We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed......not a 4 star at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed......not a 4 star at all.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at this resort several times. My most recent stay, showed the property to be run down. White wicker chairs around the property with holes in the arms of the chairs. why bother putting out these, they should be at the dump. The large pool has mismatched furniture, and the inside of the units have torn slip covers and mold around the doors.
I hope with the new management company they will take pride in bring this back to a 4 star property.

Room Tip: Ask if there is construction going on before booking any hotel. They were doing construction the 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,209
    648
    250
    122
    79
See reviews for
1,737
881
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom beach house near the adult pool. The name says it all Tranquility bay. This was exactly what we were looking for…a quiet, relaxing getaway. Even though it rained 3 of the 5 days, we enjoyed our stay. We arrived late evening in Fort Lauderdale and had planned to drive to Homestead, FL. We spent the night in Homestead and left in the morning for Marathon. Tranquility Bay is a good half-way point for spending a day in Key West and exploring the other Keys. This beautiful resort has all you need for a relaxing stay…beach, Tiki Bar (with great bartenders), watersports, beautiful pools, and a fabulous restaurant (with fantastic food and friendly servers)! We will definitely go back when we need a break from our busy life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2cruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in a beachfront 2 bedroom. When we walked in the front door we were so amazed at the view out the glass french doors out back that we just walked straight through to the back deck before we even looked at anything inside the house! The pictures on their website are beautiful but the real thing is breathtaking. Downstairs in the two bedroom was a couch, chair, big screen tv, dvd player, full open kitchen with barstools, table with 4 chairs and a half bath. The kitchen had granite countertops, stainless steel appliances,(full size fridge with ice and water in the door, flat top stove/oven with microwave above, dishwasher, garbage disposal, dishes, knives, silverware, coffee maker, toaster, blender, pots, pans, casserole dishes, cutting board, spatulas, collanders...everything you could possibly need). Dish soap, new sponge, dishwasher detergent, papertowels were already there. Upstairs was a king master suite with a full size closet, a big tv, it's own full bathroom and private balcony.There was a second bedroom with 2 twin beds ,a tv, a full size closet and a stackable washer and dryer inside another closet. There is also another full bathroom upstairs just outside the second bedroom. Beach was nice and clean. Lots of beach chairs and palm trees that provide just the right amount of shade if you want it. Great Lagoon pool, tiki bar, swimming beach was ok (because of the sea grass but it's part of nature, what can you do?) Did not use the watersports or the restaurant on site but they appeared to be great. Saw dolphins, manatees, 2 very large iguanas and lots of birds every day. It was a pleasure to just sit and watch the wildlife, the boats and the water. Will most certainly return for an even longer stay.

Room Tip: Beach houses 1-5 are kind of set off to themselves and felt very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDWPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I just came back from tranquility and it was amazing! We took our 10 month old son and I was nervous it wouldn't be as family friendly as we needed, but we were so wrong! We had a 2 bedroom beachfront and it was worth every penny,especially if you are traveling with young children. We were able to sit on the beach while our son was napping and the views were incredible. Yes some of the reviews are accurate...beach towels aren't great,kitchen could be more equipped, beach isn't a swimming beach....but you don't mind any of that when you are laying at a quiet pool and beach and enjoying tranquility! We will definitely return when we want a relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Spend the money on a beachfront! 1-5 units are more secluded and you don't get much walk thru t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were 3 female relatives looking for a beautiful place to relax and enjoy our surroundings. This was definitely it. It was just as pictured online, which was a wonderful surprise! We needed a 3 BR beachfront property and there were not many other locations offering such. We wanted to be near Key West and were so happy we stayed in Marathon and just visited Key West!! We will hopefully be returning!!!

Room Tip: Our goal was to be able to step off our porch and have our toes in the sand. Our beachfront accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCM
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautifully appointed townhouse style apartments, with beautiful fixtures and fittings. Extemely comfortable beds. Apartment had balconies off both bedrooms and a patio leading straight to the beach. The onsite restaurant was very nice. The staff were very freindly which made our stay all the more enjoyable. The pool area was large and well kept.

Room Tip: I recommend an apartment with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a week at Tranquility Bay, in a 2 bedroom waterview villa. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and very tropical looking - especially the lagoon pool. The staff was very friendly, and the entire place from the villa to the pool are extremely clean. Keep in mind, Marathon is not Key West; meaning there isn't much night life in the area. The upshot is its fairly quiet after dark. They have an onsite bar, but we only went there once due to the outrageous prices. The onsite restaurant has very good reviews, but we did not try it out. They have an area to rent boats and jet skis right there onsite, and we had a blast with those. If they aren't busy they tend to let you ride longer. One of the best parts every night, it has absolutely gorgeous views of the sunset over the gulf.

Overall,It's great place to go if you want to relax. For activities though, you're going to have to do some driving.

For us (3 Adults, 2 kids, 1 baby), a 2 bedroom was a bit snug for sleeping, but we were able to do 3 to a bedroom. I'd opt for a 3 bedroom if you have that many. Besides, they only give you supplies (towels, silverware, etc) for 4. For a moment I thought it was going to be a problem that we had more when I requested more towels. If your staying with kids, I highly recommend choosing one of the rooms around the family pool. It's just so convenient. Also, there's not much to be gained by getting a water front villa. There are no waves to listen to, and it's not as if you can walk out the front door into the water (there are rocks except in the designated swimming area).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing