We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Private Beach That You Can't Use!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Private Beach That You Can't Use!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Beautiful location, but don't come here for the beach or to go swimming in the ocean because you can't. Between the awful smell and all of the seagrass on the beach, you couldn't go near. You pay big money to be beside a beach that you can't use. We were very disappointed! If we knew ahead of time that we couldn't use their private beach and only the pool, we would have booked our holiday in Orlando instead for much cheaper!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and they aren't great. The rooms are very small! The towels in the rooms are thin and linty and the pillows are awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    634
    245
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,693
870
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We selected Tranquility bay from the computer, however we consulted Trip Advisor before making reservations. Although the Trip Advisor reports were positive, we were still apprehensive. I can say it lived up to it's reviews and then some. Although we were all adults (6 members of the same family), the family pool was the warmest and not crowded at all so we liked it best. It would have been nice if we could have used it until 10 pm, but I understand why we could not. The grounds were very well kept and the unit was exceptionally clean.
The Butterfly Cafe was very nice. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we even had a person with gluten issues and she was very satisfied. In our opinion, not a restaurant for little children at least not inside.
Overall we were very impressed and would choose it for any return to this area.

Room Tip: Our 3 bedroom unit overlooked the lagoon and was exceptionally quiet. We were in the last unit (87...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location here can't be beat and the grounds are well maintained. However, for the 4 star price they charge it's surprising the corners they cut (we were in a 3 bedroom unit). Quick list- inadequate kitchen items (plates, utensils..etc - 5 of each); thin, lint filled beach towels (the worst you will ever come across); stained chairs in the living room; unrealible housekeeping - eg: takes 4 used bath towels, leaves 4 hand towels (this happened almost every day), never swept or mopped floor during our 7 day stay; the parking spots are extremely small (pretty much the width of a normal car puts you on the line on either side); the area around the adult pool (there are 2) had a foul smell; when you check in they don't offer to help with luggage or even tell you there are carts available. One last item- even though the website says the fitness center renovation is to be completed early in the fall 2013 it was still closed as of Dec 30th- they do pay for you to use a public fitness center apprx 1 mile down the road. Somewhat nit-picky but it adds up and for the price I think you should be able to expect more than they deliver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our third visit to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort. We are three for three! The location is absolutely stunning, the property is very well maintained and the staff is super friendly and professional. The on-site recreation is fantastic and we enjoyed kayaking, Stand-up Paddle boarding, Jetskis and swimming in the lagoon pool. We loved our afternoons at TJ's Tiki Bar! The staff there and at Butterfly Cafe are awesome. The food was fresh and perfectly prepared. Make sure to try the monster shrimp cocktail (with a rum punch of course). Great place for couples or family vacations. This time we left the kids at home and had some time together. We have already planned our return for the spring. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Catch your own dinner! The Chef will prepare your catch for you that night. We had never done that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonFromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesburg, fl
Level Contributor
275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice. The rooms are clean, I had a three bedroom. The living area and kitchen are large and has everything you need. The master bedroom is very large and the other two rather tiny. The pool is very nice. There is no "spa" as advertised, they will provide services in your room. The wi-fi is poor. The beach is very small and has lots of seaweed. The grounds are charming and well kept. There are some cats and large iguanas roaming around...the cats are cute and used for rodent control. Overall, it is a nice place and well kept.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We always stay at Tranquility Bay when we travel to the beautiful Florida Keys! It has the perfect location...far enough south to where the water is crystal blue but far enough north away from crazy Key West. You can day trip to Islamorada, Key West, Breathtaking Bahia Honda or just stay put and enjoy the breeze and amazing service. Even when the property is full you feel like you are on a private island. The amenities are upscale and so comfortable. We always make time to enjoy a dinner at the Butterfly Café also...a little pricy but the most savory and classy dinner around.
Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom townhouse for 5 days and were very impressed with the townhouse and the resort overall. Especially loved the gorgeous views! The little geckos running around were a constant source of entertainment. The pools are both beautiful. The grounds and house were immaculate, even with the construction going on. We ate lunch at the beach bar looking out over the water everyday. I think I miss that the most! Visit Bahia Honda State Park, beautiful water, very calm, great snorkelling! Dive Sombrero Reef if you can, calm, clear water with the best visibility I've ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing