We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tranquility Bay has excellent accommodations and is located in the middle of the Keys. The Beach Houses are very nice. We always get a 3 bedroom waterfront unit. We only need 2 bedrooms, but the living area is larger with the 3 bedroom beach house. The staff is excellent and the landscaping and Gulf views are amazing. Keep in mind beaches are very limited in the Keys. The beach is pretty, but not very swimmable; however there are very nice beaches nearby such as Sombrero or our favorite, Bahia Honda on the other side of the 7 mile bridge. The very nice gym was closed as they are doing some construction. I did miss using the weights, however for cardio, we ran the old 7 mile bridge every day which is much better than using a treadmill as you can watch sea turtles, tarpon, dolphins, etc. as you run. I inquired about the gym being closed and they have worked out a plan with another local gym not far away, but I didn’t use it. We absolutely love Tranquility Bay and will be returning. As we were getting ready to check out, a manatee swam into the waterfront area right up to the boardwalk area. Apparently he/she is a regular there.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom units have a larger living area. The waterfront units are more private than the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h2ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,184
    640
    245
    121
    79
See reviews for
1,710
874
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great property, nice pool, though shallow, Jeff at the Tiki Bar is wonderful for a michigan guy. Drinks are a little expensive and ocean swimming area kind of blah, otherwise worthwhile. Bring your own beach towels, buy fixings for drinks and snacks/lunch offsite and prepare them in your condo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clevelandmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our holiday in May 2013 and found the hotel and location to be perfect for chilling out. The 2 bedroom beach house and surroundings were stunning, we couldn't have found a better place to relax. we also ate at the onsite restaurant for two of the nights as the food was that good we decided to eat there more than once.

However, the reason I have given a score of 4 rather than 5 was due to some of the staff. Whilst most were friendly enough when approached, to get more information out of them was like pulling teeth, they didn't make the place that inviting and only seemed interested in helping if pushed - nothing was volunteered and a couple were quite unhelpful. In fact the only two individuals who we found approachable during our stay were the waitress and the cleaner. The worst was the young man who rented out the water sports equipment as he came across as uninterested in our queries, unhelpful and his main concerns were having fun himself on a jetski (leaving his post unmanned whilst other customers were renting equipment) or making sure we didn't keep him there past his clocking off time.

Having stayed in Miami, Key Lago and Key West before staying in Marathon, we were surprised to see the difference in this hotel as all the previous places had staff bending over backwards to be overly helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second visit to Tranquility Bay. We stayed the first time with our adult children but this time as a couple. It's a great place to stay either way. When we arrived and realized our room was a little farther from the beach than we'd hoped, Summer was very gracious and relocated us much closer, so we had a wonderful water view and only a short distance to walk to the beach. This time we stayed in a 2-bedroom unit and it was quite spacious and comfortable. The service is impeccable! We needed maintenance help once, and the maintenance man was there within 5 minutes of our call, even though it was after 5:00 p.m. The cleaning ladies are also very sweet and thorough and happy to give extra towels and supplies as needed. The grounds are well-maintained and the beach is cleaned daily. The Tiki Bar is fun and a great place to watch the sunset every evening. Water sport rentals are available on-site and the staff will also help with arrangements for fishing charters and snorkeling trips. (We did find out, however, that we paid more for these trips with any charter company recommended by the hotel.) This property has all the advantages of a resort and the accomodations of a condominium, so it's the best of both worlds. It's also nicely located between Islamorada and Key West, so neither destination is more than an hour away. Many restaurants and several grocery stores are nearby (should you choose to cook in the more than adequate kitchen). There is also a wonderful restaurant on-site. Our only problem this trip was the weather - there was a stationary tropical disturbance which meant that it rained almost every day we were there. We understand the property has recently been sold, so we are hoping nothing changes, including the wonderful staff (thank you Angie for sharing a little of the history with us!) We definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing Keys vacation with all the amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtraveler108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Date of stay June 20-22, 2013

"You get what you pay for" is the best way to summarize Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort. This resort is among the pricier in the Marathon area, but don't let that dissuade you . The reason being, you simply will not find another resort in the area that is able to provide the roominess, cleanliness and overall setting that Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort offers.

To best describe the resort would be to take special note of the resort name. Rarely does a resort live up to it's namesake as well as Tranquility Bay does This is something that I overlooked when booking. "Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort" is exactly what the name implies in each word.

Tranquility Bay---The resort sits on the Gulf Side of the Overseas Highway, with an isolated and tranquil bay for swimming and lounging. This bay is of course part of Florida Bay, the calmer side of US 1. Additionally, being on the gulf side allows for better sunset views on a daily basis.

Beach---This is one of the only resorts that I am aware of that truly has a beach!!! Not just a small, sand filled piece of land between rocks that acts as a beach for a well cropped photograph. This is important when visiting the Florida Keys, because most people don't realize there aren't many sandy beaches in the keys.

House---These units have all the amenities of large condominiums/townhouses, complete with full kitchen and modern full size appliances (four burner stove, full size oven, side by side refrigerator/freezer with filtered water and ice dispenser, microwave oven, coffee maker). That part was the most surprising, and overlooked when I booked this resort.

From what I understand, the resort offers two and three bedroom units. These units can be reserved as either water view or water front. Water front will cost a bit more. But, to reiterate what was said earlier, you get what you pay for. In this case, the view was well worth the slight price premium.

Resort---Tranquility Bay Beach Resort is a resort in every sense of the word. It has a gym (I didn't use it, can't comment on it), two pools (one for families, one for adults only), tiki bar, beach, water sports, etc., etc.

The resort has a standard of cleanliness that I have not seen in the Keys. Everything was immaculate! The rooms looked brand new. The linens on the beds, the bath towels, the complimentary beach towels... all extremely clean, pressed and not showing any signs of wear.

The grounds are incredibly well kept. All landscape was well cared for, and maintained. There was hardly any discarded items laying around (a difficult task to keep up on with a resort this size).

Overall, I had just one minor concern, and that is with the parking. While there was never a fear of not being able to find a parking spot, there were times when the ability to find a spot near your room was not always an option. But, to put things in perspective, the longest distance from car to room at Tranquility Bay was still shorter than most other large resorts shortest distance from car to room.

I will be back!

Pros: Size of rooms!!! Cleanliness. Friendliness. Beach. Peaceful. Non-smoking resort.
Cons: occasional parking anxiety (get over it). if you're a smoker, this is a non-smoking resort (this includes all areas of the resort, inside and outside)

Please mark "Helpful" if you found this beneficial in your research. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank FrankInSWFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozona, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

After weeks of deciding how to spend our vacation, we opted for the Florida Keys for eight days vs. a five day Caribbean cruise. Then the search was on for a place to stay. We've had excellent luck with Vacation Rentals By Owner, but we just couldn't find a place we all agreed on. After more endless nights researching, it was down to Tranquility Bay and Hawk's Cay. We decided to let our six year old daughter decide and she chose Tranquility Bay because of the lagoon pool.

We stayed June 15-22, 2013. Upon arrival, we were impressed with our beach house. We were in unit 51 which is on the putting green with a sliver of a view of the ocean. You can't see it if you're sitting down....which, deep down, I was really hoping (and paying) for more of a view. The unit was decorated very modern and the color scheme was great. The kitchen had a fantastic 10-cup coffee maker and every thing we needed during our stay. (If I'm being honest, I would have killed for more than 4 spoons, forks and knives). The unit also had a washer/dryer which is invaluable when you're swimming in ocean water. My biggest complaint with the unit itself was the bathrooms. The main light in all three bathrooms is connected to an exhaust fan that's as loud as a jet engine!! I couldn't hear anything other than that fan once I turned the light on!! So much for relaxing in the bath while the sounds of ocean waves soothe me - I wanted to rip someone's head off by the time I was out of the shower!!!

The other thing that rubbed me wrong was all the "rules" that guests must abide by, "or else you PAY".....can't smoke ANYWHERE on property or else you will pay $500; can only have one pool towel per person per stay or you will pay $30; can't stay one minute beyond check-out time or you will be charged $100 per hour -- if you go over two hours, you will be charged a full night; can't let your towels or swimsuits dry on your porch or you will be charged; etc, etc!! There were signs EVERYWHERE reminding you of the rules. Fine, I get it. Funny thing is, I have to abide by their rules, but they don't. They promised on the fourth day, our room would get a complete linen change -- didn't happen. We had to call for a kitchen towel one day because I was afraid we'd get charged if we used a hand towel from the bathroom!! And while my husband trekked the "walk of shame" to the street every hour to smoke -- we found cigarette butts all over the lagoon pool deck!! Really??

The two pools were both very nice. But don't let anyone fool you - there is NOT an adults only pool. There were kids in both, every day, all day. The Lagoon pool is amazing - so, so beautiful!! What I find surprising is with all the time we spent out there, I never once saw any staff member to police the area. Trash, plastic cups, dirty towels, etc littered the place. It would behoove the staff to do a walk-around every hour. I found myself cleaning up other people's mess because I couldn't bear to look at it all day.

One other bizarre situation is the giant iguanas all over the property. They are the size of small dogs - and so is their poop!! While I could care less about poop on the sidewalk, it's not something that should be on the pool deck with young kids running around barefoot. An hourly trip through this area would alleviate this problem.

The tiki bar was a great idea, but the bartenders weren't your best choices. The first night we were charged $36 for two drinks and a virgin daiquiri.....after that, we brought our own drinks down to the tiki area. I know....I was scared of being fined for that too because of all the signs saying I couldn't do it -- but after seeing what other folks got away with, mine crown & ginger was a minor violation!!

Room service was fantastic!! Every dinner was hot and delish!! Crab cakes were awesome and burgers were just like we make them. Insider tip - order and pick it up - you'll save yourself about $20!!

Overall, the location is perfect. The grounds are gorgeous with the prettiest coconut palms I've ever seen!! The sunset views are insane!! (Don't be fooled, you will not see these from every room). While we really liked this place, we didn't LOVE it. I thought paying $2,600+ for seven nights would include some high end service - it did not. We'll opt for a different location next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivingGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would highly recommend tranquility bay to anyone staying in the keys, The cottage was very spacious and well maintained. I would recommend the sea side cottage if you like drinking coffee overlooking the water in the morning or a cocktail in the evening!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mchase00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
19.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing