We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

“Heat spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is truly a great family resort. 2-bedroom 2.5 bath condo with washer dryer and full kitchen. I believe all units have at least a partial water view. Pool is large and clean, grounds are landscaped beautifully and in a very natural manner. Tiki bar beachside for awesome sunsets and the bartenders all know at what exact time they occur (7:37 last night).
Here with a family of 4 and there are many other families as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingbrooksnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,331)
There are newer reviews for Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,078 - 2,084 of 3,331 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is my first internet review meaning I really have something to say about the stay in this resort. All the amazing reviews are absolutely correct; this property ticks all the boxes.

From the convenience of having so much space beautifully furnished and literally a few steps away from the kid-friendly pool to the beach, with the wonderful deck on the main floor and balcony on the second floor, it truly is a total comfort.

We have travelled with kids aged 2 and 7 and we felt safe with them, everyone was very nice.

Furnishing and equipment in the beach house was more than sufficient.

We have obtained an advance booking discount so the overall fee was very reasonable to comparable resorts in Keys.

Wonderful job on the property management side, we will defiitely come again.

Room Tip: Our unit was # 31, literally a few steps from the swimming pool, so convenient with the kids.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snezana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent three nights in a three bedroom suite at Tranquility Bay over spring break. The resort is beautiful. Our suite was comfortable and roomy. The furniture was charming and added to the beach feel. The beds were so comfortable. The resort is easily accessible to all of the attractions in the middle Keys- The Turtle Hospital, The Dolphin Research Center, Bahia Honda State Park, Pigeon Island, Seven Mile Bridge.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank HappyTraveler123452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a wonderful 5 nights at Tranquility Bay, very relaxing & enjoyed staying in their fantastic accommodation. Very smart, clean & well equipped units, staff were friendly & very helpful, & it was the perfect place to unwind & take it easy. The pools were lovely - one large one for families which was quite warm, & a quiet adults only pool if that was a bit busy. The Watersports guys were very helpful & organised for us to go out on a boat snorkelling which was a great trip, saw beautiful fish as we snorkelled over the reef. We ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings - food really good & beautifully presented, a nice special treat! Had lunch at the Tiki bar on our last day - also very good, & again staff very friendly & chatty - Jeff had given us some good recommendations earlier in the week. We also did quite a lot of our own catering as the facilities in our townhouse were so good - made cooking in a pleasure too. Scenery was beautiful, we would definitely return if we came back to the keys, great for families too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

After a long drive from the FLL airport we couldn't have been happier to pull off the highway into the Tranquility Bay Resort. Once we checked in and headed to the Tiki Bar we totally relaxed and felt miles away from traffic. The condo was nicely decorated but the bedrooms were a very tight fit for the furniture and 2 people in each. The bathrooms were equally small for a resort of this magnitude and price point. One definitely could not fit more than 4 people in a 2BR unit. Another minor issue is the terribly skimpy beach towels provided....thin and definitely need more than one per person for the beach or pool chairs(but were allotted only one per person). Again, at a resort like this, very nice beach towels should be a given.

We stayed at TB in January after the holidays so it was not crowded and we had our choice of chairs at the pool and beach. The iguanas at the pool were kind of odd but harmless. As cat lovers we enjoyed the 6 or 7 "house cats" that roamed the grounds. We spent most of our time alternating between the beach and the pool. The Publix grocery store is just 5 minutes away and we bought everything for breakfasts and lunches and went out for dinner every night.

It was a very nice visit and we would recommend the resort overall..just don't expect much space in the condos or any of the "finer touches" that should go along with one of the nicer resorts in the Keys.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on an ocean front room unless you really want to. All the units are easil...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Set along an unprepossessing stretch of the Overseas Highway, one approaches Tranquility Bay with a slight sense of foreboding. That disappears immediately upon entering the well-kept grounds.

Accommodations are in townhouses, air-conditioned, modern and clean, serviced daily, with a full kitchen, a porch and balcony, most with views at least over a pool, if not the Gulf too. Staff are friendly without being obtrusive.

The porches and balconies abut one another, meaning there isn't much privacy on them with respect to one's neighbors. Happily, during this March week, the guests seemed to consist largely of well-heeled Northeasterners, content to nod socially to one another and get on with reading the Times on their iPads at 8 in the morning over a cup of decent coffee. Their kids (pale, insouciant teenagers for the most part) were civilized, making for a very pleasant atmosphere..the place felt busy without being noisy.

Couple of nits: the 'swimming beach' was clogged with sawgrass, defying the efforts of plucky laborers armed with pitchforks and a Bobcat, and is more suited to little kids in any case. If you want a good beach, seek elsewhere (there are nice ones within a few minutes' drive). And the gym is too small and ill-equipped for the demographic this place attracts (see above).

Other than that, a wonderfully relaxing place. Would return

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just retrurned from a wonderful vacation with two other families. This is a wonderful property and I would highly reccomend it to anyone (couples or families). There are lots of reviews here pointing out all the great things about this resort so I won't repeat them. Here are a few things that I would add to the great and things to consider.....Tranquility is about a 15-20 minute walk from the old 7 mile bridge which is a great alternative for a work out from the gym....we actually drove to the bridge so we could park and just walk the bridge rather than walk along the biking/walking trail to get to the bridge. The bridge is two miles long for a 4 mile return walk/run from the parking lot right at the bridge. The Tiki hut only serves food until 5 pm but we called the front desk and were able to order pizza around 6 pm one evening and just picked it up from the butterfly cafe. The twin beds don't have fitted sheets so every night my teenage boys would end up sleeping directly on the mattress as the sheets came off the bed. The wifi is very unreliable (so if you have work to do keep that in mind). Just wanted to point out these few things.....all in all this is a great place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cygnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
795 reviews
9.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $217 - $886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing