We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the gems in the Florida Keys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“One of the gems in the Florida Keys”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

After having stayed at the OP Suites for years decided to check out the Tranquility Bay resort in Marathon. Took the parents there for a getaway after dad recovered from open heart surgery.

3 Bedroom was beautiful, nice view and every thing you could possibly want was there. Pool was beautiful and not overrun with tourists like some other resorts in the area.

Staff: The front desk staff needs a bit more training in cheerfulness. Seemed like I was keeping her from her book that she was reading. Bellman was very quick and personable.

Restaurant: Food was ok, I've had better especially considering the prices they were charging. The breakfast buffet though was great!! Get there early though as the mobs will wipe them out and they don't seem to recover too well after 9AM.

But with a full beautiful kitchen who needs to eat in the restaurant, go to the store and stock up.

I will definetly return to this resort again, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good resort in the middle keys.
Yes the town is old and not much to do after 9PM.

Note: If you have elderly travelers or don't do stairs real well then look somewhere else. And make sure you bolt your door. The maids just knock and within 5 seconds come right in and immediately head up stairs. Was sitting on the patio with family and the doorbell rang and seconds later they were in and heading up the stairs.

  • Liked — Spacious accomodations and full modern kitchen
  • Disliked — price of the restaurant food for the quality received
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OCALAFLORIDATRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,188
    641
    245
    121
    79
See reviews for
1,714
874
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
INDIANA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Tranquility Bay is a newer resort set in MArathon Florida. Do not take teenagers there. It most definately is not teen oriented. If the weather is bad and not cooperating, there is absolutely nothing to do in the outdated town of Marathon. It is a very run down old town with little to offer. The beach houses at Tranquility Bay are not worth the price. The bedrooms are very small, but the master bath is so small even one person has trouble getting ready in it. There is not really much of a beach at all; most of it is rocked on the edges and what little there is to swim in is not very attractive.The pools are nice but they were not heated in March so they were cold.I cannot say enough how dissapointed we were in the whole experience. Look elsewhere. Unless you want total peace and solitude and a town with nothing to offer, this is not the place for you.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ICE717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We drove down to the Keys from Ft. Lauderdale for a quick getaway. We had never heard of Tranquility Bay, and just happened to drive by while on our way to Key West. We stopped in to check it out, and wow! I am so glad we found this place. It is absolutely beautiful, incredible views, warm and caring staff, and excellent food. I am so very happy we found this place. I will be back again and again!

The rooms are like big condos are very well appointed and comfortable, great beds!! The restaurant service and food quality surpassed our expectations, and we are "foodies". The beach and pool are nice and well maintained. Great food by the beach outside!

You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — the rooms and food
  • Disliked — the city of Marathon
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaaahhhme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

Gorgeous setting,
Great rooms,
best pools and private beach in the keys.

Staff is much better than reported in earlier reviews.

Only downsides

1. they add a daily resort fee on top of already high prices.
2. tiki bar staff is very nice, but when it gets really busy they
have a very difficult time keeping up.

If you are one that needs or expects to be catered to,
you may need to ask for fresh towels,
and go directly to tiki bar to order, rather than being waited on.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaResorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Just returned from a wonderful vacation at Tranquilty Bay. Over all the property is just as expected. Pictures on their website are very accurate. We stayed in Villa #71, three bedroom great location very close to pool & putting green area. I would not spend the money on a beach front or any villas on the lagoon area. I would be really disappointed if I stayed right on the lagoon. Not very pretty, water filled with sea grass. Not an area to stay in with children! Beach is sandy but the swim area is very very small and shallow. Alot of sea grass! The pools are very nice and kids will enjoy them. Front desk staff were very nice and friendly. Villas had everything you need, nice towels, including beach towels. Sofas and chairs in our unit were alittle dirty. Ate at several neat spots in the area, all were fun and food was good. Porky's (live music was great, and fried key lime pie was yummy) Key Fisheries, very good food, Island Fisheries and Herbies (just okay). Overall a great experience. We would return to Tranquility Bay.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank IslandVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at Tranquility Bay from 2/13-02/15/08 with my husband's parents, both age 83. We had just flown in from freezing Connecticut and picked up my in-laws to take them on a a surprise mystery trip, not really knowing where they were going until we pulled into the driveway after a 5 1/2 hr. drive.
My mother in law could not stop crying (in belief & amazement) from the time she got out of the car and continuing through the tour of our 2 bedroom unit, the grounds, the beach, the beautiful location in the Keys and every little attention to detail.
We were greeted warmly by staff, served passion fruit juice at check in and our luggage was wisked away and delivered to our unit promptly. We ended up having a minor plumbing problem the next day and staff were dispatched within 10 mins. after my call and corrected the problem immediately.
Unfortunately our stay was only for 2 nights; we wish we could've stayed longer. I wouldn't hesitate to return here and am trying to plan another vacation at Tranquility Bay for a much longer stay next time!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale fl
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My family and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend in 2007. We reserved the room three months in advance. When we got to the hotel to check in, the computers were down and we had to wait for 30 minutes to get our room key. We found out our room overlooked a construction zone of a new pool area. I have no problem with a new pool, nor the construction of one. I do, however have a problem with the fact that they didn't inform us of this ahead of time. Also, they wouldn't give any discounts or provisions to make up for it. The room was filthy inside and out due to the construction dust. You couldn't sit on the furniture on either deck. Not that you would want to considering the view of the machinery, orange fences and dirt piles. Also, the shower didn't work in one of the bathrooms. The food at the restaurant was terrible considering the prices, as well as the service. I won't go back to Tranquility Bay ever again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kbraisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
19.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing