We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy and relaxing”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Set along an unprepossessing stretch of the Overseas Highway, one approaches Tranquility Bay with a slight sense of foreboding. That disappears immediately upon entering the well-kept grounds.

Accommodations are in townhouses, air-conditioned, modern and clean, serviced daily, with a full kitchen, a porch and balcony, most with views at least over a pool, if not the Gulf too. Staff are friendly without being obtrusive.

The porches and balconies abut one another, meaning there isn't much privacy on them with respect to one's neighbors. Happily, during this March week, the guests seemed to consist largely of well-heeled Northeasterners, content to nod socially to one another and get on with reading the Times on their iPads at 8 in the morning over a cup of decent coffee. Their kids (pale, insouciant teenagers for the most part) were civilized, making for a very pleasant atmosphere..the place felt busy without being noisy.

Couple of nits: the 'swimming beach' was clogged with sawgrass, defying the efforts of plucky laborers armed with pitchforks and a Bobcat, and is more suited to little kids in any case. If you want a good beach, seek elsewhere (there are nice ones within a few minutes' drive). And the gym is too small and ill-equipped for the demographic this place attracts (see above).

Other than that, a wonderfully relaxing place. Would return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    633
    245
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,692
870
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just retrurned from a wonderful vacation with two other families. This is a wonderful property and I would highly reccomend it to anyone (couples or families). There are lots of reviews here pointing out all the great things about this resort so I won't repeat them. Here are a few things that I would add to the great and things to consider.....Tranquility is about a 15-20 minute walk from the old 7 mile bridge which is a great alternative for a work out from the gym....we actually drove to the bridge so we could park and just walk the bridge rather than walk along the biking/walking trail to get to the bridge. The bridge is two miles long for a 4 mile return walk/run from the parking lot right at the bridge. The Tiki hut only serves food until 5 pm but we called the front desk and were able to order pizza around 6 pm one evening and just picked it up from the butterfly cafe. The twin beds don't have fitted sheets so every night my teenage boys would end up sleeping directly on the mattress as the sheets came off the bed. The wifi is very unreliable (so if you have work to do keep that in mind). Just wanted to point out these few things.....all in all this is a great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cygnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

For my Mom's 80th birthday we flew to West Palm and drove 3 hours down to the hotel, not knowing what to expect. I (we) were pleasently surprised! I thought it would have a worn look to it, but instead it looked brand new! A 3 bedroom townhouse and it was very clean and so was the main check in area of the hotel. We had dinner the first night at the butterfly cafe and it was wonderfull!
The rooms weren't that noise proof and they were joined by the balconey to the room next door, so private it wasn't. But I had queen sized bed in the 2nd bedroom and heard the main road preety easy.

We were not on the water, but we had a oceanview room that had a great view from the King sized bedroom.

The beach for swimming was full of seaweed or grass and was not swimmable. t had a tiki bar and water sports dock that looked incredible.

All in all it was the perfect spot!

Room Tip: room 71 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We rented 2 units for a family reunion. The units were well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Being right off busy US 1 we weren't sure what to expect but once you are in the resort the feel completely changes to the relaxing destination we were looking for. Everything was nicely maintained and even though the resort was full it didn't feel crowded as there are plenty of places to spread out. We had children from ages 8 to college age and everyone seemed to find something they wanted to do. It was very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but wish we had left our previous resort (the Mariners in key largo) earlier so we could have stayed longer. The rooms were very pretty, it was nice sitting out at the Tiki Bar. We felt like we were in a tropical paradise. Drawbacks were poor Internet connectivity... But we were happy it was free. Also the twin beds were very squeaky and hard. But I would definitely recommend and would come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. Booked a three bedroom villa which was right on the little putting green with a gorgeous sea view. The food was good at the main restaurant and the cafe. Loved the kids pool with the graduated entry. My only comment would be that there is no spa here. The town of Marathon is small with no sightseeing. This is a place to come and sit by the beach or pool. We wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved Tranquility Bay. Our condo had two bedrooms and two and a half baths with a full kitchen and living room. There were two porches, one off the upstairs master and one off the family room. Other guests are visible from the porches, but everyone seems so respectful of others' privacy.
They have created an area with sand to lay in the sun. They have a small lagoon for swimming which does have quite a bit of sea grass. Don't let that bother you because the grounds are beautiful.
They have waverunner and boat rentals on sight. Both were fun. They also have two very nice pools...one for adults and one for kids.
The restaurant, Butterfly Cafe is not to be missed. Its the best food in Marathon.
The only thing I would suggest is giving guests a full size broom to sweep up the sand from the beach.
We will return

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side from the Turtle Hospital. They use a loud speaker for their tours. Also,th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnamongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing