We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a beautifully appointed 3 bedroom villa- very well furnished, great linen, altogether very comfortable. The beach and quiet pool were also of a very high standard. Unfortunately the physical qualities of the property were not quite matched by operations. Housekeeping was very haphazard, often taking hours to fulfill simple requests like providing coffee filters or cutlery. The fornt desk, while charming, semmed disinterested in addressing the inadequacies.

Room Tip: the beach rooms might be preferable i.e. quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,126
    624
    237
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,664
852
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was the most beautiful location to stay in while in Marathon on our family vacation. It is very family friendly, has a beautiful view, and offers spacious cottages for families to stay in. My family was very much looking forward to this great summer trip and we were having a wonderful time….

…until I tried to go to sleep the first night on the pull-out couch, and was shocked to see that the bed springs were broken and therefore the mattress had fallen in half, the mattress was stained with rust, but even better BLOOD SPOTS. When we called the front desk, they "politely" informed us that "Pull-out couches are not offered as a sleeping arrangement, and if they work great, but if not, "sorry.""

Well to say this was the worst way to approach a customer service issue is an understatement. However, being that this was the first night, my family and I looked past the minor road bump and were still excited to be here and enjoy the amenities and activities the hotel had to offer…

…taking me to my next so "wonderful" experience. My family and I rented paddle boards and a jet ski for the afternoon and were having an absolute blast!! We were out for about 45 minutes when some unfortunate weather happened upon us, as it so often does in the summer time in Florida…no big deal, right? When my mom took my niece and I back to the lagoon on the jet ski and asked the guy who had been renting everyone the equipment for the day to go out and collect everyone else, because it was starting to thunder, he "moaned" and replied, "REALLY?" To make the situation even better, he went out on the jet ski we had rented, and came back 10 minutes later with the paddle board ONLY!! That is correct, he did not come back with my dad, my sixteen year-old niece, or my boyfriend, but only the equipment that he was responsible for.

Now if you were to ask me if I were to EVER stay at Tranquility Resort after the extremely rude, unprofessional customer service we were given on night one and now the awful experience of renting a jet ski and paddle boards, and not even being helped when the weather conditions made it unsafe to be in open water, let alone outdoors, the answer is ABSOLUTELY NOT. I will recommend this "resort" to NO ONE and will make sure you have ZERO business from all my friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
23 Thank MoBo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom beach house. One of the guest bedroom's floor was not cleaned when we moved in. It was not on the second day... We had to call front desk to replace our wet/used towels. We stayed in different hotels from Vermont to California, never ever had to do our dishes. Here, the housekeeping is not doing it for you:( "You are welcome to put them into the dishwasher" as the front desk told to me when I called them. For $400???? Really???
They did not replace paper towel, sugar, etc. for coffee, empty the trash unless we called front desk.
Very nice property, good pools, excellent restaurant, but they need to improve housekeeping. We came here to relax, not to do dishes and definitely, we should not supervise the cleaning crew. They should not try to be our friends, clearly, they will not be. They should serve us with out any phone calls to the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariann19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in June. Comfortable and spacious town home. Easy access to beach, pool, Tiki Bar and sunsets. We drove all over the a Keys and with this as our home base the outings were perfect. All adults and kids slept well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We did not get to stay at the ACUAL resort, but it looked very nice, comfortable, and convenient. The beach was great. We were on the beach because the tiki bar seating was there, and that was where we were eating. Now, about the beach. There were cdoos (water scooters) that looked fun. The sand was white and soft. But, the acual food was great too. It was very yummy. I wish we stayed at the resort!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We reserved one of the rooms in the new section, so not one of the villas. Our reservation was for a Friday check in for two nights. We were not able to get access to the room until almost 5:00 on Friday. They did say they would give us a later check out on Sunday, 12:00 instead of 11:00.
The room was very good, large with a balcony that had two chairs. A small table would have been very beneficial. The bathroom was a nice size too.
The room did have a small fridge and micro so no complaints about the room. The property is lovely and the restaurant excellent although they don't serve breakfast.
The biggest problem is the service. Room service did not come around to clean room until after 4:00. The beach towels that are given with the room were pitiful. They looked like my cleaning rags.
The tiki bar is great but for this price their should be some beach service and at least a bathroom rather than have to go back to the hotel.
Sunday morning we found we were locked out of our rooms right after 11:00. When we called the desk we were told to come to the desk and they would fix our keys. Really? How about bringing us new keys since you messed up.
Used to love this place but they definitely need to improve their services, get more cleaning crews, invest in some towels and change the front desk attitude!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diannemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Sereno, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this resort during our visit to the Keys. It was a good midway stay with lots to do in Marathon and half way down the keys on the way to Key West. What a wonderful play to stay. Beautiful grounds and terrific rooms. We had a two story, three bedroom condo steps from the pool and we loved every minute of our stay. Great service, nice pool, and gorgeous beach with a lot of beach activities. Also, an excellent restaurant. We'd love to return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SJWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.4 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing