a Cafe by any means, at night anyway. Other nights we hit many of the fun restaurants in the Keys and had a fish fry at the unit one night from fish we'd caught on a flat boat fishing trip. We took a day trip to Key West one afternoon which was really fun too. We should have left earlier in the day as there was more to see and do than we had time for. All in all a wonderful trip and a great resort.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We went for February break with our two young kids (7 and 4). The condo was clean and nice--fit our needs perfectly. In six days, we had only one problem getting the condo cleaned and had to call (three times) to get it done. Otherwise, the house keeping was fine. The front-desk staff is poorly trained. They were nice enough--just consistently clueless. At one point I was told by the front desk that there is a hiring freeze, and therefore they are understaffed (this was during a conversation about getting our condo cleaned). I would say that not only are they understaffed, they are under trained. Still, the food is excellent and the waitstaff is very friendly. The lagoon pool and putting green are great for kids. The room service is terrific. My biggest complaint is that the kids' camp is NOT as advertised. THERE IS NO KIDS CAMP, per se. There is an opportunity to hire the outsourced water-sports provider to give your kids "private" scuba/snorkeling lessons for 3 hours in the pool (charged per child), but other than that, there is nothing for small kids as far as camps. That was a major disappointment for us. And, it was very hard to figure out what exactly was offered once we got there, because the front-desk staff is so completely clueless about what actually goes on at the resort. In fact, it took two days to get a straight story about what was actually offered for kids. We considered using the in-room spa services, but they were extremely overpriced, so we did not. The gym facilities are sufficient and clean, but nothing fancy. We were able to use them every day without any difficulties. Another big complaint is that when we booked the condo, we first asked whether any wedding events would be held during our stay (we booked about 1 month in advance--plenty of time for them to know if any big wedding would take place). We were told that no events would be happening, so we agreed to book a condo facing the lagoon pool. On the Sat. of our stay, we were told that we could only use the pool until 1 PM because there was a private "event" that night. Turns out the "event" was a wedding. After a lengthy discussion with the management about assurances made to us during our booking, we were allowed to use the lagoon pool until 5 PM and then we were given adequate compensation for the inconvenience. I want to recommend this resort to friends, but I cannot do so without caveats...there's just no guarantee that it will be a good experience. They need to do some serious work on their customer service, consistency, and employee training before they are truly a resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelingMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My family and I went for a family wedding the weekend of 2/20. We were in a 2 bedroom townhouse facing the larger pool.

From check-in, the staff seemed frazzled and completely unaware of the events of the wedding that weekend. The woman checking us in seemed completely flustered. My family and I had to wait an hour to get into our room even though we arrived WAY after normal check-in. The problem was that they just didn't have confirmation that the house was clean. The house was probably less than 100 feet fromm the reservation desk but no one could step away to check it and decided to keep us waiting instead. After driving for 4 hours to get there, the last thing we wanted was to wait another hour before we could unpack and relax.

The hotel arranged a shuttle for the guests to take them to the rehearsal dinner. The shuttle dropped us off at the WRONG RESTAURANT. We were finally picked up and taken to the correct location but were over an hour late. I had left a message for the manager, but there was NO follow-up.

The townhouse itself very clean and the decor was nice. We liked the L'Occitane bath products. The bedrooms are very small. It is basically just room for the beds. The bathrooms are also crowded. Linens were average. Overall the house was very clean. Even with the group rate that we secured with the wedding, I found the rates to be very high.

If my family were to visit the Keys again, we would definitely not stay at this resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dotska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing