We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Lanexa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My friends and I had a wonderful time at Tranquility Bay Resort. The staff and facilities exceeded our expectations. Everyone was friendly and helpful and helped make our week fun and full of good memories in spite of the record breaking week of storms and rain. I can't wait to go back with our children and grandchildren to play in the beautiful lagoon and enjoy the exceptional facilities. Go to Tranquility Bay Resort. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose rooms as close to the lagoon and Tiki Bar as possible. The scenery and access to these areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    560
    212
    115
    77
See reviews for
1,509
759
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel as a structure is a very nice place. Nice and big townhouses. Clean. The problem is that it needs people to run it. Preferably "hospitality trained " folks. Well, that is not the case here. These folks lack social skills. They seem to live in fear and act as if a normal question from a guest, such as "can I talk to the manager?" or "can I get late check-out?" are threats.
I read many reviews before booking, but went with the odds. 411 excellent... 59 poor/terrible.
Everyone's experience is different. And here I am... lol !! Like anything, if all goes well, then you get good reviews, but the interesting ones are the ones when a problem occurs, and the staff/hotel comes through in a great way.. guess that will not be the case here. Summary: Tree trimming one full day... no smoking for those poor folks even in the beach (they almost have to leave Marathon or risk getting mugged by hobos or runned over by passing trucks in the main highway).. no music at the only bar (gee, at least play "mozart" if you are so upscale)... rude and powerless front desk staff...(their first response..NO)... Manager was never available... (is there one?) Well, blew $800 plus on this experiment (not proud) and really, last 3 months I have tried the Key Largo Hilton and the Marriott, and even though space is more reduced, they do employ hospitality staff, have pool towels, music, kids activities, friendly faces and the OUTDOORS still belong to the people... smokers can stay, and the ocean water can enter the small but well maintained lagoons. (no stink coming from the ocean into the ocean front rooms).

Room Tip: Mine was very close to the highway... heard traffic every night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MyTruth_whats_urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The units are spacial, beautiful and fully stocked. Everything you want/need is there. The views from the units were spectacular! There is a lower porch off the living room with chairs and a small table and a covered porch off the master bedroom as well. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The location is close to grocery stores and convenience stores. There is a nice public beach nearby if you want variety in beaches. There was quite a bit of seaweed, which seems to be an issue in all of the Keys, but there was no smell associated with it as I had read in other write ups. The on-site restaurant had excellent food and a nice decor. The prices are comparable to other more casual restaurants in the area where you will eat from picnic tables or plastic tables with plastic cups.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandW10032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This place exceeded our expectations. We met and stayed there with family from different places. The accommodations suited our needs perfectly. The house and grounds were very clean and tidy. We enjoyed the quiet beach house atmosphere especially the porches and views. The lagoon pool was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Whether you stay at the Key West or Marathon location you will feel as if you landed in paradise. The condos are perfect, the staff is exceptional and the grounds are to die for. Beds that are wonderful, pillows that are full and fluffy, event the rooms are decorated in tranquil colors. You'll want for nothing. White sandy beaches when there are none on Key West to speak of. Singh resorts did their homework. Perfect!

Room Tip: Go for the beach front upgrade. It was well worth the money to walk out your condo right onto the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chibattabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Tranquility Bay for 7 nights in August 2011. I believe everything has been said about this place. Our three-bedroom townhouse was clean and roomy. A place I would go back to, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A great alternative to a traditional hotel room, theme park vacation. We've vacationed in the keys previously, and came back with our 13 and 6 year old, to Marathon. The two bedroom beach house gave us a spacious place to retreat, when taking breaks from swimming and sun. There are dvd players in the beach houses, although you need to bring your own movies. The fully equipped kitchen gives the choice of cooking in or eating out. I highly recommend the beach front houses, they are worth the extra expense, with mesmerizing views of the Florida Bay right outside your balcony. The staff, especially, Mike, was more than happy to accomodate any requests. There is a swimming beach at the resort which will satisfy beach loungers and younger kids. It's maybe thigh deep for teens and adults. If you come from the east coast and are expecting spacious beaches with a more extensive swimming area, there are beaches within 5 miles from the hotel. Sombrero beach, oceanside, was perfect. We didn't feel like we needed another vacation after the vacation. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 stars 4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing