We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility Bay Resort is true to its name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I extended our stay in southern Florida after a week long business meeting in Weston, Florida. We drove down to Marathon(in the Keys) on Friday afternoon. Otis checked us in and made sure we had all of the information that we needed about the resort. We stayed until Tuesday morning. Our two bedroom beach house was immaculate and the furnishings were very well appointed and comfortable. One thing that we noticed during our stay is how well the small resort was designed and landscaped. Having a kitchen was a plus since we enjoyed having our breakfast on the upper or lower porch each morning. The views from the rear of our beach house were exceptional. From the upper rear porch we could see the pool area and in the distance the beach and the beautiful blue, tropical skys. This was the perfect winter get away for us. The temperatures were in the mid to high 70's each day and in the 60's in the evenings. There are a lot of watersport activities to take part in at the resort; however, we just enjoyed relaxing in the sun watching the sailboats go by. The JT's Tiki Bar Beach Concession area was the perfect place for a quick lunch and your favorite beverage. The front desk staff, Otis and Summer, could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Summer went out of her way to help us extend our stay for another evening. The Butterfly Cafe is probably one of the best if not the best restaurant on the Marathon Key. We got a dessert from there the first evening and took back to our room since we had eaten a late lunch on the way down. We had dinner there on Sunday evening and had a delightful evening with Stacey and Michelle as our servers. The restaurant is very picturesque, but at the same time relaxing. The food was excellent and well prepared. Desserts are delicious there also. Reservations for dinner is a good idea since the restaurant does fill up in the evenings. You can dine in the lovely dining room or on the large wrap around porch in the rear of the restaurant. We had a great weekend and will definitely be looking forward to another stay there in the future. Staying at Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort was one of the highlights of our trip to the Florida Keys.

Room Tip: We chose and ocean view beach house and were very happy with the location. Parking is closer to thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank-Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,259 - 2,265 of 3,463 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

The resort is very well maintained and the staff really go out of their way to accommodate all our needs without getting in our faces. The children's swimming pool is perfect, clean and spotless to say the least. We also spent some time down at the beach with our daughters which worked out great thanks to some excellent weather and perfect beach conditions.
we shall certainly be back in the near future hopefully for a longer stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbrandt1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The resort itself is amazing, the townhouses are gorgeous, the staff is friendly, the restaurant on site has fantastic food, healthy and well presented. Reservations were needed as we figured out many travellers and locals come to that restaurant, one of the few good ones around Marathon from what we heard (and experienced!)
If you want a place to party, this is NOT the place, this is quiet, nice, families and couples, very tranquil, we loved it, so relaxing..... the pool, the putting greens, etc. Just GREAT!
Only negative: we were disapointed with the beach, we ended up going swimming a bit further on the other side of the key. Too much grass/seaweed, not so nice to walk in..... But otherwise, the resort is so clean, the trees, etc. just spectacular. We've gone to various top-quality resorts, this is definitely one of the best...! We had our 2 sons with us, 12 and 14, they loved it as well-

Room Tip: we had unit 34, off the path a bit, close to the pool, close to the water sports, close to the putti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reneestevens1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Really nice to have our own space and be able to cook for ourselves, chill out in front of the TV, etc. Very nicely decorated beach houses with homely feel. Putting green was right outside our deck and was a nice extra. Beach and lagoon not really worth writing about as covered in seagrass and impossible to swim. Nice swimming pools (one for adults only) offered alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great place to stay!! One of the best resorts designs ... rooms very quiet, awesome sleep, quality furnishings, beautiful grounds. If only I could transport the facility 30 mins closer to Key West!! would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKCD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I haven't actually stayed at this resort, but wanted to give them a good review for service. I was scheduled to stay there next week, and suffered a medical problem which made it impossible to travel. They have a 2 week cancellation policy, but they were very nice about it, and refunded my deposit with no penalty. I will be rescheduling with them after their kind response to my problem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Hhn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We recently visited with another family with a total of 4 young children and found this hotel to be perfectly located with ideal facilities for families with children. The resort's facilities include a large pool with a zero-entry feature for little ones, watersports, and a beach (not too common in the keys for a hotel). While the beach isn't great, there is a ton of sand for the kids to play in and build sand castles, etc. The rooms/homes were great for a family. We stayed in a 3-bedroom villa and loved having the space and have a full kitchen. It allowed us to be able to play on the deck while the little one napped and also to make breakfast at 6am when our children are hungry. We could also enjoy a glass of wine on the deck after the kids went to bed. Also having a washer/dryer in the unit is a huge help. And, the staff was very accommodating to the children. They were very friendly and when we went to the tiki bar the staff made kiddie cocktails for the kids. Additionally, the resort is very near kid-friendly activities - sombrero beach and playground, the rotary playground, the dolphin research center, etc. Also fairly near some great restaurants that are kid-friendly - we loved the Island Fish Co. We will definitely return to the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
19.6 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $248 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing