We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Great location make Tranquility an Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Great location make Tranquility an Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family and I checked in to Beach House #40 on a Sunday and loved every minute of it. From the friendly staff to the excellent food at the Butterfly Cafe for dinner, everyone was completely satisfied. Michael, one of the mgrs, went out of his way to make my family comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a beach house with a full view. We had #40, good choice. It is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    624
    238
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,664
853
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontanelle, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A tropical paradise in Marathon! We picked the resort as a half-way point for our long weekend get-away to the Keys! The landscaping is simply beautiful! Truly a relaxing experience. We loved the porch and large downstairs living area. All the rooms were very clean and delightfully decorated. The staff was very friendly and gave great recommendations for local restaurants as we chose not to use the well appointed kitchen. Beautiful pool areas and a tiki bar by the water. Your Web site and resort look exactly alike and sometimes that's a rarity in advertisements! A wonderful break before we face a long, cold winter.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from unit 75
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Everything has been easy, from check in(the staff was friendly, accomodating, and knowledgeable) to the beautiful facilities. We loved the key west style cottage, used the fitness center, pools, tiki bar and will have dinner in the Butterfly Cafe tonight. Took a day trip down to Key West but returned for a relaxing day today. Already making plans to return.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Sbeard51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Sated here first week in November, just caught some string winds fom Sandy and resort was quiet, but staff couldn't do enough for us and the accomodation and facilities are too notch.

Would recommend for families as lots to do with jet ski etc available and great plac to base yourself from if you ar going to explore the Keys.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed here several times with 2 couples traveling together. This resort offers you 2 or 3 bedroom townhouses with 2 1/2 baths. The accomodations have everything you need and are clean and spacious. The grounds are lovely and all units have large porchs to sit on and enjoy the scenery. Beautiful pools , beach area, water sports, restaurant, tiki bar by the water, all make for a wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelleFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
239 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had dinner at the Butterfly Cafe back in 2008. When we had an opportunity to travel back to the area, we decided to stay at the resort where the Butterfly Cafe was located. This is considered the "off-season" so the resort was not very busy during the week. It appeared busy on the weekends we arrived and left. I travel 90% plus for my job and we stay in resorts for vacation about 5-weeks out of the year. We travel a lot and this is in our top five resorts. If you do not like peace, quiet, and tranquility, this is not your place. Two swimming pools, one a family pool and one a relaxation pool. The relaxation pool does not allow childredn or cell phones :-). The beach area is great for relaxation and quiet (naps). There is a fitness center and spa on site for further services. The Tiki Bar closes at 8pm; however, with these full service suites, I went to the liquor store and enjoyed late night beverages on my back porch. Each night we watched the sunset from the same porch. We went to the Tiki Bar one night and had the Butterfly Cafe deliver dinner to the bar as "in-suite dinning." This is not a "party" resort, which is fine with us. It is 100% non-smoking. Coming from a healthcare background, we are used to smoke-free campuses for hospitals.

The two-bedroom suites have bedrooms on the second floor. The master has a king bed and bath. The second bedroom has two-twins and a bathroom. The main floor has a full kitchen, dining area, sitting area, and french doors that open to a deck.
The three-bedroom suties have bedrooms on the second floor. The master has a king bed and bath. The second and third bedrooms (queen and two twins) share a bath. There is also a washer dryer on the second floor. The first floor is the same as the two-bedroom.

The negative, not controlled by the resort is the sea grass. Due to Sandy, the sea grass was blown into the waters around the keys and it has a "rotten egg" smell as it decays. The sea grass is protected by law and they are limited as to what they can do with it. By the end of the week, we got used to it; however, coming from the midwest we were looking for gas leaks.

Overall, we love this place and are already planning on when we can come back next year. This may turn into an annual excursion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for our 10th anniversary and had a wonderful time.When we drove into the front of the "oasis" there were iguanas laying around,butterflies flying,and of course the locally adopted cats laying in the sun! I was in heaven!!! Oh, the grounds and condos are beautiful also.Haha The staff is just wonderful and friendly and very hard working. Something is always being cleaned,planted and touched up to keep the place perfect.( Ask for Jeffery at the Tiki Bar,he is a blast and loves his job.) My only downside was I wish the master bathroom was bigger. We stayed a few days at the sister resort Parrot Key in Key West which had massive bathrooms with seperate tub and beautiful walk in showers so I was spoiled!! Anyhow, this was a top notch resort and we would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlaw504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.4 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing