We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I have to say that I have been blessed to have been here two years in a row. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the staff is really accommodating, yet the costs seem to hit home hard. If you can get past the 'bottom line' then nothing compares to Tranquility Bay. Absolutely a beautiful place to enjoy the winters of the USA.!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,209
    648
    250
    122
    79
See reviews for
1,737
881
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid-January - the weekday deals at $211 + tax/fees made this property very attractive and so much nicer than a standard hotel. Having separate rooms and baths for a family with 2 teenagers was perfect. The units, beach and grounds were all immaculate. The whole feel is laid back and family-friendly. The grassy lawn opening from each unit was beautiful, and the expansive beach/sand areas with lounge chairs amid the palms is a great addition not usually found in the keys. House keeping was very good and all of the staff was helpful and pleasant. Both pools were warm and inviting with a nice adults-only pool as well as a large family pool, and the putting greens were a nice addition. Burt, who runs the on-site water sports, was great - took us on a very enjoyable 2 hr jet ski tour out past 7-mile bridge and to a small key to explore. The on-site restaurant was very good - from the conch chowder to the seafood specials to the key lime dessert . Across the street is a very good cuban sandwich shop - just walk across the street and bring breakfast or lunch back to your own deck to enjoy. Since the units have full kitchens, it was easy to handle breakfasts or late night snacks. Within a couple of miles is Sunset Grill - recommended to us by Burt, and the Keys Fishery Market has hands-down the best fish sandwiches ever. There are plenty of options for fishing, snorkeling, etc nearby.

Room Tip: Units 8-12 are good - not behind the pool and not hidden behind the beachfront houses - I would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiaramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I would like to commend the staff of Tranquility Bay. Everyone from those first greeting you at front desk to housekeeping, servers at Butterfly Cafe, Tiki Bar, and Bob Bauersachs their General Manager make you feel welcome. You have a real sense of being invited into paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelltraveler5117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

From the booking through check out what a great experience. We had a beach front room and it over delivered in every way. The entire unit is new and well maintained. The views from the master bedrooms are postcards! We took plenty of photos to share with our family and friends. Grounds are kept immaculate with visible workers cleaning all the time. We rented a jet ski while there and had a great time. The restaurant is top notch....try the key lime pie....it is delicious. Amazing place to stay. We will be back. Thank you Sara in booking and Otis at the front desk for your great service!

Room Tip: Beach front is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 5 nights, end of December through Jan 4th. The resort was very nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I do question the overall value of the resort. I know it is expensive to travel at this time of the year however for the price on the room we were expecting maybe just a little more. First the grounds and overall appearance was great. When you get to the actual house, there were a few things that could have been better ( again considering the cost). The second bedroom was a tad small and under furnished. The twin beds were not the best...very noise mattress ...again for close to $600 a night you would expect just a little better quality.

The kitchen only had plates, bowls, glasses and untensils for four people. Which meant you had to constantly wash dishes..again for the price you would expect things to be a bit more luxurious and not so sparse. Which leads me to the living room....really only places for 4 people to sit and watch TV. Also the chairs and couches were not very comfortable....again for the price of the stay you would expect better.

We knew from reading trip advisor about the beach and the smell so that was unexpected...for us it was not that big bad. We really liked the views...even without oceanfront room the views were great, good water sports and nice pools( there are two pools).

Also read about all the rules but I think that is what keeps the place nice...was disappointed that could not enjoy a cigar on the beach but willing to give that up for the non smoking aspect of the resort.

One thing about Marathon itself.....there is not much night life or things to do at night....other than some very good restaurants things roll up pretty early.

Spots to go:

Sunset Grill---great place for food, drinks and to watch a sunset!

Porky's---great local feel. very casual but great food.

Recommend Both places highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the first week of January. In so many ways this is a lovely, wonderful resort. I hate to nitpick, but for the price we paid, you expect it to be just a bit better.

The problems:
The swimming beach. As others have said, it is messy, ugly and smelly. None of the 8 kids with us would use it. When I inquired at the front desk, I was dismissed that that's the way it is. If that's their explanation, perhaps they should put an accurate picture on their website. I have included a picture of the beach from our visit. Note the junk on the beach, and the "fence" across the water, presumably to catch the muck before it gets on the beach.
TINY bedrooms and bathrooms. They are beautifully decorated, but really small. When you sit on one of the twin beds, your knees hit the other one.
Extremely loud fans in the bathrooms. You feel like you're in a jet engine.
We had ants in the kitchen. They came and sprayed immediately.
Dishwasher was broken.
Phone in bedroom was broken.

What's right:
Charming townhouses.
Beautiful, roomy porches, upstairs and downstairs.
Great views.
Nice grassy area in front of "ocean view" (not "ocean front") rooms. Great for kids.
Beautiful beach in front of water sports area.
Charming tiki bar.
Nice pool.
Volleyball court is great.
Fun water sports.

We would return. We would consider upgrading to a 3 bedroom, even though we don't need the extra bedroom, just to have more room. I think those bedrooms and baths are bigger than the 2 bedrooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LGP6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We always have a great time at Tranquility Bay. Snorkeling, scuba diving, jet skiing, yolo board paddling, watching the sunset, eating out or in, cocktails on the beach, playing in the pool, playing with the dolphins, visiting the turtle hospital, interacting with iguanas, renting bikes and picnicking on the 7 mile bridge or at a park.... We have enjoyed all these activities and more here. Our 11 year old even wants to return for spring break even though we just came back from there. Staff members are efficient about dealing with any needs or problems that may come up such as more clean towels or a broken appliance or leaking faucet. These issues have all been dealt with promptly and well. We love Tranquility Bay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing