We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great keys camp site”

Curry Hammock State Park
Ranked #12 of 49 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cooper City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great keys camp site”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have camped, in a tent, at all of the State Parks in the Keys. This is the best! Most sites have a sand box large enough for two 4person tents, complete with hooks to tie off your guy lines ( which you need in th Keys when the wind picks up). Site was very clean. There are BBQ stands but no ground fire pits. Kayaking is great... but be sure to check the tides at the Ranger Station, as some part of the mangrove area may be impassible at low tide. Beach is pretty but bring water shoes because it is all sea grass underfoot. Really enjoyed our stay.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    130
    46
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Not a lot of trees”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This campground is typical of what we've seen in Southern Florida. A somewhat sandy beach, very few trees, no privacy. The park has kayaks to rent and it's nice to kayak through the mangroves & around the little island - be sure to go only at high tide.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Campground for The Keys”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were 3 adults and 2 eight year olds. The campground was clean, spacious, well maintained, including the bathrooms. There were only 3 showers in the women's bathroom, and one was "out of order". So 2 showers for all 28 campsites for the ladies.
They have a nice playground and picnic area, and a beach that runs along the entire park. But this is not a beach for children or kids to enjoy because it is all rocky, and if you go too far out to try and get passed the rocks and grass, you sink into the mucky water. Yet - it is beautiful and a great breeze. Our kids explored and found hermit crabs, horseshoe crabs, little fish all along the shoreline, and sea weed and grass everywhere. Yet there were kayaks and paddle boarders easily able to get out to do their thing.

We took a 30 minute drive North to Founders Park and spent the day there at the public pool and beach. They also have a marina, tennis courts and playground and it was a great place to spend the day and kept the kids active all day.
No food or store on the property.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FL_FamilyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for Kayaking”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We went Kayaking here back in 2011. Going through the Mangroves is really cool! The one downside is the women at the entrance gave us really long paddles so it was difficult to get through the mangroves. So make sure to get the shortest paddles possible. Once you get through the mangroves it opens up into a big water area and then you continue on until you end up in front of the beach at the park. The trip will take you about any hour unless you stop and look and just relax on the water. We didn't explore the park so I cannot say much about it. What we saw was just a small beach and picnic area. So it was not impressive. We just went for the Kayaking anyway.

Helpful?
Thank Butterflykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to camp!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My two friends and I camped here one night on our 5 week road trip. The campground was very clean and quiet. The bathrooms were great! They were clean, they had good lights, and the recycling toilets weren't that bad. The showers were awesome - they each had their own little room with a locking door and their own light. They were the best we had our whole trip! The beach was fair. The dry sand was great but the water close to shore had a lot of seaweed and murky stuff and was kind of gross and mushy. We did find some really cool hermit crabs there, though! We enjoyed all the signs by the plants in the campground. This was our first trip through Florida and we were unfamiliar with pretty much everything, so the signs were helpful to identify plants. We would stay again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Hammock State Park also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Curry Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing