We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting! Excellent staff throughout the resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting! Excellent staff throughout the resort!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Family had stayed here recently. Glad we listened to their recommendation and booked here as well. Did not want to stay in Key West, so this property in Marathon was perfect. Excellent grounds, putting green, tiki bar, beachfront and cafe. Our cottage is gracefully furnished, overlooking the pool and beach. Recommend!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,209
    648
    250
    122
    79
See reviews for
1,737
881
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, IN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hubby, Mom and I stayed here last year in the fall. September is a great time to visit the keys, low tourist time of year and great savings on super places to stay, like this one. We stayed in a three bed, handicap accessible town home overlooking the adult pool. Best part about this hotel is the beautiful view of sunsets from the "beach" tiki bar area, second best is the huge family pool and quiet, relaxing adult pool, third best is the spacious town homes. We really enjoyed our stay here, and Mom and I wanted to stay permanently! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The three bedroom handicap accessible units have one bed and bath on-suite on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

After serveral hours for sat nav direction's on the Florida turnpike and the oversea's highway we stumble across Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort.Book the room open the door to the room and booked several more nights.Thank you very much for a highlight of our first trip to America from Melbourne Australia.The resort was just off high season so it was quite for booked in guests beautiful sunsets , well appointed very clean rooms.


We shall return, and we will be recommend to all our Florida US visiting friends.


Thank you to all the staff for our very pleasant stay .

Room Tip: Most room face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tranquility Bay in November. We were celebrating our anniversary and every part of the resort (staff, restaurant, property) made it a special trip from beginning to end.

When we checked in, all of the staff members that we spoke with were so welcoming, which immediately started our trip off on the right foot. Then, when we began walking to our condo, we knew we were in for an amazing time. The property is beautiful, quiet and peaceful, as was our condo. The bed was so comfortable and the porches were perfect for taking in the beauty that is Tranquility Bay! We then ventured to TJ's Tiki Bar, right on the beach with a beautiful view, where I had an amazing mojito before heading to dinner at the resort's Butterfly Cafe. What a perfect, fresh meal and wonderful place where, again, all of the staff was so kind. Everyone truly cared to ensure that we were enjoying our experience.

For the rest of our stay, we mostly just relaxed and enjoyed each other's company-- definitely a the perfect atmosphere for doing so! We DID make it a point to rent a pair of wave runners right on-site from a very cool guy named Burt. That was a huge plus for some extra fun! While the accommodations, restaurant and amenities at Tranquility Bay are outstanding, the staff is really what sent our stay over the top. What a remarkable group of people! The only downside to our stay was that it was too short and went by too fast. We will most certainly be making plans to return! Can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjg3993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a beautiful and amazingly relaxing place! Serene and lovely with lots of character. Beware the lizards and cats! I wasn't prepared for nightly greetings by the geckos, but it was eventually charming. While I didn't go into the water (it was quite choppy and rather windy), the private beach was lovely and the "neighbors" were quite friendly. Michelle, the bartender at the Tiki Bar was AWESOME!!!! Actually, both the bartenders were great, but Michelle made our day.

The food is superb and there is a terrific winelist.

The amenities are quite nice and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. Be cautious about the humidity and leaving windows/doors open...the floors became quite slippery. Otherwise, you can't beat having a deck/porch on all sides and tropical breezes blowing through each morning.

My only complaint was that the water pressure in both bathrooms was terrible!

If you are visiting the Keys for nightlife, you may be disappointed unless you like cheesy/tacky sort of places (Key West). It's fun for the experience of saying you've been, but save the partying for South Beach nights. You can have a really good time eating well and visiting the local watering holes (you MUST go to Spanky's and I forget the name, but it's this lovely place right on the water a few miles up on 7 mile road off to the left side) and restaurants (The Stuffed Pig for breakfast). Everyone will try to get you to go to the Sea Turtle Hospital or Dolphin Rescue Center....we're not sure why since we avoided it like the plague (it became a joke for the rest of our trip)...but it ws highly recommended.

Overall, it was worth the drive from MIA, the rain, the crazy windy days and tacky fun of the Keys. Go!! You will have a blast!

Room Tip: The two of us stayed in a three-bedroom house on the corner of the property...it was spacious and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghadeer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We are a bit late in reviewing not in remembering what a wonderful place Tranquility Bay is. We have never stayed any place where the name so totally fits. Tranquility Bay was so relaxing, peaceful, and beautiful. They originally had us in a house by the larger family pool and being just two adults we asked if anything was available by the other quieter pool. The woman checking us it was very kind and moved us to the quieter area. It was wonderful! The house was beautiful with great views from the porches and deck. The interior was immaculate and nicely decorated. Tranquility Bay truly lives up to it's name!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_dreams55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent a long weekend in late October accompanied by my 2 grandchildren. Arrived at the hotel at 12noon knowing full well we were way too early but thought at least we would get our names on the list. Otis, the front desk clerk, immediately and in a very curt sort of manner read us "the fine print" about a 4pm check-in despite my having no expectation a room would be available at the early hour we were there.

We were told we could use the pool pending readiness of our room but the only changing facilities for changing were the washrooms off the lobby. So my two grandchildren changed in my SUV for lack of anywhere else.

When the room was finally ready around 3pm, imagine my surprise having too complete a check-in "document" I will call it that required me to "initial" in 5 different places about things I was agreeing to in addition to a general signature at the end. 63 years on this earth traveling the world regularly for the last 43 and never have I seen anything like this. More like a car rental contract. Combined with "the fine print" intro and then this document which assumes you are a potential criminal planning to do all kinds of bad things at Tranquility Bay, you are signing your life away to them!

In fairness our 3 bedroom townhouse was pretty impressive (excepting the soiled great room furniture) and the dinners we enjoyed on the outdoor terrace of the Butterfly Café outstanding. That said, breakfast is not served there and you either have to drive to a restaurant in the area or purchase the fixings at Publix and then fix for yourself each morning.

Would I return ? Hard to say. It surely Is the best in the area but ultimately its not a full fledged resort like Cheeca Lodge an hour north in Islamorada which is a perennial favorite of mine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing